We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ormonde House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ormonde House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Paignton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Just come back from a two night stay at this lovely hotel in the heart of the New Forest.
We stayed in Pinewood 4 which is a suite in an adjoining bungalow. It was equipped with a 'breakfast bar' which had a toaster, microwave, kettle and cafetiere. Enough coffee, tea, hot chocolate cereals, bread, butter and spreads for an army and a fridge underneath with milk,fruit juice and yoghurts. Breakfast was ordered the night before and having indulged in some of the above, a piping hot breakfast was delivered to our conservatory. A wonderful way to relax.
The location is superb with a large common litteraly across the road and an easy 10 minute level walk into Lyndhurst.
On our first night we ate in the Hotel and again this meal was of a very high standard. The only reason we didn't eat in on the second night was that we had promised ourselves an Italian meal at La Pergola which is about 100 yards away and again was excellent.
As stated a wonderful location to explore the New Forest. We will no doubt return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indysassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    134
    38
    10
    6
See reviews for
54
280
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have been coming to Ormonde house, at least once a year for the past four years. Paul, the owner, can not do enough to ensure the guest's comfort and is backed up by extremely friendly and highly competent staff. We usually book room 20, which is around the back, on its own staircase. You have to access it through the restaurant and it's quite small, but for all that, extremely cosy! The view isn't brilliant, but we don't book the room to look out of the window :-). Furniture, bedding and decor all very clean and homely and the food is excellent, usually requiring loosening the belt a notch after an extended stay. We've been as a couple and as part of a family group and we have never been disappointedKaren and the girls are a credit to Paul and will do all they can to ensure your stay is both comfortable and enjoyable. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_t99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormonde9, Owner at Ormonde House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thanks Guys, I'm glad you had a great time and as a regular customer you see the subtle changes we make to improve our guests experience.Room 20, which you stayed in , is next week having a refurbishment which includes a total new ensuite with walk in shower.This will be the 4th and last room to be refurbed this winter.So far our guests have had nothing but praise for the modern approach.New pictures going on our website soon.
Why not read our weekly newsletter about us and the New Forest and be upto date with news and prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

From the moment we opened the door to our room at Ormonde House we knew we were in for a very comfortable stay. The bathroom was huge and the quality of fixtures, fittings and furnishings was very high. Bed was so comfy and made up with sheets, blankets, bedspread and furry throw which was fab as it gave us a few different options depending on how warm/cold we were feeling. Magazines and complimentary toiletries were a nice touch too. Breakfast is a very well-run operation - good service and cooked to perfection with high-quality ingredients and a nice selection of fruit and cereals. You can order the full English or cherry pick from eggs, bacon, sausages etc which means you can always have exactly what you fancy. The scrambled eggs and sausages were top-notch. Tiny gripes (and they really were tiny) were the toilet roll holder, which kept falling off the wall (it only needed a quiz whizz of the electric drill) and the temperature of the bathroom, which was rather sauna-like at times (but this just added to its spa-like ambience!) Also the car park gets busy at times so we had to park in the road, but I spotted a planning application for this to be extended, so hopefully this won't be a problem for much longer.

Location was ideal; we walked into Lyndhurst for dinner at Passage to India (best curry we've ever eaten, but make sure you book). Also make sure you hop over the road and spend an hour amongst the wild New Forest ponies, it's guaranteed to de-stress you.

We can't recommend this hotel highly enough, and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 and couldn't fault it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormonde9, Owner at Ormonde House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in one of four totally refurbished rooms the last to come on line for Easter.They all will enjoy a walk in shower with modern furbishments.These rooms are classified as standard.

As for the towel rail its will replaced asap. and the toilet roll holder is now firmly fixed to the wall

Incidently the huge bed was a 5ft Queen bed.We also have 6ft wide zip and link beds in all our superior rooms and Pinewood suites.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Croydon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I don't normally do trip advisor reviews, so this will tell you how good it was! Hubbie and I stayed for a weekend with our 16 mth old son, well Paul and team were so very welcoming (always a blessing when you have a toddler!), the personal touch makes all the difference..chocs on arrival in the room, good size room for cot, the breakfast was tops... fruits, top quality cereal cooked breakfast (yummy sausages) and pastries , dinner was worth staying in for aswell ! The high chair was always there at meal times (with baby napkin finishing touch!) . Very comfortable, look fwd to going again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackiesTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormonde9, Owner at Ormonde House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Glad you had a " fab " time .
Ormonde has accommodation suitable for families and of course we have " Pepper Pig " just 15 mind drive away.

ps. we always keep in stock a large quantity of coc pops , best washed down with hot chocolate with a side order of nutella on a pain au chocolat. Yum

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We had a groundfloor superior double which was great - a sofa and tv at the opposite end to the bed and a spacious bathroom. Breakfasts were lovely with a big selection, fast friendly service and well cooked. We didn't eat here in the evening as the limited menu and requirement to order in advance didn't suit us, but with Lyndhurst so close and the excellent La Pergola just a few hundred yards away that was not a problem.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.7 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
1.5 km away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge
BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
3.3 km away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.6 km away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormonde House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormonde House Hotel

Property: Ormonde House Hotel
Address: Ormonde House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price range (per night): $102 - $164
Hotel Class:3 star — Ormonde House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ormonde House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormonde Hotel Lyndhurst
Ormonde House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing