We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, excellent, excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penny Farthing Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2017

The staff at this hotel must be the most friendly and smiley of any hotel in England I have stayed in for ages nothing seems too much for any of them and always with a big smile,well done to each of you other hotel staff could learn an awful lot here.The room was spotless as was the bathroom,very comfortable bed.The breakfast was awesome and freshly cooked and again the breakfast staff served us with lots of smiles and very good coffee.All in all a great place to stay and we will certainly make a return visit soon.Thanks again see you in the fall.

Room Tip: Rear room away from the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaddison848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Hi aaddison,
Wow and thank you for your great review the team are over the moon you have mentioned them.And yes nothing is to mush for the team at the penny farthing hotel.We want you to feel as if you are home away from home and I'm sure we delivered it with you.We hope to see you back with us very soon.
A happy team means a happy guest
Thank you.
Susan & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017

We arrived here on a wet Saturday night, after finding out our original hotel had double-booked our room and was full! If only we had booked here first!
Staff were friendly and welcoming, and our room was clean and comfortable. Tea making facilities were supplied. The breakfast included all we could want, including a lovely pot of tea! The car park was large and easily accessible. There were no mini toiletries or hairdryer in the room, but we had no need of them anyway. It was a pity ours was such a brief stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marilyn17661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Hi Marilyn,
We are glad you stayed with us at the penny farthing hotel hopefully next time you will be able to stay longer.Thank you for your lovely review we hope you return soon.

Many thanks
Susan & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Excellent service with friendly staff and management. Beautiful location with equally good access to both Lyndhurst and the New Forest. I will definitely try to stay there when visiting the New Forest area in the future. Nice comfortable room. I particularly enjoyed the freshly cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here on a wet summer weekend. The rooms are a good size, clean and have what you need. Our room was on the first floor with quite steep stairs to access. Staff were friendly and helpful. Free wifi was a bit slow. There is a bar available and comfortable couches to enjoy your drink or coffee. Breakfast is included and is fabulous! All the usual cereals and yoghurt and freshly cooked hot full English. The bacon and sausage was locally sourced and really good. It's convenient to the high street and a range of restaurants and pubs! Free parking is an added bonus.
Fabulous place. Will certainly go back!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Hi Lynn,
Thank you for your review it was fantastic to have you stay with us at the penny farthing hotel.I will pass your comments onto the team and we hope to see you back with us in the near future.

Susan @ the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Penny Farthing represents a customer service from the 70's, a bit like most of the furniture.
We paid nearly £400 for 2 nights for 4 of us.
Location is excellent but that's about all.
Our room was on the front of the house and the traffic noise was terrible .. a bit of double glazing would sort this out.
Floor linings and carpets are in serious need of replacement.
Bathroom and shower was awful; handles fall off bath, curtain barely retains any water, shower head past it's sell by date 5 years ago.
The double bed mattress needs throwing out.
Cooker burner identifiers all missing and being electric, couldn't tell which was which until they got hot (this is down right dangerous).
Extractor fan not working in the kitchen (with saying so).
Kitchen taps rotate opposite way, resulting in frequent drenching.
The breakfast was reasonable, but they put us on the tiniest table possible.

Honestly I don't mind any of the above, if reflected in the price. We spent the next 4 nights in Devon in a caravan for £90!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review i will look into the issues you have raised.

Many Thanks
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.2 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.6 km away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
490 reviews
0.3 km away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
635 reviews
5.8 km away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#10 of 10 in Brockenhurst
637 reviews
5.6 km away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penny Farthing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny Farthing Hotel

Address: Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: $116 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penny Farthing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penny Farthing Hotel is ideally situated just off the High Street in Lyndhurst Village Centre, a minute's walk from the shops, restaurants and pubs. Southampton 15/20mins east, Bournemouth and Christchurch 30mins west. We have a variety of rooms all have en-suite facilities, TV and tea/coffee tray. A comfortable lounge and licensed bar, private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your Penny Farthing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny Farthing Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing