We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house and gardens but badly let down by the new cafe”
Review of Hylands Estate

Hylands Estate
Ranked #8 of 44 things to do in Chelmsford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Hylands Estate is a prestigious grade II* listed public park encompassing 574 acres of historic parkland. The beautifully renovated Neo-Classical elegant villa Hylands House can be hired for any occasion including Weddings, Celebrations and Business Events and is open to the public on select days. The Stables house a café, gift shop and resident artist studios. Within the park there are formal Victorian Gardens and ancient woodlands that are accessible as well as an award winning accessible children’s Adventure Playground. With a list of seasonal events both within the House and the Park, Hylands Estate is the perfect place to visit and explore.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Hylands has always been our 'go to' place; somewhere to enjoy a quiet walk in beautiful grounds followed by a meal in the stable block café - up until last year.
Today was our first visit of 2018 and we were looking forward to sampling what the new café had to offer. We shouldn't have bothered. No one seemed to know what they were doing, the macaroni cheese was bland, the chips 'soggy' and the Cornish pasty hard. If we ever go to Hylands again, we'll take a packed lunch.

Thank anw8568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, Manager at Hylands Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback, I will pass it directly to Churchill Catering, the caterers behind The Stables Cafe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"national flower"
in 9 reviews
"wedding venue"
in 10 reviews
"wedding reception"
in 6 reviews
"heavy horses"
in 4 reviews
"lovely wedding"
in 3 reviews
"banqueting room"
in 3 reviews
"stable yard"
in 7 reviews
"beautiful house"
in 8 reviews
"walking the dog"
in 4 reviews
"farmers market"
in 6 reviews
"extensive grounds"
in 5 reviews
"coffee shop"
in 8 reviews
"lovely grounds"
in 5 reviews
"nice cafe"
in 5 reviews
"for sale"
in 5 reviews
"free entry"
in 4 reviews
"great park"
in 5 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

The house was open today for free and it had a very interesting exhibition in the library about the Pryor family, one of the previous owners. I have been in love with this house since I was a small child and my parents brought my brother and I here as children I used to stand for ages by the fencing and look at the house which was in a bad way at that time as it was burnt out and had no roof. I was lucky enough to get married here in 2009 and it was one of the most emotional days of my life. This house moves me every time I return I now live in Suffolk but return as often as I can

Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, Manager at Hylands Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback.
Hylands House is open for free to the public on the first Sunday of every month this year (excluding December, when it's open on Sunday 16th). Each month there is an exhibition and guided tours. The Farmers' & Crafts Market also runs on these days too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

The Park and Hylands House are both very inviting. The Park has a large secure play area for children and can be reached by walking and cycling. It has a coffee shop next to it and plenty of car parking as well. The House, which is situated on the other side of the Park, regularly hosts great events, especially in the spring and summer time. It also boast a few local shops and cafe.

1  Thank KrishnaHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, Manager at Hylands Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thanks for your review. HE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

So the parking was free the path walking up to the house had a few market type stools selling mostly food cakes, jams honey eventually get to the house and they want to charge £4 each to go in which I think is a complete joke especially since I had no idea what was in there but there were loads of people waiting to pay to go in. So as a family of 6 £24 to enter before we even look around and maybe buy stuff I assume the traders inside have already paid the council for the pleasure. Why would I pay £24 for the pleasure of spending money ??? Didn't even bother went straight back to the car a couple of years ago it was defo free to get in and the exhibitors weren't that good so I just assumed it would be the same this year and didn't want to pay for the pleasure. I complete 100% rip off won't be bothering and wasting my energy again oh and it said nothing on the website about an entrance fee.

1  Thank Janette31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, Front Office Manager at Hylands Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you, Janette, for your feedback. Yesterday there were two separate events running side by side at Hylands Estate; the Farmers & Crafts Market was located along the path and in the Stables courtyard and Crafts for Christmas was in Hylands House. The Craft Fair located in Hylands House was organised by the Guild of Essex Craftsmen, a charity and they decided on the entrance fee etc. Full details of the Farmers Market and the Guild of Essex Craftsmen event were on the Hylands website where advance discounted tickets could be purchased to the Guild of Essex Craftsmen event.
Many thanks for your feedback, HH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Easy to park . FREE. Parking . Couple of coffee shops . You can walk on the path up to the house . Or across the fields . Down to the lakes or in to the nice gardens with the ducks on the pond dogs on the lead in this area. Take you dog poo bags with you . Enjoy your walk . Great children’s play area and coffee shop just next to eat and drink .

Thank Austen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hylands Estate also viewed

 

Been to Hylands Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing