We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice.”
Review of The Temple Cafe

The Temple Cafe
Price range: USD 7 - USD 21
Description: "Food For the Soul". We aim to nurture all our customers by serving up delicious homemade food - soups, sandwiches, salads, pretty cakes & good quality coffee and tea. Many vegan & vegetarian options available. We have a beautiful outside decked garden where you can sit under the parasols with the flowers or choose inside where we have a home from home setting with comfy sofas and coffee tables. We welcome mums and babies and have full changing facilities. Dog owners are also welcome to bring their pups onto the decking in the garden area - we provide water and free dog treats.
Restaurant details
Description: "Food For the Soul". We aim to nurture all our customers by serving up delicious homemade food - soups, sandwiches, salads, pretty cakes & good quality coffee and tea. Many vegan & vegetarian options available. We have a beautiful outside decked garden where you can sit under the parasols with the flowers or choose inside where we have a home from home setting with comfy sofas and coffee tables. We welcome mums and babies and have full changing facilities. Dog owners are also welcome to bring their pups onto the decking in the garden area - we provide water and free dog treats.
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Nice little place but open to the elements on a busy main road. Wanted the soup but not on in the summer. Jacket potatoes are microwaved not oven cooked so passed on that. Ordered a soya latte but they had no soya milk and no vegan mayonnaise either which was a shame. Almond latte drink was very watery but the sweet potato wedges were lovely and garnished with salad and home made coleslaw. Service was good and friendly - lovely Irish girl in particular who was very accommodating. Not bad for what is was and friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M0ntg0mery28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017

Have eaten mostly breakfast here many times, always good and the service is great. Will keep going back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Had purchased a present on Groupon for Afternoon Tea, you have to book 24 hrs in advance. One vegetarian and one vegan tea were provided. Nice venue, with quirky china. There isn't a lot of room inside, however, a high chair was provided, upon request. The member of staff that served us was really welcoming and extremely helpful. Tea was served in a big teapot, basic choice included, but could upgrade. Sandwiches were delicious, scones delightful (vegan one too, including the cream) and cakes were fantastic. There are tables outside, but was a bit windy today. A really lovely experience, can't wait to go back, so purchased another voucher this evening!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beaniebaby2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Staff friendly, I asked for King prawns and advocado salad. Husband asked for tuna toasty. We waited and waited, no apology for our wait. Seems they had run out of salad leaves. The salad eventually came, salad leaves from a packet,little bit of cucumber and tomato. No coleslaw as it says on the site menu.
King prawns and advocado were fine. Toasty was very well done, a moment longer and it would have been burnt.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CheeseyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

My friend and I thought we would try this quirky tearoom for lunch

Whilst it is Buddha themed, the waitress/Owner ? hasn't adopted the Buddhist
principle i.e. peace and love

She seemed to have quite an attitude

Food OK price on the high side, wouldn't put myself out to go again

Wasn't very busy, service was almost non existent, had to go to the counter twice to get served

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rizbac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joeykins37a, . at The Temple Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit.

Unfortunately we were super busy on Sunday what with our big birthday party of 10 for afternoon tea plus all the tables taken including yours, which meant you had to wait 10 minutes for your jacket potatoes as we make everything fresh to order as it's not a fast food place. This was explained very politely to you when you complained in a very irritable way about waiting, but it appeared that you didnt like to hear that.

It's not table service which is why you had to come to the counter.

£5.50 for a large jacket potato, filling and salad isn't expensive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Temple Cafe also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Temple Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing