We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel and Superb Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marygreen Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and Superb Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Never been in the MaryGreen yet passed it many times. So when the KGB deal came up to stay there and have al acarte dinner, we took it.
Could not fault it, from first entering the hotel, the staff where very attentive, the room lovely and clean and comfortable with a memory foam Queen size mattress for comfort.
The meal was amazing! Very good value for money even to just visit for dinner. Extensive wine list to cater for all tastes and budgets.
Breakfast served to the room bang on time and a pleasant tour of the rooms (double jacuzzi room 48 - a must see)
The grounds of the hotel would be a perfect setting for a summer wedding, fountain included.
They do theme weekends here like 'murder mystery' and 'Faulty Towers' which im sure would be great fun! We will definately make a return.
Thank you for a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Room 48 - double jacuzzi Room 40 - single jacuzzi and four poster bed the newer block theme name r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    245
    92
    26
    35
See reviews for
222
252
30
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

over booked twin room . Double room with a camp bed put up . Terrible service overcharged for lunch.

Room Tip: well even if you book well in advance wont get the room you booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We booked a private room at Marygreen Manor for the annual dinner of our local art society. We had been using the same venue for many years and decided it was time for a change. Our choice was definitely influenced by there not being a hire fee for the room and we were very impressed by the décor and cosy feel of the room, which is completely separate from other areas of the hotel and comes with its own bar and cloakrooms. The dining area seated our group of 36 comfortably at round tables, much better for a social gathering than rectangular ones, and we were able decorate them with our own floral arrangements. Our communication with staff during the arrangements for the evening was efficient and professional. On the night the restaurant manager and his team made sure everything went smoothly and were always discretely on hand. We chose from set menus costing £21.00 for two courses and £24.00 for three courses. The food, presentation and service were all excellent. There were no hidden costs. Members of our group really enjoyed the evening and there were many compliments about both the food and the venue. Marygreen Manor is a beautiful Tudor building, conveniently situated a few minutes from the M25, near the town of Brentwood. There is very good parking. We certainly intend booking this venue for our next annual dinner. A very successful evening and a thoroughly good choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Fantastic food, fantastic welcome, fantastic service, fantastic gardens and fantastic value!

Every time you set foor in the Marygreen Manor hotel you are totally looked after.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

If you have never considered eating here, you need to!! My boyfriend was taking me out for dinner but there was something wrong with the water so we couldnt eat where he had booked. It was a Saturday in Brendtwood and we thought we had lost all hope when we came across Marygreen Manor. The staff were extremely accomodating and squeezed us in (it wasnt in a horrible place or really uncomfortable either!) The waiter (began with a V - think it might have been Viks) was extremely knowledgeable about the wines and the menu which was great. He kept an eye on us and despite it being busy, our glasses were always topped up and our plates cleared promptly without feeling he was hovering.
It was a classic fine dining menu! We had an amuse bouche to start (mushroom) which was dleicious and the waiter brought out a selection of breads to go with the homemade salted and unsalted butter. We chose scallops and asparagus for starters - both of which were delicious! I had the dover sole (an extra £10 supplement) which they deboned in front of me and my boyfriend has the lamb. I was a little jealous upon trying his lamb and the accompanying lamb shoulder ravioli! They then brought out a predessert for us - one large profiterole and chocolate mousse - a lovely touch. I had a dessert of poached pear which came with manadarin sorbet and salted caramel sauce - it shouldnt have worked but it did! Meal for two with two glasses of wine for me and two soft drinks for my boyfriend was £117. For the experience and service I think it was worth the money.
The decor is a bit old fashioned but not in a drab or worn way - the cutlery was nice and heavy and the plates were Wedgewood!
Only downside I suppose is that it is short drive from the main centre of things but with a boyfriend who doesnt drinks, this wasnt a problem for me. I cant imagine the taxi would be too expensive and the waiter did offer to book us one at the end of the meal when we were paying.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imfirmbutfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
2.9 km away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
13.0 km away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
19.1 km away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marygreen Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marygreen Manor Hotel

Property: Marygreen Manor Hotel
Address: London Road, Brentwood CM14 4NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price range (per night): $102 - $232
Hotel Class:4 star — Marygreen Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marygreen Manor Hotel is a fine example of early sixteenth-century architecture in Brentwood, Essex. Beautifully presented and centrally located, just minutes from M25/J28, with easy access to London & the Home Counties. Our Tudor Manor House offers a variety of accommodation from Luxurious 4 Poster Tudor Suites to our Delightful Courtyard Garden Rooms. Marygreen Manor is also home to the 2AA Rosette Tudors Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia APAC and HostelWorld so you can book your Marygreen Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marygreen Manor Brentwood
Marygreen Manor Hotel Brentwood, UK - Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing