We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small spa hotel”
Review of Cowley Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cowley Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowley
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent small spa hotel”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed in stable room which was delightful, spread over three floors. Very well finished and stylish. The spa was lovely and particularly liked the spa music menu for during my massage; made a change from having to listening to pan pipes or bird song! Very pretty little chapel in grounds. Staff attentive and food good? Roads around hotel are very narrow and journey can be tricky if the roads are snowy or icy.

Room Tip: Try the stable block
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountainfamalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    192
    110
    59
    26
See reviews for
162
432
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I recently spent two days at Cowley Manor with my husband. We went mid week for a mini break and we loved it. The building and setting is beautiful, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We booked the cheapest room and it was lovely, incredibly spacious, clean and comfortable - nothing basic about it whatsoever even though it is their most basic room. Both lunch and dinner were delicious, not cheap, but about what I would expect from this type/level of hotel and you definitely get your moneys worth.

The Spa is very nice, it was my first visit to a Spa so my frame of reference is limited, but we enjoyed using the facilities, especially the heated outdoor pool. Again the staff are very friendly. Unforuntately we were there during school holidays which meant there were a lot of children around and I'm sure it would be a much more relaxing place with fewer shouts/screams and splashing.

We booked the Spa pacakge which included a treatment each and dinner and breakfast and I would say it is very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

After much research I chose cowley manor as the destination for a weekend away to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary.
We stayed for 3 nights in December 2011 & as soon as we arrived I knew I had made the right choice. Our stay was faultless - we stayed in a Better room, a split level room in the stable block. The rooms are quirky & unique, the main house is beautifully designed - bar, lounge & restaurant are welcoming - breakfast was fantastic - great choice & evening service top notch!
We used the spa every day - the pool area is tranquil & relaxing - I had a facial which was superb.
All the staff were friendly, professional & helpful.
Great base for exploring the local area ( there is a great pub just down he road where we had a fantastic meal - can't remember the name!) & Cheltenham was great for Xmas shopping.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkijx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Spent two nights here following a recommendation from a work friend who went becasue she was 'stressed'. And the upshot is that this place will soon de-stress you. It is genuinely, truly, amazing and we are planning our next trip. Be warned though.... macho types.... This will take a little while to adjust to, to acclimatise to. If you are from the school of angry male brit and you've got an o-level in scaffolding, make sure you do your best to go with the flow as soon as you can, otherwise you wont get the most out of your break. For example, fresh drinking water scattered around the place flavoured with fresh sliced cucumber is actually damned nice. But that fact alone could frighten away the most averagely sturdy male.... So, you must resist.... and loosen up..... Get with it, listen to your inner voice, that little camp inner voice wh you often deny time and space, listen to it, saying 'chuck, you might like this, i you werent such beef head!'. The room, we had a 'Better Room' was ace. It even had a little out room that you can pretend is your fancy shed. The two pools are good size and never too busy. More ofthen than not, we had the pools ourselves. On the first day swimming outdoors in the heated pool while it rained was just perfect. Things not great, I had ot fix the cupboard in our room as the hinge was broken, the ipod deck didn't work, we booked a table at the restaurant but the atmosphere was too wooden and the food not up our street, so we ordered from a different menu as room service which was great. So just small faults, that won't affect the overall terrifc experience. Even for us macho types.

Room Tip: Room 10 was lovely. Thats the only room i saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank major_rawls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

If coming by car, the simple directions on the website are all you need to arrive at Cowley Manor. The impressive drive gives you an early taste of the peace and tranquility available in the extensive grounds. As soon as I got out of the car a member of staff offered to show me to recepetion, a good frist impression. We were housed as requested in the stable block in a 3 storey room, affectionality referred to as a "mini town house". Although not cheap, the room and hotel offer all you can wish for a relaxing stay. The heated outdoor pool, warm enough to swim in March was a favourite. My only criticism would be the slightly haphazard service in the restaurant, our first breakfast orders were missing the bacon and we were not served very quickly on day 2. We also had to repeat our room number to 2 different members of staff on both breakfast visits.

Room Tip: The stable block has unusual two and three storey rooms. Ours had a large bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanSwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowley
10.7 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,293 reviews
23.3 km away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
710 reviews
28.1 km away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 km away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
782 reviews
30.7 km away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
26.4 km away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowley Manor

Property: Cowley Manor
Address: Near Cheltenham, Cowley GL53 9NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cowley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowley
Price range (per night): $302 - $938
Hotel Class:4 star — Cowley Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cowley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowley Manor Hotel Cowley
Manor Hotel Cowley
Cowley Manor Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing