We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely location, Flat very comfortable. Owner is...”
View from flat and dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from flat and dining room
Westview Holiday Flat Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
View from flat and dining room
Westview Holiday Flat
Sitting room
Sitting room
View from balcony
Dining/kitchen
Dining/kitchen
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Emsworth foreshore and old mill
Aerial view
Harbour pontoon
Sunrise from flat
Harbour wall walk into village
Harbour walk into village
Spinnaker Tower in Portsmouth
H.M,S. Warrior in Portsmouth
East Head beach
Emsworth swans
Emsworth harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Emsworth, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DarrenJac...
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely location, Flat very comfortable. Owner is first class”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Booking the Flat (above a childrens nursery but it was closed during the Easter break) was done by email and money exchange by bank transfer, a few weeks before the trip, The owner (J Oakley) was also flexible about my start and end dates which was very helpful. She also lives in the house next door.

The flat itself is very sunny on one side being next to a pond, and a big window lets light stream in for most of the day. We were lucky with the weather and at times felt quite warm, although the central heating worked well when needed.

The flat has a small but well equipped and pretty kitchen/diner with everything you need for a short/medium length stay. I did bring my own sharp knife and a wok simply because I like to cook with a wok and do a lot of chopping but I could have done nicely without them.

Parking for one car is in front of the flat, there is a nearby car park but is is private (for the local sailing club)

Its a fairly middle class area with nice houses and joggers running by every day, I never felt anything but secure during my whole stay.

All the rooms were clean and tidy, the bathroom shower worked well and my teenage boys had no trouble in the the big bedroom with two singles. The double bed was comfy and warm.

There is a good TV and dvd player, plenty of spare sockets about to charge up ipads etc..

If you want to sit outside there is a small balcony along with deckchairs to soak up the sun and watch the model yachts and kids dinghies being sailed on the pond, which also as many swans, ducks and gulls that appear well fed.

Niggles ? Yes two...
1. Despite other reports the wifi was at best patchy but mostly unusable for me. I suggested a repeater to the owner as I was leaving and she said that she would look into it, I believe that she really "gets" the need these days for decent internet access.

2. The kitchen is carpeted and on top of the carpet is a custom cut rug made from the same carpet material, presumably to help keep the carpet below clean. Apart from cleaning issues the rug kept moving from its location into the middle of the room - as you can see I am being very picky.

Chairs and sofas were all comfortable and for rainy nights there is a selection of games and books, the owners family are pretty talented and there are pictures of them on the walls.

Location wise it is a 10-12 minute walk into Emsworth and its local shops (Coop/Tesco and smaller high quality delis/butchers/fishmongers etc) and many good eating places. There is a big Tesco about 10 minutes away by car.

For older/disabled travelers please be aware that the flat is on the first floor and so you will need to go up/down a staircase to get inside.

We all liked this place and as a further endorsement my mother-in-law has been trying for ages to get a booking for this place when visiting but it has always been busy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quiet comfort
Liked least: Quality of wifi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crispin D
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location and spacious appartment”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed here in March for a few days with wonderful weather.Owner Julia Oakley was very helpful and we hope to return as we love the area and the accommodation is so well located with spledid sea views and close to the town. Good walking territory and sailors tell us it is an excellent harbour.

Very comfortable bed with new duvets etc.Very spacious and parking for two cars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: view of sea
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline B
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location for relaxing or sightseeing”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Westview is a relaxing holiday flat, full of character and old world charm, with plenty of books, interesting pictures and local information. It is well equipped, the beds are very comfortable, the rooms are very light and airy. Mrs Oakley, the owner, is welcoming and helpful. The view of the harbour and mill pond is always fascinating. We enjoy the homely atmosphere whilst the excellent wi-fi connexion has added to our enjoyment this year.
There are always plenty of things to do and places to visit, but a wander around Emsworth village centre, with it's variety of independent shops and eating places, along with the harbour, is a pleasure.
This is our 10th holiday here, always something new to discover, but our lasting impression is of sitting at breakfast, taking in the fantastic view - with our sun glasses on! Can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Atmosphere and view
Liked least: The view of the mud, when the tide goes out.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amal_2007
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“View was great, the flat was grubby and very dated”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The view was great and the flat was in a quiet road. The small double bed was dreadful, old and the blankets, (which I cant believe people still use), were old, very rough and smelt. The towels should be replaced as they are clearly very well used. The kitchen utensils were old and dirty. The place had a superficial wipe over, but really it was grubby.
I felt better once I had gone out and bought cleaning fluids and cleaned the place. It could really do with some care, attention and updating.
It was reasonably quiet except when the landlord was out a 6:30am carrying out non-essential work to the nursery school below, on another occasion hovering.
The mattress is very old and I was unable to sleep. It will just accommodate 2 slim people, but be prepared for a bad back. It really needs replacing. The small single bed was fine for the children,
I think its a bit of a cheek to have to make your own bed up and then take them off when you have finished
Be prepared for a very frustrating time with the wifi. If you stand on the kitchen table you may just pick it up. It drops out after 30 seconds.
So in summary, enjoy the beautiful view, be prepared to give the place the once over and book an appointment for a chiropractor when you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The wifi was terrible, house was not clean, the beds were very poor quality with dreadful old blankets which smelt of
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibiza Town, Spain
Reviewed 5 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The viewa from the kitchen dinner area in the mornigs.
Liked least: I can't say, we did not find anything wrong with the flat or the area.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 140
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing