We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A gem of a house in a beautiful village”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!

Hainault House, a stunning holiday home in the historic heart of Blockley

Stylish and inviting living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!
Hainault House, a stunning holiday home in the historic heart of Blockley
Stylish and inviting living room
The lovely mullion window has a window seat and fabulous views
A great place to relax and enjoy the Cotswolds
The smart dining room, with the dining table set for eight
Roberts radio with iphone dock
The kitchen, which has a door out to the back garden
Gas fired Aga, plus an additional oven and hob
The additional breakfast room, just off the kitchen
A convenient utility space, perfect for doing the washing!
Bedroom 1, which can be set up as either 2 single beds or a superking size bed
There are lovely countryside views out of the window
The family bathroom, with character fireplace
Bath with overhead shower
The second living room, on the first floor (the fireplace is ornamental)
A beautiful room with exposed Cotswold stone wall, SMART TV and plenty of space to relax in
Bedroom 2, which can be made up as either a superking size bed or two single beds
Stylish bedside tables!
Looking into the ensuite bathroom...
...which includes a walk-in shower
Bedroom 3, in the second floor eaves, which contains a double bed
A lovely, spacious bedroom
Bedroom 4, also with a double bed...
...and a dormer window looking across the rooftops to the countryside beyond
The lower garden is accessed by steps up from the back door
Continuing up to the elevated upper garden...
...with amazing rural views!
Blockley's village green and bowling club!
The historic Norman church of St Peter and St Paul
The peaceful Blockley Brook winds through the village
One of the two pubs in Blockley...
...and the well regarded local shop and cafe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jscumbria
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A gem of a house in a beautiful village”
Reviewed 3 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Had a great stay - what a fantastic house - really well equipped. The glorious weather helped!
House full of character - lots of stairs! Great location - really central for all cotswold villages. Blockley is a very friendly village with good facilities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So well equipped
Liked least: stairs
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alunabroa...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top quality getaway”
Reviewed 18 September 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

If your looking for a top quality cottage in the best part of the Cotswolds this is it! My wife and I stayed there for a few days which ended up feeling like a lot longer. The house has bags of character but is also very well equipped. We loved the country feel, the warmth of the Aga and especially the views from the second lounge on the first floor and the bedrooms. Also Blockley is a beautiful unspoilt village. If you stay, which you must, try eating at the Horse and Groom in Bourton on the Hill to round off your holiday. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feel of the house
Liked least: Nothing particularly
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicity...
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location! Location! Location!”
Reviewed 2 September 2011 for a stay in September 2010
2
people found this review helpful

For two Aussie couples Hainault House, Blockley was the ideal location for exploring England's largest Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.
When planning our holiday we spent an enormous amount of time in researching the Cotswolds. Of course, we could have stayed at any number of 'picture postcard' places, but we decided, that what we wanted, was an authentic experience of life in a pretty,traditional, English village. We could not have chosen better! The size of the village, the charm of the houses and the absence of hordes of tourists made this week very special for us. We lapped up the quiet village life with nearby babbling brook, the chime of the church bells, sheep on the hillsides, glorious gardens and relaxing strolls.
Hainault House, with its golden Cotswold stone, window seat and three levels had plenty of character and provided us with great views from inside the house and the back garden. The accommodation was spacious, uncluttered and most comfortable. We chose this house, as it seemed to offer us, much more than any of the other rentals in Blockley and surrounding villages. We really appreciated the excellent set- up of the kitchen, the cleanliness throughout and the fact that everything worked. We didn't want for anything!
The village shop was so convenient to Hainault House and had a very friendly atmosphere.
The location was not only marvellous for seeing all the attractions, numerous villages and market towns in the area, but also gave us many options for wonderful meals, both in Bockley and its surrounds. Each day we would look forward to a new dining experience. These included the local pubs and eateries and places such as, The Horse and Groom at Bourton-on-the-Hill, The Ebrington Arms, The Howard Arms at Ilmington, The Kings Head Inn at Bledington and The Plough at Ford.
The very worthwhile Mill Dene Gardens are only a few minutes walk from Hainault House, while the amazing Hidcote Manor Garden is just a short drive away.
We can highly recommend walking along The Cotswold Way between the lovely villages of Stanton and Stanway and drives to Chipping Campden, Cirencester, Bibury, Tetbury, Great Tew, Chipping Norton and the Rollright Stones.
On our arrival at Hainault House we were warmly welcomed with a cake and a bottle of wine - a nice touch!
We certainly enjoyed our week in Blockley and came away with many wonderful memories of our time spent at Hainault House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Docklande...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb!!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here in June and can honestly say this was a fantastic place for a family break. The location is wonderful and the cottage sits within a beautiful row of historic houses that really captures the character of the area.

We booked the rental in the hopes of doing something different from our usual city or beach vacations and we weren't disappointed. From start to finish (booking to check out) the experience was smooth and seamless and the cottage more than lived up to our expectations. Everything we requested in advance was waiting for us on our arrival and we loved the rustic feel to the surroundings.

If you're in to the idea of exploring the British countryside then this is a great place from which to start. The local area has numerous paths and tracks to follow as you enjoy the never ending greenery (a pleasant change from home!) and the quality of the food in some of the local public houses meant we didn't feel we had to cook in every night.

The highest compliment we can pay is to say that this trip really made us rethink our future vacations. Perhaps a few less beaches and a few more places like this. Overall a fantastic time was had.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiminCaqn...
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 4 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We had an outstanding time at Hainault House during our stay in Blockley. The Cotswolds are beautiful and all of the sites of interest are very close. This was the perfect family house for us to stay in. All of the amenities were available to us including a washer and dryer.

The new owners at the Crown Hotel and Pub, Margaret and Dvid were wonderful to us. Great food and company in the Pub!

We would absolutely recommend Hainault House to anyone wantding to stay in the beautiful Cotswolds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing