We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Esplanade Hotel(Clacton-on-Sea)
USD 71
USD 68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Kingscliff Hotel(Holland-on-Sea)
USD 76
USD 54
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Chudleigh(Clacton-on-Sea)
USD 115
USD 112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adelaide Guesthouse(Clacton-on-Sea)
USD 76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabana Guest House(Clacton-on-Sea)
USD 83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beeches(Clacton-on-Sea)
USD 83
USD 80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barnfield B&B(St Osyth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Stonar Hotel(Clacton-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (769)
Filter reviews
769 results
Traveller rating
247
234
142
72
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
247
234
142
72
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmash and barrelpapa johnslive loungeprestige caravanoutdoor poolon sitespar shopfun starschinese takeawaysea wall walkferry boat inntouring wardentouring areago kartsevening entertainmenttake awaynice holiday
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 769 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Visited for the Easter weekend. Problems on the first night with no water supply so had to go out before having showers! Wanted to treat the family to papa John's but no dough At 8pm!! Children's entertainment ok, but children complained they couldn't hear it properly.
Security on the door very rude when I showed pass and said what about him and them pointing to my boyfriend and children. Park completely water logged everywhere, very poor drainage. Arcade penny pushers were not topped up with prizes. Teenagers sitting on the machines.
Still had a good time but very disappointed that we experienced all of this.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank superlinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Superlinz

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I do apologise for the issues you encountered with the water supply on Friday evening. This was due to an external issue, but understand the inconvenience it caused. Some facilities had to be closed due to this which unfortunately had an impact on the stock levels at Papa Johns.

I am dispaointed to hear of your comments regarding the Security Team. I have passed your feedback onto the Security Manager who will be looking into this.

Despite your current disappointment, we do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Amy
Holiday Experience Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Just got home a day early from here...weather did not help the stay at all. Caravan was very nice and spacious however 1st night was ruined but no water on site so we stayed in and decided to order a papa johns delivery only to be told they had run out of pizza dough...toast for dinner it was then. Booked lots of activities for the following day however very £££ and not many free activities for kids to enjoy. Swimming pool I’ve never seen anything like it you have to book what time you want to swim. Evening entertainment would have been enjoyable if we had a table to sit seems you have to get to the live lounge at 5pm to get a seat for the evening shows at 9pm! Mash and barrel food was nice however could do with being bigger as we waited in line for 40 mins just to order a coffee. Cars drive way to fast around the site and people are too noisy returning to their caravans at 1.30 am. Could also do with better signage around the site.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank lucyoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Lucyoreilly

I am disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us. Unfortunately we were without water for a short time on Friday due to an external issue, however the Team were supplying bottled water if needed. As the Restaurant was closed due to no water, Papa Johns became extremely busy and did run out of dough throughout the evening. Our onsite shop was open until 10pm.

During busy times we do operate a band system for the Pool with 7 sessions being available throughout the day to ensure the Pool is accessible to as many guests as possible. Some of our activities are chargeable however some Nature Rocks Activities and Mini Archery, Fencing and Seaside Games are free.

Kind regards
Amy
Holiday Experience Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Just returned from another great holiday at The Orchards. This is our 3rd year staying at the Orchards. We had a Prestige Caravan and as usual the standard was very good. Very clean and fully stocked with all the items we needed for our 4 night stay. Once again the activities for my children were great and they had lots of fun. Ben done a great job at keeping the little ones entertained with his story telling style of teaching skills such as football, archery and fencing. All staff were friendly and helpful. We had an issue with the boiler but this was soon put right. The shop was well stocked and as usual the prices were reasonable. The mud kitchen at Nature Rockz is a fab addition! Already looking to book for next year as we always have such a nice time. I’ve marked it down one rating due to some of the maintenance vans driving over the 10mph speed limit on the site. There are signs clearly marked all around the site saying to keep the speed limit at a max of 10mph but sadly this isn’t followed by some staff members. A tractor pulled out of one turning pretty fast and I had to swerve to avoid him. Other than this we enjoyed our stay at The Orchards and look forward to returning next year.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Aamilah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi Aamilah

Thank you for reviewing your holiday at The Orchards.

It's fantastic to hear that your children had great fun taking part in our activities, we do have a wide range of Sports and Water activities for all ages.

I do apologise that you encountered an issue with your boiler, however I am pleased to here this was fixed quickly for you.

I am disappointed to hear about the vehicles that were exceeding our speed limit. I can assure you that this matter is being looked into.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards
Amy
Holiday Experience Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We had an amazing holiday with our son and daughter in law and 2 year old grandson. From the moment we arrived the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Our caravan was clean and very comfortable. We had a wonderful time in the entertainment complex. The fun stars were very attentive and got to know our grandsons name on the first night and every activity we went to they called him by name. I think he fell in love with Amy and anxious. Everyone we came in contact with cannot be praised high enough. Thank you for making our grandsons first Haven holiday a very special one.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Samjh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi Samjh67

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that your Grandson had an amazing first Haven Holiday!! Its lovely that lots of special memories were made. I have passed your kind comments onto the rest of the Team and they were most pleased. Amy FunStar and Anxious say 'hi' :)

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Amy
Holiday Experience Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
51
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I booked a 3 day weekend break at Haven in Clacton-on-Sea.
It was the first weekend of hosting (non-owner) guests for the 2018 season.
From the moment we arrived, we received a very warm welcome by all of the reception team.
We had a lovely 6 berth caravan, and although the weather was cold, snowing and icy, we were warm and comfortable.
There is a well stocked shop on site, reasonably priced, and again with good service.
We ate and drank in the mash and barrel pub on site, the food was very good and the beer crisp and clean. Staff were very attentive.
The entertainment was great, and although we didn’t have kids with us, we thoroughly enjoyed it.
Everyone in all areas of the park were super friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Great value for money, thoroughly enjoyed our stay, many thanks, we will be back!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hi

Thank you for reviewing The Orchards. It’s fantastic to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for kind comments regarding the service you received. All of the Team work their best to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible and they will be most pleased with your feedback.

This cold weather seems to be very persistent and we are hoping for the sunshine soon!!

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Amy
Holiday Experience Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews