We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Award winning spa, disappointing restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cowley Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cowley Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowley
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Award winning spa, disappointing restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I booked Cowley Manor based on it's award winning spa for a spa treat for my husband's birthday. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, the spa a haven of tranquility,we had lovely massages and great food and champagne whilst relaxing in our robes, just how I'd imagined it. Until some families arrived and suddenly, we may have well as been in the local swimming baths! Yes it was half term, but I had no idea that Spa hotels were the frequent of families with young children, and yes there were limitations to when they could visit the pool, however it took the shine off our chill -out afternoon. We checked into our lovely room, suite really, it was large and comfortable. Then we went for our evening meal, where we had a disappointing evening, including very long waiting times for food, bland soup and a cold main meal, I hasten to add that everyone else in the dining room seemed to be served far more quickly than us, with people who had arrived after us enjoying dessert whilst we still waited for our mains, although I did note someone else return a meal to the kitchen. We were informed there was a "communication error"! We shared a starter and a main and left before dessert. I would like to point out the staff were very apologetic and we were not charged for the wine we had had and were offered after dinner drinks on the house, also on check out we were not charged for dinner at all! Breakfast BTW was a little slow but very good! All in all I can't complain at how the disappointments were handled, but my husband will only ever have one 40th!

Room Tip: Stayed in "Better room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaynered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    184
    106
    55
    25
See reviews for
151
410
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This was our second visit to Cowley Manor in 2011, it's only a couple of hours from London and close to Cirencester where there's some lovely shops. On both occasions the C-Side spa has been fairly quiet, the pool is warm, there's a sauna & steam room, gym and changing rooms. We had a great bedroom in the stable block, with a bath in the room as well as a separate rain shower, Wifi, a large TV, balcony and Green & Spring Products. We had room service one night and ate in the restaurant another night - the food was great on both occasions. Breakfast is fantastic, with a choice of hot food from the menu & a cold buffet. The 55 acres of grounds are beautiful so try to get a window table at breakfast, have a coffee in the lounge overlooking the grounds or go for a walk (the hotel provides Hunter wellies for walks!). 'The Village Shop' is worth a visit or 3, it's located in the stable block and stocks brands such as Anya Hindmarch, J Brand and Heidi Klein as well as beauty products & items for the home, you won't leave empty handed! Parking is free with plenty of spaces.

Room Tip: Rooms in the stable block are quiet and closer to the C-Side spa & 'The Village Shop'. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Last minute short break and had a fabulous time. We went for the smallest room and we found nothing small about it. The room was lovely and well appointed. Only complaint was that there was no alarm clock.
Bathroom was heavenly and gigantic and the highlight of the room. The smaller rooms are in the main house and we preferred this to the stable block.
Food was good and the staff could not be more welcoming and hospitable.
Roaring log fires were welcomed whilst staring at the snowy landscape.
The spa and pool are lovely and we would not hesitate to return to use the facilities.
Cowley is 2 hours from London and the perfect spa hotel for a break.
We shall be returning!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

From the moment we arrived and saw the range of wellies lined up outside ready for you to borrow, it was clear Cowley Manor is a very special hotel. The hotel itself is beautiful, both inside and out- a mix of the traditional country house and modern, bold designs. Stunning. We stayed in a standard room which was anything but standard- spacious, stylish and with a beautiful bathroom. But it was the attention to detail which made the difference- the little vase full of Chupa Chup lollies on the desk, for example. There was a real sense of fun in everthing.
The exterior may suggest the hotel could be a little pretentious, but it was anything but. The grounds are both extensive and beautiful, and again infused with a sense of fun- the swing tied around one of the trees made me r4evert to a 9 year old again.
To top off the weekend, tucked away in the grounds iwas the spa, which was just as stylish as the rest of the hotel. A perfect place to relax. All in all, the perfect weekend retreat.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed in January 2012 for a weekend (Friday, Saturday) and really enjoyed our getaway. Our room was on three floors which we really liked as it was different from standard rooms. The bathroom and toiletries were great. They were large bottles of the products used in the spa, and although you could not take them home with you, there was more than needed so this was in no way a problem. Bedroom nice, clean and comfortable.

Both days we borrowed the Hunters wellies that they have at the front of the main house and went for a walk in the grounds. There are lots of little different parts to it to explore and it is well maintained.

Breakfast was great with a really good service and selection. We had dinner at the Green Dragon one night which served great food in a lovely traditional pub setting. Unfortunatley you cannot walk there at night from the hotel as it is too dark but this did not spoil it! Second night we had drinks in the hotel bar (again quirky setting, good service) then had dinner in the restaurant. Again this was good food and good service. If you are looking for a more relaxed atmosphere then we did prefer the setting of the Green Dragon pub.

Spa was good, we did miss not having a jacuzzi though. In summer I can imagine the outside pool and setting make this a really chilled out location and we would happily revisit again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denny2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowley
10.7 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
23.3 km away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
30.7 km away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 km away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
28.3 km away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
24.3 km away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowley Manor

Property: Cowley Manor
Address: Near Cheltenham, Cowley GL53 9NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cowley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowley
Price range (per night): $300 - $936
Hotel Class:4 star — Cowley Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your Cowley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowley Manor Hotel Cowley
Manor Hotel Cowley
Cowley Manor Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing