We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“kazwold”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rufus House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rufus House
Ranked #4 of 23 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“kazwold”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Sadly not as you see on the website,had to pay in advance,get there at a certain time to check in....we had the down stairs turret room.....picture shows horses outside on there website...sadly it is on main road and we didnt sleep all night..and ...we had a bus stop oppersite for our view...Not quite romance !
Clean and the lady was friendly through.....but no we wouldnt stop again at that price....
I'd look first then book,website misleading to us sadly...!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazwold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    78
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
254
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We only stayed one night. Wish we could have stayed longer. Hosts charming and could not have been more helpful. Hotel was charming and our room was pretty and warm just beneath the eaves. Ernesto insisted on helping us take our excessive amounts of luggage up the stairs and was very helpful with recommendations and directions to restaurant for dinner. The breakfast and the breakfast room were lovely. On-site parking a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller-eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

From the moment we arrived at Rufus house, we knew that our time there was going to be great.
The owners, Ernesto and Etsuko were very welcoming and friendly throughout our stay.

The house was very clean, nicely decorated and the room we stayed in was perfect and exactly what we were after.
We were not expecting the breakfasts to be as good as they were, there was so much on offer each morning...very generous.

The house itself, was located a few minutes away from Lyndhurst Village filled with shops, a few pubs and a varied selection of restaurants. Walks into the New Forest were directly opposite the house so we were never too far away from a lovely day out.

Thanks for a an enjoyable stay, it was a great way to spend our first wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I couldnt recommend Rufus House highly enough -from the warm welcome to the spotless rooms and delicious breakfasts. The location was also perfect, a short walk to lyndhurst and beautiful surrounding walks. Ernesto and Etsuko make you feel more than welcome but are never intrusive. A 5star stay - we will be back!

Room Tip: We had two rooms one at the front and one upstairs both were spotless and no issues with either!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ab0apm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Very welcoming, spotlessly clean, great breakfast, ideal location both close to Lyndhurst town centre for pubs and restaurants while also slap bang in the centre of the New Forest with walking available straight from the front door. Only reason I didn't give it 5 is that I reserve these for exceptional places.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ab0apm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.7 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.1 km away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.8 km away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.6 km away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.7 km away
The White Rabbit
The White Rabbit
#7 of 8 in Lyndhurst
3.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufus House

Property: Rufus House
Address: Rufus House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price range (per night): $128 - $166
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufus House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With acres of exceptional woodland and open heaths as our front garden, Rufus House is the perfect location to explore the New Forest and surrounding areas of natural beauty all year around. Enjoy a relaxing break in peaceful surroundings overlooking views of the forest, ponies, cattle, donkeys. A grand Victorian house ideally located in the cent re of the New Forest. Many good restaurants and pubs are all walking distance from Rufus House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Rufus House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufus House Hotel Lyndhurst
Rufus House Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing