We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for lunch or dinner, friendly, worth a detour”
Review of Fishermans Rest

Fishermans Rest
Ranked #42 of 179 Restaurants in Fareham
Price range: USD 5 - USD 19
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 17 September 2018

One of the better Lymington pubs with good food and service at a reasonable price, decent wine list and beer. Generally full at weekends so need to book.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank combebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ F, Manager at Fishermans Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 947 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Haven’t visited this pub in a couple of years but we have always had good experiences there and always great food, while it was one of the best venues in the area.

However this time it was slightly different. We booked a table and when we arrived there didn’t appear to be a seating system or host so we asked the guy behind the bar who pointed to where we were meant to be. It would have been nice if we could have been shown to our table and told about specials/out of stock items etc. We weren’t sure if it was still table service or bar service, so had to ask the man behind the bar who told us to order at the bar. This was a little disappointing as I find bar service a bit on par with a weatherspoons experience to be honest as it’s a lot more casual.

There were 7 roast dinner options which looked great however they were all sold out, which was disappointing. In addition to this all the steaks were sold out too. This automatically makes the Sunday menu incredibly bland and bare.

For starters we ordered nachos, pretty standard, bit sloppy with presentation and the tiger prawns again presented poorly and the prawn were way over cooked.

On the mains we ordered the lamb chop which was average. The vegetables were over cooked, but the meat was cooked good and the sauce was nice. Also a different type of potato instead of chips which would improve the dish a lot more.

My Dad ordered the pie, while obviously not homemade was ok for a brought in pie.

In addition to this we ordered a side of cauliflower cheese which was so over cooked it had the consistency of porridge. Not nice at all!

Deserts which were Eton mess and sticky toffee pudding, again nice but nothing amazing.

Overall, very disappointed with the evening. Food was below average but the staff were very friendly and there was a nice atmosphere. However the pub is a lot more rustic and casual, while they seem to be focusing more on the drinks side of the business.

To improve this pub I would hire a couple of waiters/waitress’s to make it table service, which would really help upon service. They can help seat customers, explain any changes or updates to the menu and give the customer an overall better experience. It seems to be a very big menu too, so maybe it would be better if it was minimised but delivered more perfectly.

Make yourselves stand out from your competition!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank sambH4913VE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ F, General Manager at Fishermans Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Thank you for your comments, we doffer table service in the restaurant area, next time you book if you ask to seated in the restaurant we will endeavour to find you a table there, I will pass your comments to the kitchen team and hopefully on your next visit we will redaem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Friendly staff and lovely food. Old fashioned pub. Will definatly be eating here again and recomend to anyone

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Lizzie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ F, General Manager at Fishermans Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Thank you for your kind comments we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Came for dinner with the family on Friday night, great service and atmosphere food was excellent for a pub and all 10 of us had an good time even thinking about booking for Christmas, New manager and chefs are great

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank bigfoodbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ F, General Manager at Fishermans Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Thank you for your kind comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Great service and good value pub grub. Nicely cooked scallops to start followed by fish and chips. My only gripe is that they do not put an apostrophe in Fishermans.....a word which has no meaning and does not exist in our language! Come on, Greene King, get it right!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank johnnyenglish200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ F, General Manager at Fishermans Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Thank you for your comment, I'll pass it on and hopefully when the signs and menus are next updated we will find a box of ''''s and get right next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fishermans Rest also viewed

 
Eastleigh, Hampshire
Arreton, Isle of Wight
 
Havant, Hampshire
 

Been to Fishermans Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing