We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very warm welcome form the staff, log fires and great atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I booked a twin room for my father and I as a belated birthday treat as he grew up in Brentwood, I thought it would be nice to visit. I looked at holiday inn online and discovered that the prices were very similar and Marygreen Manor looked far, far nicer.
Despite there being no vacancies online, I called, the receptionist was very helpful and found me a room. A few days later I decided to add on an afternoon tea to our booking and again despite being fully booked and at late notice, they were able to squeeze us in.
We arrived to check in and were pleased to see there was plenty of free parking, the hotel looked lovely from the front & when we got into the reception we were delighted at how nice the hotel was inside. The receptionists were polite and efficient, although we were early, our room was ready, we checked into our nice clean room then headed into town, the taxi was called for us by reception too. When we returned we decided to move forward our tea, again the staff were happy to help. We were seated in the conservatory, there was a fantastic atmosphere and the freshly baked scones and delicious cakes and sandwiches didn't disappoint. We opted for the champagne option, the bubbly was of good quality and finished the experience off nicely.
Later on we had a couple of drinks in the lounge area, there was table service and we were provided with some lovely nibbles of olives and pretzels to enjoy with our (Very reasonably priced) drinks. The other guests very friendly and we felt very comfortable to be there.
Breakfast was great, hot options, pastries, cheese, ham, fruits juices and breads. Very good value for money.
Check out was quick and efficient. All in all I very much enjoyed my stay and have already booked for a return visit.
If you want a good value, high quality venue I recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Go for a room with windows: ours only had skylights, a little claustraphobic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BimboDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

947 - 951 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

We held our wedding at Marygreen in their Samuel Pepys room which was ideal for our party of 15. We were not staying there overnight but were given a complimentary bedroom to change clothes which was much appreciated. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and attentive. We were allocated a private area of the bar/conservatory whilst waiting for the SP room to be reset for our meal. Food was excellent. No hesitation in recommending Marygreen to others.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janette503773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I booked three rooms at the Marygreen Manor Hotel as part of their winter deal for my birthday get-together. We paid £69.50 per person…Outstanding value with friendly, very helpful and polite staff...Was also given free room upgrade! The whole party commented on how delicious the food was. Thank you Marygreen Manor. :-)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dear_Beki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I was booked to stay in the Marygreen Manor Hotel with a group of colleagues and upon arrival was informed there had been an error in their booking system and that they did not have a room for me and that they had booked me a hotel near by.
This meant that I was seperated from my colleagues, I had the inconvenience of finding the other hotel and it also meant that I would end up paying more as they expected me to pay the Marygreen Manor Hotel rate instead of the rate I would have paid if I booked directly with the other hotel.
The level of customer service I experienced from the night manager and the booking in staff was very poor, they could not answer any of the questions I asked and on entering the postcode into my satnav to locate the other hotel which I had had to request from them found out it was quite some distance away and not close by as they had stated.
I then had to book into the other hotel and then drive back to my colleagues to meet up with them in doing so I walked past the night manager and although he acknowledged me I was so annoyed with the experience that I informed him the other hotel had sorted out his issues. I then proceeded to the bar where he could quite easily had offered me a drink for the inconvenience but I received no further attention.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
3  Thank Ronald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We booked the Marygreen Manor for our very small and informal wedding in January.
The wedding was a surprise to our guests who thought they were coming to my husband's birthday lunch. The staff were completely accommodating and helped us get the guests to the wedding room without letting on!
We had lunch in the restaurant which we had chosen instead of having use of a separate function room. Although from the normal menu from that day, the food was delicious and beautifully presented. The staff were polite and attentive.
We enjoyed coffees and drinks after lunch in front of a lovely log fire in a separate area that was allocated for our use only.
We stayed in a gorgeous room that night in the hotel extension with everything you could need.
Overall we were delighted with the experience. All staff were helpful and understanding of our needs and the service was excellent. We would strongly recommend Marygreen for a meal, a stay or as a wedding venue

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
2.7 km away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
782 reviews
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
703 reviews
13 km away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
12.8 km away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Margaretting
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marygreen Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marygreen Manor Hotel

Address: London Road, Brentwood CM14 4NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range: AU$123 - AU$246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marygreen Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marygreen Manor Hotel is a fine example of early sixteenth-century architecture in Brentwood, Essex. Beautifully presented and centrally located, just minutes from M25/J28, with easy access to London & the Home Counties. Our Tudor Manor House offers a variety of accommodation from Luxurious 4 Poster Tudor Suites to our Delightful Courtyard Garden Rooms. Marygreen Manor is also home to the 2AA Rosette Tudors Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marygreen Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marygreen Manor Brentwood
Marygreen Manor Hotel Brentwood, UK - Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing