We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penny Farthing Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2017

There is not much to dislike about this hotel to be honest, least of all its fabulous location. It is only a hop skip and a jump away from Lyndhurst High Street and all it has to offer. Ideally placed for exploring the New Forest, it is reasonably priced with good sized rooms, plenty of parking, free wifi that actually works and a pretty good breakfast. If I was being ultra critical I would say the bed was not the most comfortable I've ever slept in (but ok) and after 3 nights I still couldn't work out how to have a shower without flooding the bathroom. However, would definitely file it away as a good place to stay in the New Forest. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: On a main road so rooms at the rear are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Hi Rachel,

It was lovely to have you stay with us at the penny farthing hotel.
We are so lucky to be at the heart of it all, with every thing at our fingertips.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the magic of the new forest.
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Susan & the team at the pennyfarthing hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

This hotel is well worth a visit with a wonderful fresh breakfast. The staff were great and unobtrusive. All you had to was ask them and they responded. The one down side to the hotel is that as far as I could tell they do not cater for disabled guests as none of the rooms are on the ground floor. Access to the rooms are via a quite steep staircase and there is no lift. All in all we had a great stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms would be quieter at the back of hotel as the front overlooks a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Robert,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and our fresh breakfast which is sourced locally. We do have 2 cottages that are on the ground floor and very accessible .I can only assume that they were booked up when you booked/ arrived.
If you are intending on returning ring the hotel directly so we can cater for your needs.
We hope to see you back with us in the near future.

Susan & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

The staff at this hotel must be the most friendly and smiley of any hotel in England I have stayed in for ages nothing seems too much for any of them and always with a big smile,well done to each of you other hotel staff could learn an awful lot here.The room was spotless as was the bathroom,very comfortable bed.The breakfast was awesome and freshly cooked and again the breakfast staff served us with lots of smiles and very good coffee.All in all a great place to stay and we will certainly make a return visit soon.Thanks again see you in the fall.

Room Tip: Rear room away from the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaddison848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Hi aaddison,
Wow and thank you for your great review the team are over the moon you have mentioned them.And yes nothing is to mush for the team at the penny farthing hotel.We want you to feel as if you are home away from home and I'm sure we delivered it with you.We hope to see you back with us very soon.
A happy team means a happy guest
Thank you.
Susan & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We arrived here on a wet Saturday night, after finding out our original hotel had double-booked our room and was full! If only we had booked here first!
Staff were friendly and welcoming, and our room was clean and comfortable. Tea making facilities were supplied. The breakfast included all we could want, including a lovely pot of tea! The car park was large and easily accessible. There were no mini toiletries or hairdryer in the room, but we had no need of them anyway. It was a pity ours was such a brief stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marilyn17661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Hi Marilyn,
We are glad you stayed with us at the penny farthing hotel hopefully next time you will be able to stay longer.Thank you for your lovely review we hope you return soon.

Many thanks
Susan & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Excellent service with friendly staff and management. Beautiful location with equally good access to both Lyndhurst and the New Forest. I will definitely try to stay there when visiting the New Forest area in the future. Nice comfortable room. I particularly enjoyed the freshly cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.2 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.6 km away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
481 reviews
0.3 km away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
841 reviews
0.1 km away
The White Rabbit
The White Rabbit
#6 of 8 in Lyndhurst
531 reviews
5.8 km away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#10 of 10 in Brockenhurst
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penny Farthing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny Farthing Hotel

Address: Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: $111 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penny Farthing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penny Farthing Hotel is ideally situated just off the High Street in Lyndhurst Village Centre, a minute's walk from the shops, restaurants and pubs. Southampton 15/20mins east, Bournemouth and Christchurch 30mins west. We have a variety of rooms all have en-suite facilities, TV and tea/coffee tray. A comfortable lounge and licensed bar, private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your Penny Farthing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny Farthing Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing