We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely week away”
other travellers have booked this property
Rambler Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rambler Cottage
Stable Entrance Stable entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Rambler Cottage
Stable Entrance
Stable entrance
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bathroom
Welcome pack
The Drove
Rambler Cottage at the back
The cottage from the Stable
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Eastleigh, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lushcream...
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely week away”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My partner & I have just spent a week staying here. Lovely couple who run this are very friendly and we appreciated the little extras like the welcome pack eg. bread fruit milk cake etc. Plenty of info inside re things to do in the area. Considering the age of the cottage we were especially surprised at the cleanliness & general condition of the cottage. This couple reminds you how service used to be in the past. Still good to see a couple so proud of their cottage and willing to go that extra mile to make sure you are comfortable & happy. My wife & I thank you for a lovely week. Cheers.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priscilla...
London
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A temple of love and relax”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My husband and I went at the Stable at Rambler Cottage to celebrate my birthday for a long weekend. The first impression said it all! An amazing cottage with a radiant garden full of wonderful flowers and many colourful vegetables. The Stable is just behind the Rambler Cottage. Mike and Hilary are the perfect host: cake, fruit, milk, butter, jam, lovely bread (and much more) all was there for us, organic and handmade (cake and bread so good!). Extremely clean, cosy and very organised. There were instruction to make the best use of everything in the cottage (shower, central heating, how to dispose of the rubbish etc. etc.). We truly loved our stay. We slept like babies and had long walks. If you are looking for somewhere to rest, this is the place. You'll need a car if you wish to explore the surroundings. We hope to get back soon for another romantic break! Thanks Hilary and Mike xx

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelandLy...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional cottage stay at The Stable”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Hilary and Mike have thought of everything the traveller might need to have a home away from home. It is in an excellent position for visiting a wide range of interesting historical, cultural and scenic activities.
The stables are adjacent to their thatched cottage and garden which is welcoming in itself but Hilary and Mike's warmth and generosity seal the knowledge of making the right choice. Other reviews comment on the home baked items and the facilities which we found to be the same.
This is our third trip driving around the UK over 16 weeks and this is the best b&b/ self-catered accommodation we have stayed in.
As there were more points of interest than we planned for we would be looking to book again when we return from Australia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire package was outstanding.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TIPL2014
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Stayed at the stable situated behind rambler cottage for 4 nights. Had a lovely relaxing stay and it was a very good location to visit surrounding areas such as Portsmouth and Southampton. Received a lovely welcome pack on arrival which consisted of fresh organic fruit, home-made bread and home-made lemon drizzle cake. As well as milk, butter, cereal, jam, marmalade, and biscuits.

Essentials were provided such as clean towels, bed linen and toilet rolls as well as body wash and shampoo.

Met one of the owners; Hilary, who is a lovely lady and made my husband and I feel very welcome.

Would recommend staying here if looking to relax for a few nights.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B
Beith, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderfully welcoming home-from-home holiday let.”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time at The Stable with our toddler. We were immediately felt welcome on arrival by Hilary and Roy, and the welcome package of freshly made bread and cake (among other things) were additional touches that made the holiday even more enjoyable after a long journey.

The accommodation itself is charming yet modern, and full of everything that we would need from a home-from-home holiday let.

Easy to find, in lovely surroundings and close to lots of attractions, including Peppa Pig Land!

It will not be difficult to keep this accommodation in mind for a future holiday or long weekend. Thanks Hilary!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing