We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quantities of food”
Review of Koh Thai Romsey

Koh Thai Romsey
Ranked #13 of 80 Restaurants in Romsey
Price range: USD 7 - USD 24
Description: Koh Thai Romsey boasts seating for more than 80 covers and features the iconic Koh vibrant hand-painted murals, ornate fretwork and the prominent wooden clad bars as well as a beautiful conservatory space adding another dimension to the restaurant. Koh Romsey is also open for dinner, lunch, coffees and takeaways. So for the very best in Thai food and top service visit us soon!
Restaurant details
Description: Koh Thai Romsey boasts seating for more than 80 covers and features the iconic Koh vibrant hand-painted murals, ornate fretwork and the prominent wooden clad bars as well as a beautiful conservatory space adding another dimension to the restaurant. Koh Romsey is also open for dinner, lunch, coffees and takeaways. So for the very best in Thai food and top service visit us soon!
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

First visit this evening. 4 tapas and 1 main was plenty for the two of us. We had the 24hr ribs-the meat fell off the bone and was really tasty. We also enjoyed the squid and dim sum-did not find the dipping sauce too spicy. Personally found the duck and cucumber rolls a bit bland. The main was pad Thai which was sadly overpowered by fish sauce.
We found the waitress welcoming and helpful.
We did not feel the music was too loud but did find that the space within the restaurant in quite cramped. Our 5 dishes only just fitted on the table!
I'm sure we will be back-will probably try the satay as this looked good when passing by en route to another table. The curries looked nice also.
On a neighbouring table there was a group celebrating an 18th birthday and it appeared they were being very well looked after-perhaps a good place to return on a special day

1  Thank davsar09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KohCustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at Koh Thai Romsey, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Hi davsar09,

Thank-you for your review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your first visit to us. We will pass on your comments to our executive chefs to ensure our team are following the recipes correctly and quality is of the highest standard at all times.
All our food is prepared fresh on site daily to a high standard, however we do encourage all customers to let us know immediately if there is anything wrong with their order (in house and on take away) so we can rectify the situation as best possible straight away.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
The Koh Thai Tapas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2017

This place got rave reviews from my friends and wife which are normally reliable. I found the ambiance and service excellent and choice bewildering, but the Jungle Curry was just too spicy and I'm normally a Jalfrezi kind of person! This spoilt it for me but otherwise it was very tasty. I will visit again soon and chose something a bit more temperate!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dean_chase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KohCustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at Koh Thai Romsey, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Hi dean_chase,

Thank-you for taking the time to write us a review.

We are proud to say that all of our chefs are Thai and their recipes authentic. We use traditional Thai ingredients which does include hot Thai chillies in some of our dishes. We hope you come back and see us again soon to give some of our other yummy curries a try!

Kind Regards
The Koh Thai Tapas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Not usually a huge fan of Thai food but this was really good I needed to get takeaway and thought I'd give it a go and really glad I did, only draw back was the delivery charge,ordering over a certain amount the charge should be waived but can't fault the food.

1  Thank aquadad78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KohCustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at Koh Thai Romsey, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Hi aquadad78,

Thank-you for your review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your takeaway and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
The Koh Thai Tapas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Fab cocktails,great menu and wonderful staff.
Would recommend giving this place a try.
We weren't rushed when we took ages to choose.
Great atmosphere, attentive staff and good food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank breend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KohCustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at Koh Thai Romsey, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Hi breend,

Thank-you for your 5* review!

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards
The Koh Thai Tapas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Have been here a couple of time to eat in and had 2 take aways, on the whole it is really excellent, though the music can be very loud and makes hearing conversations quite difficult which is why I could not give this a 5 star. 1 take away was superb the other was not quite so good, as if it had been sat on a hot plate for quite some time! But overall a very good place to eat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KohCustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at Koh Thai Romsey, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Hi Jill D,

Thank-you for your review.

The music volume in Koh is higher than you would find in other restaurants - this is something that we have chosen to do across all our sites to create a more vibrant atmosphere - we will ask management to ensure it doesn't become too loud that it effects the dining experience of the customers.

We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your visits and hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards
The Koh Thai Tapas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koh Thai Romsey also viewed

 
Romsey, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Koh Thai Romsey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing