We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ormonde House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed 3 nights in a superior room. Room was large with settee and a large comfy bed. Would have preferred a duvet to sheets and blanket. Breakfast was excellent with a large selection of fruit and cereals etc for the cold selection( far better than several very expensive hotel that we have stayed in).The hot selection again was very good and you could have as much as you wanted. The hotel is on the outskirts of Lyndhurst wih the New Forest opposite. We ate out in the town which was about a 10 mins walk. We ate at La Pergolla ( large portions but good food) an excellent new French restaurant St Tropez more pricey but very good and the Thai restaurant which again was very good.A very enjoyable stay and good value. The staff were very helpful , one night the young girl behind the desk text ed the chef to help us about the parking at Ashurst station.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enid4551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    151
    38
    12
    6
See reviews for
57
312
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
guernsey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We arrived a little early to check in, and after a pleasant but little matter of fact greeting, we returned at the correct time to check in to be given a room on the top floor - with two dogs who were bound to get muddy in the New Forest this seemed a little odd - I mentioned it and was told 'all the rooms are dog friendly'. Off we went with heavy bags through narrow doorways and stairs, up to our room which lovely but a little small - and no sooner we'd got up the the phone rang - to be offered one of the suites as a free upgrade as we'd got the dogs.

Back down we went, and we where shown Pinewood Suite 4 - a lovely spacious suite with it's own conservatory and separate entrance and parking - perfect for the dogs. The rooms were clean and well decorated, all the usual facilities, with that little extra of bread, butter, milk etc so we could have our own toast, cereals and tea when we liked, as well as breakfast which was delivered to our room, we ate in the conservatory which was lovely, individual needs were catered for too.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful, the place very well maintained and clean - the only small concern being the conservatory doors didn't appear to latch properly at the top.

The beds were comfy, would have prefered a duvet to sheets and blankets, but even so we were warm and cosy. The bathroom was a good size, lovely shower, and again well maintained.

Free wifi access and good choice of TV channels were a bonus.

The downside is the A35 is busy from the location point of view - cars do not obey the 30mph limit, but the road noise in the room was minimal.

Overall a good stay, and will definately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missjc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Just come back from a two night stay at this lovely hotel in the heart of the New Forest.
We stayed in Pinewood 4 which is a suite in an adjoining bungalow. It was equipped with a 'breakfast bar' which had a toaster, microwave, kettle and cafetiere. Enough coffee, tea, hot chocolate cereals, bread, butter and spreads for an army and a fridge underneath with milk,fruit juice and yoghurts. Breakfast was ordered the night before and having indulged in some of the above, a piping hot breakfast was delivered to our conservatory. A wonderful way to relax.
The location is superb with a large common litteraly across the road and an easy 10 minute level walk into Lyndhurst.
On our first night we ate in the Hotel and again this meal was of a very high standard. The only reason we didn't eat in on the second night was that we had promised ourselves an Italian meal at La Pergola which is about 100 yards away and again was excellent.
As stated a wonderful location to explore the New Forest. We will no doubt return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indysassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have been coming to Ormonde house, at least once a year for the past four years. Paul, the owner, can not do enough to ensure the guest's comfort and is backed up by extremely friendly and highly competent staff. We usually book room 20, which is around the back, on its own staircase. You have to access it through the restaurant and it's quite small, but for all that, extremely cosy! The view isn't brilliant, but we don't book the room to look out of the window :-). Furniture, bedding and decor all very clean and homely and the food is excellent, usually requiring loosening the belt a notch after an extended stay. We've been as a couple and as part of a family group and we have never been disappointedKaren and the girls are a credit to Paul and will do all they can to ensure your stay is both comfortable and enjoyable. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_t99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormonde9, Owner at Ormonde House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thanks Guys, I'm glad you had a great time and as a regular customer you see the subtle changes we make to improve our guests experience.Room 20, which you stayed in , is next week having a refurbishment which includes a total new ensuite with walk in shower.This will be the 4th and last room to be refurbed this winter.So far our guests have had nothing but praise for the modern approach.New pictures going on our website soon.
Why not read our weekly newsletter about us and the New Forest and be upto date with news and prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

From the moment we opened the door to our room at Ormonde House we knew we were in for a very comfortable stay. The bathroom was huge and the quality of fixtures, fittings and furnishings was very high. Bed was so comfy and made up with sheets, blankets, bedspread and furry throw which was fab as it gave us a few different options depending on how warm/cold we were feeling. Magazines and complimentary toiletries were a nice touch too. Breakfast is a very well-run operation - good service and cooked to perfection with high-quality ingredients and a nice selection of fruit and cereals. You can order the full English or cherry pick from eggs, bacon, sausages etc which means you can always have exactly what you fancy. The scrambled eggs and sausages were top-notch. Tiny gripes (and they really were tiny) were the toilet roll holder, which kept falling off the wall (it only needed a quiz whizz of the electric drill) and the temperature of the bathroom, which was rather sauna-like at times (but this just added to its spa-like ambience!) Also the car park gets busy at times so we had to park in the road, but I spotted a planning application for this to be extended, so hopefully this won't be a problem for much longer.

Location was ideal; we walked into Lyndhurst for dinner at Passage to India (best curry we've ever eaten, but make sure you book). Also make sure you hop over the road and spend an hour amongst the wild New Forest ponies, it's guaranteed to de-stress you.

We can't recommend this hotel highly enough, and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 and couldn't fault it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormonde9, Owner at Ormonde House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in one of four totally refurbished rooms the last to come on line for Easter.They all will enjoy a walk in shower with modern furbishments.These rooms are classified as standard.

As for the towel rail its will replaced asap. and the toilet roll holder is now firmly fixed to the wall

Incidently the huge bed was a 5ft Queen bed.We also have 6ft wide zip and link beds in all our superior rooms and Pinewood suites.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.8 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.8 km away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
805 reviews
6.2 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
412 reviews
10.7 km away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
704 reviews
0.7 km away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormonde House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormonde House Hotel

Property: Ormonde House Hotel
Address: Ormonde House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price range (per night): $132 - $192
Hotel Class:3 star — Ormonde House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ormonde House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormonde Hotel Lyndhurst
Ormonde House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing