We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
71
71
26
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
71
26
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mad hatter bed apartment summer weekend chocolate bar high street full english within driving distance steep stairs stay there again new forest free car park tea and coffee bigger room restaurants and pubs stayed here for one night easy parking free wifi
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This hotel is well worth a visit with a wonderful fresh breakfast. The staff were great and unobtrusive. All you had to was ask them and they responded. The one down side to the hotel is that as far as I could tell they do not cater for disabled guests as none of the rooms are on the ground floor. Access to the rooms are via a quite steep staircase and there is no lift. All in all we had a great stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms would be quieter at the back of hotel as the front overlooks a busy road
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Robert,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and our fresh breakfast which is sourced locally. We do have 2 cottages that are on the ground floor and very accessible .I can only assume that they were booked up when you booked/ arrived.
If you are intending on returning ring the hotel directly so we can cater for your needs.
We hope to see you back with us in the near future.

Susan & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

The staff at this hotel must be the most friendly and smiley of any hotel in England I have stayed in for ages nothing seems too much for any of them and always with a big smile,well done to each of you other hotel staff could learn an awful lot here.The room was spotless as was the bathroom,very comfortable bed.The breakfast was awesome and freshly cooked and again the breakfast staff served us with lots of smiles and very good coffee.All in all a great place to stay and we will certainly make a return visit soon.Thanks again see you in the fall.

Room Tip: Rear room away from the traffic
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaddison848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Hi aaddison,
Wow and thank you for your great review the team are over the moon you have mentioned them.And yes nothing is to mush for the team at the penny farthing hotel.We want you to feel as if you are home away from home and I'm sure we delivered it with you.We hope to see you back with us very soon.
A happy team means a happy guest
Thank you.
Susan & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We arrived here on a wet Saturday night, after finding out our original hotel had double-booked our room and was full! If only we had booked here first!
Staff were friendly and welcoming, and our room was clean and comfortable. Tea making facilities were supplied. The breakfast included all we could want, including a lovely pot of tea! The car park was large and easily accessible. There were no mini toiletries or hairdryer in the room, but we had no need of them anyway. It was a pity ours was such a brief stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marilyn17661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Hi Marilyn,
We are glad you stayed with us at the penny farthing hotel hopefully next time you will be able to stay longer.Thank you for your lovely review we hope you return soon.

Many thanks
Susan & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Excellent service with friendly staff and management. Beautiful location with equally good access to both Lyndhurst and the New Forest. I will definitely try to stay there when visiting the New Forest area in the future. Nice comfortable room. I particularly enjoyed the freshly cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RoryR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here on a wet summer weekend. The rooms are a good size, clean and have what you need. Our room was on the first floor with quite steep stairs to access. Staff were friendly and helpful. Free wifi was a bit slow. There is a bar available and comfortable couches to enjoy your drink or coffee. Breakfast is included and is fabulous! All the usual cereals and yoghurt and freshly cooked hot full English. The bacon and sausage was locally sourced and really good. It's convenient to the high street and a range of restaurants and pubs! Free parking is an added bonus.
Fabulous place. Will certainly go back!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Hi Lynn,
Thank you for your review it was fantastic to have you stay with us at the penny farthing hotel.I will pass your comments onto the team and we hope to see you back with us in the near future.

Susan @ the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews