We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing accomdation, Lovely People”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Barns in the heart of the Test Valley Luxurious large double ended roll top bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
The Old Barns in the heart of the Test Valley
Luxurious large double ended roll top bath
Triple aspect views from the vaulted and beamed open plan lounge/kitchen/diner.
Alfresco dining on the south facing balcony or watch the sunset with a glass of wine.
The french doors into the bedroom of Damson Cottage
Rustic styling on the solid oak doors
The Old Barns courtyard.
Sunset at The Old Barns
Local walks - in the early winter sun.
Local walks - accross the rape fields.
Lillies on our pond.
Fly fishing on the River Test.
Horsebridge - 1 mile along the Test Way (The John O'Gaunt pub can be found here)
The River Test at compton's fly fishing.
The Old Barns in the snow.
The River Test at Houghton.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stockbridge, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kirstt203
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing accomdation, Lovely People”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed at The Old Barns for a weekend with our dog. The accomodation is really nice, modern yet still has a traditional feel, very clean and set in a lovely country setting. Perfect for country walks and relaxing. The owners Sarah and Steve were lovely, very welcoming and we even stayed up to have a few drinks with them one evening. We cant wait to go back and see the progress with them accomodation they are currently modernising.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thank you for you lovely review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We have now moved into phase 1 of our new build and you can look at the pictures on facebook if you are interested - please just search for The Old Barns. Hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlfish...
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Escape for peace and comfort in the Test Valley”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Caught some rare sunshine on the balcony. The bedroom below with a comfortable king-size was a pleasant retreat. Rabbits and chickens on the lawn, owls and bats at night. The test way is close by, you can reach the river in either direction in about a mile on foot or bike. Pubs and Mottisfont Abbey are also easily reached. Our object was fly fishing and our hosts have plenty of info, but you do need to book in advance.
The dining table sits six so, you could share meals there with friends or family next door. The fresh free range eggs are fabulous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace, quiet, beams, bed, bath
Liked least: Lack of wi fi and O2 is poor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and you had a fantastic week of lovely weather and good fishing. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince B
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderfully relaxing stay and a stunning cottage”
Reviewed 6 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We only stayed one night in cottage No 1 but would have loved to have stayed longer. The cottage is fabulous, with everything you could possibly need and to a very high standard. The eggs and milk on arrival and the local information was very much appreciated. We will definitely stay again and will recommend it to our friends and family for a relaxing stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size, location and quality of the accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing, peaceful and a perfect getaway”
Reviewed 5 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We arrived on a Friday night to a lovely welcome from the owners, that showed us to our accomodation, (cottage 1, out of a row of four appartments). Sarah (the owner) gave us a tour of the accomodation explaining the layout, and how the equipment worked and how to control the heating. We found her to be incredibly helpful and felt most welcome.
The apartment with spacious, with a beautiful bathroom (with soft large white towels provided) with a claw foot bath which was amazing to relax in. The bedroom had a small dressing table, and a large comfy king size bed with a thick quality duvet and soft pillows. The layout was upside down with the kitchen, lounge and eating area upstairs to make the most of the views. The kitchen was fully equipped, with a recycling policy in place, it was a bonus having a dish washer which menat no arguing over the washing up. The sofas were comfy to relax on, my only complaint would be the size screen of the TV and that there could have been a selection of DVDs that could be watched and internet access. A warning, there is no phone signal in the cottage!
We stayed in Cottage 1 for two nights with our small dog, and found the whole weekend to be stress free and relaxing. We will be returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bath
Liked least: No wifi or phone signal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and am glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have internet access, but don't advertise the fact as it is a little unpredictable in our rural location and the wireless access doesn't work well through the thick cob walls. Please don't hesitate to ask if you want anything as we will always try and accommodate. Again mobile signal is unpredictable in our rural location - Vodafone works best. In an emergency you are welcome to use our landline. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveh212
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 17 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Just returned from a week-end at the Old Barns in the Test Valley, with a smug smile on our faces - I think we have found a hidden gem.
We arrived late Friday night and had friendly greeting from Rob, he then showed us around the accomodation which is rustic and very tastfully done. The living area is on the first floor with views of the surrounding country side on three elevations, The ground level having a spacious bedroom and a big victorian style bath.
Literally on the door step of the Barns is the Test way on which we enjoyed two early morning walks with our dogs and will require further exploration on our next visit.
The dogs were made very welcome by both Rob and his wife Sarah, and we will definately be returning later in the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and the feel of the pace
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We live here and still think it is a hidden gem. The Test Way gives miles of beautiful country walks away from roads and you can explore lots of dog friendly pubs along the way. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing