We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
71
71
26
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
71
26
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mad hatter bed apartment summer weekend chocolate bar high street full english within driving distance steep stairs stay there again new forest free car park tea and coffee bigger room restaurants and pubs stayed here for one night easy parking free wifi
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We arrived here on a wet Saturday night, after finding out our original hotel had double-booked our room and was full! If only we had booked here first!
Staff were friendly and welcoming, and our room was clean and comfortable. Tea making facilities were supplied. The breakfast included all we could want, including a lovely pot of tea! The car park was large and easily accessible. There were no mini toiletries or hairdryer in the room, but we had no need of them anyway. It was a pity ours was such a brief stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marilyn17661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Hi Marilyn,
We are glad you stayed with us at the penny farthing hotel hopefully next time you will be able to stay longer.Thank you for your lovely review we hope you return soon.

Many thanks
Susan & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Excellent service with friendly staff and management. Beautiful location with equally good access to both Lyndhurst and the New Forest. I will definitely try to stay there when visiting the New Forest area in the future. Nice comfortable room. I particularly enjoyed the freshly cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RoryR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here on a wet summer weekend. The rooms are a good size, clean and have what you need. Our room was on the first floor with quite steep stairs to access. Staff were friendly and helpful. Free wifi was a bit slow. There is a bar available and comfortable couches to enjoy your drink or coffee. Breakfast is included and is fabulous! All the usual cereals and yoghurt and freshly cooked hot full English. The bacon and sausage was locally sourced and really good. It's convenient to the high street and a range of restaurants and pubs! Free parking is an added bonus.
Fabulous place. Will certainly go back!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Hi Lynn,
Thank you for your review it was fantastic to have you stay with us at the penny farthing hotel.I will pass your comments onto the team and we hope to see you back with us in the near future.

Susan @ the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Penny Farthing represents a customer service from the 70's, a bit like most of the furniture.
We paid nearly £400 for 2 nights for 4 of us.
Location is excellent but that's about all.
Our room was on the front of the house and the traffic noise was terrible .. a bit of double glazing would sort this out.
Floor linings and carpets are in serious need of replacement.
Bathroom and shower was awful; handles fall off bath, curtain barely retains any water, shower head past it's sell by date 5 years ago.
The double bed mattress needs throwing out.
Cooker burner identifiers all missing and being electric, couldn't tell which was which until they got hot (this is down right dangerous).
Extractor fan not working in the kitchen (with saying so).
Kitchen taps rotate opposite way, resulting in frequent drenching.
The breakfast was reasonable, but they put us on the tiniest table possible.

Honestly I don't mind any of the above, if reflected in the price. We spent the next 4 nights in Devon in a caravan for £90!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review i will look into the issues you have raised.

Many Thanks
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for the night as our usual place was fully booked. So glad we found this quaint little place.
Upon arrival we had been upgraded to a family room, it was huge and spotless I really can't fault the place.
All the staff were friendly and in particular Vicky on reception really stood out.
Breakfast was good and plenty of choice.
Would definitely return for another visit

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank julie186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Julie,

Thank you for your kind review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the pennyfarthing.
I have passed your nice comments onto Vicky which made her smile from ear to ear.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Many Thanks
Susan & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews