We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great surroundings - relaxation and a good base.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Games Barn

The Games Barn set in 30 acres of working farmland with fantastic views over open countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Games Barn set in 30 acres of working farmland with fantastic views over open countryside
Ramp access to the barn Living room with woodburner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
56 reviews
The Games Barn set in 30 acres of working farmland with fantastic views over open countryside
Ramp access to the barn
Living room with woodburner
The stream which runs through the entire length of the farm
The decking area with views to open countryside
The dining area
The sitting room from the other end!
And another angle of the sitting room
The front of the property
The view from the bridge
Enter a caption for your photo
The kitchen
A single bedroom (can be twin or double too) with cot
A double bedroom
The other single bedroom (which can also be a twin or a double)
The other double bedroom
The disabled wet room
The disabled wet room showing the sit down shower with no basin
The main bathroom
The ramp up to the property
The farmer, his dog and his tractor
Our happy chickens - you can feed them bread and other bits if you like
One of our cows - they love people especially if they get fed some hay or a bit of apple
One of our litters of piglets. They eat anything (except meat) and love you throwing it to them
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mayfield, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KimPFaabo...
Faaborg, Denmark
1 review
“Great surroundings - relaxation and a good base.”
Reviewed 11 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We have just finished a great stay at the Barn, 8 people (6 over 16 yrs), we had plenty of room, as the barn is well equiped. Had a coulple of days relaxation, sunday roast can be recommended at the local pub (Rose & Crown). There are lovely surroundings and a great place for relaxation. However our holiday included 2 trips to London, we drove to Richmond ( carpark next to station 16 pounds for 6 hours) and then a daytravelcard at £ 7,30 each. takes approx 2 hours to london.

Madelaine and Fred are great hosts, you find them arround most days, as they are going about doing their work to keep the small farm running. They are very helpfull and do the utmost to make sure you have a good time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2011
It is great to know that we can provide a good base for our overseas visitors - and we will always remember the skill showm by this family when helping us round up our sheep - a great help!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanC007
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A relaxing week in a lovely location”
Reviewed 7 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

This was my second visit to the Games Barn with three elderly relatives with very limited mobility, all of whom appreciated their own comfortable rooms and the two bathroom/shower rooms. They also enjoyed sitting on the decking overlooking the paddock and wandering round the farm talking to the animals - and this year we had the bonus of a couple of pigs coming to have a look at us one evening. The location is ideal because there are so many places to visit nearby from farms and stately homes to vineyards, heritage railways - you are spoilt for choice. The hosts, Madeleine and Fred Farbrother, are very welcolming and always on hand to help if necessary.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2011
We are very pleased to welcome back guests for repeat visits - from our point of view this signifies that the first visit was a success. It is great to know that second time around there is still plenty to do and the holiday is just as good. The escaping pigs are now very firmly back in their pen having had a severe talking to!! We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europetra...
Bucks
2 reviews
“Great Location....”
Reviewed 11 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Stayed for 3 nights with 3 children (2,7,9), we weren't sure what to expect as this was our first stay in a barn on a farm! However, we were pleasantly surprised - great location (recommend to follow the detailed travel instructions provided!), friendly hosts and good space in the barn and garden. We were initially very lucky with the weather and able to explore the farm, the local area and close enough to visit the seaside for a day trip!

The girls loved walking us round the farm looking at the animals!

One thing to take note of, you have to clean before you leave (or pay for the cleaning), this made our departure morning quite hectic, we weren't helped as it started raining so the girls could not go out and play!

We all had a great time and would definitely return. A big thank you also to the hosts for the milk in the fridge on our arrival!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2011
Thanks for these lovely comments. We greatly enjoyed your company and would love to see all of you again some time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porkcilla
Airdrie, Canada
2 reviews
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011

The farm is situated in a beautiful English country setting providing a true sense of seclusion, yet you are not far from several of sizable urban communities and many enjoyable sites. The village of Mayfield is a short walk along a delightful footpath. There is enough in the area to amuse a wide range of interests for children and adults of all ages. The unit is spacious and well planned. The hosts are exceptionally warm, friendly and most accommodating. The hosts are accessible for assistance at all times, yet they are most respectful of your privacy.

Our family of six (children ages 8, 10, 12 & 13) felt at home the day we arrived from Canada. We stayed for nearly four weeks with a five day journey to France in between. The games barn was our home away from home - though a home where we felt we were well looked after! Each of our children made a special bond with one of the animals - we were most excited to arrive one day to witness the birth of a young lamb.

As an Occupational Therapist, I was most impressed with the thought put into the design for accessibility. For our family the unit provided an exceptionally supportive environment for our two boys with Autism.

The Games Barn (the facility, the location, & the hosts) exceeded our expectations and we have fond memories of our vacation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2011
Thanks for this lovely feedback. We particularly appreciate your professional view of our disabled facilities as we strive to ensure the Barn is suitable for all people regardless of their disabilities. It is also great to know that, even for a stay of nearly a month, the Barn was considered a home from home and met all your needs. We look forward to meeting you and any of your extended family (many of whom we met whilst you were here) again in the future. Thanks once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing