We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
96
38
10
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
38
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houselovely little placefirst served basisone night staysea frontspecial dietkettle tea coffeea partial sea viewsun was shiningimmaculate bathroomshort walk to the town centrebars and restaurantsideal place to staylovely couplelovely roombreakfast was freshly cookedstay there again
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

We have just spent a few nights at The Sandrock in Clacton on sea. We experienced a warm welcome and a professional but friendly atmosphere. The room was very clean, comfortable and had all facilities requred. The dining hall was clean and beautifully decorated. The breakfast, which is included in the price, was good quality, plentiful and well cooked. The waitress was very cheerful and pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Christine for a memorable stay at your beautifully comfortable establishment. We shall definitely be returning. Thank you.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

We've just returned from a nights stay at this beautiful b&b, the building is stunning and our room was cosy and traditional offering all the 'mod cons'. On arrival the owners greeted us with a warm welcome. The room was lovely and warm and beautifully dressed. The location is perfect, a few minute and from the town centre and seconds from seafront. We rang ahead to ask for an iron and board, which was ready and waiting for us on arrival at reception. There's a weatherspoons just round the corner, which was great for lunch. The breakfast was delicious and cooked to perfection. I would highly recommend a visit and plan the return in the summer. Thanks for having us!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank EmilyJaneGanney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Stayed in the Deluxe Double for £70 which included a great cooked breakfast, hosts were friendly & helpful, room was freshly decorated, clean and perfect for our one night stay, location is good, 2 minutes for the pier/seafront and the shops. Only issue was parking as the hotels free car park was full, so we left ours on the road which was still within view of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ronny707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

A last minute trip found us staying here for one night. On entering the guest house we got the feeling it was going to be a classic seaside town place, smell of stale fags and chintzy vibes.

However, our room was great! Newly refurbished, good size, new carpets, bathroom etc - and so cosy on a horrible cold day!

We went to a nearby restaurant, had a great dinner (recommended in the very detailed visitor guide in the room) and then had a silent nights sleep.

Breakfast was served by a friendly lady and was pretty good.

Checkout was 10:30am, where abruptly to the actual minute, we had our bedroom door knocked on and told it was time to vacate. Not had that once before in all the places we have stayed! Maybe if we were 15mins or so over time it would make sense as they might need to turn the rooms around for the next guests, but as just us and one other couple were the only guests, it was a little strange. We met the other couple outside who had also been told to vacate with a knock on their bedroom door, and who also though it was very weird, and a little rude. We felt like we had been scalded!

However, 5 mins later we headed down, left the key on the desk, and on opening the front door were met with a cloud of smoke, where the owner and lady from breakfast were smoking on the doorstep. So much for a no smoking hotel and strict letters in the back of the visitors book regarding smoking. This also explained the stale fag smell in the reception area.

Sum up:
- The rooms are fabulous
- Breakfast was pretty good
- The hosts odd behaviour on checkout and smoking on the front door step needs to change (needless to say he was friendly the rest of the time) as it brings the overall impression of place that claims to be 4* down to a 3.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

Small clean friendly B&B serving an excellent breakfast.Parking very limited first come first served basis. Close to the sea front which is across the road and the town centre is within walking distance. Several cafe's pubs etc all within walking distance

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank foofoo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews