We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, cosy little cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Little Orchard

Wisteria covered frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wisteria covered frontage
English cottage storage Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Wisteria covered frontage
English cottage storage
Kitchen
Butler sink
Relaxing bathroom
Relaxing bathroom
Cosy Lounge
log burner for the cosy winter nights
Flowers picked from the garden last year
Beautiful colour
Early days of the wisteria
Cosy lounge
Bedroom
Bedroom
Pretty bedroom
Landing
Spring time
Flowers in bloom
Retaining wall starting to bloom
Arlington bluebell wood in early May
Front of Cottage in May
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Battle, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma W
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, cosy little cottage!”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My partner and I stayed in this cottage over the Easter bank holiday weekend, and we had a great time! The house was exactly what we were hoping for - quaint and cosy, with everything we needed for a long weekend. We loved the old-fashioned style of the cottage and being able to light the fire, and the attention to detail made the house feel homely. It was in a very good location to explore Battle, and we also got the train to Hastings one day. Keith was very helpful, and allowed us to stay a bit later than planned when our train was cancelled.

We would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet weekend in a beautiful little cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The old-fashioned style of the cottage.
Liked least: There was some noise from the road and wind at night as the windows may not have been double glazed, but this did not affect us much.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Hello thank you for the kind review very much appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrissie1...
Canton Center, Connecticut
1 review
“Charming little cottage”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and I stayed at Little Orchard and it was everything we expected: Quaint, charming and cozy. Just right for 2 people. Really made us feel like we were part of 1066 country. We do not like the "glitz" of hotels nor the confines of a hotel room and the yard was lovely! The owner could not have been more hospitable. We had issues with the TV (our fault actually) and Keith drove 2 hours one way to rectify the problem! Many Thanks Keith! Wifi worked great.
We took easy walks to the historic town of Battle every night and managed to find our way driving around the countryside during the day. Little Orchard was a delight to return to after a busy day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, location, location!
Liked least: probably the tub and
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert C
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cosy cottage!”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful cottage! We found parking outside easily and ventured to Hastings and Bexhill, which was a short drive away. Battle High Street was within walking distance, had a beautiful array of shops and we visited Battle Abbey which provided plenty of activities for our children. The Italian restaurant on the High Street was great! The cottage itself was gorgeous! It had so much character and was an ideal stay for our family. Luckily the weather was warm enough that we were able to enjoy eating in the outside dining area of the garden and there was a park within short walking distance for the children to enjoy. We would definitely recommend!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2015
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Little Orchard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockles10
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Little Cottage”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here for a midweek break in August with our 18 month old boy. The cottage is situated in a great location to explore Sussex and to just stroll into Battle. We walked into Battle high street a couple of times, which took a bout 10 minutes. We also had a couple of days where we drove out further afield. Hastings is about 20 minutes away and Rye is a bout another 15 minuted from there. We found Hastings a bit rough around the edges but really liked the Old town. Rye is a beautiful place to go and visit and would recommend it. We were battling the elements on this holiday but it didn't stop us from having a great time.
Back to the cottage, It is equipped with everything you would require from a holiday home and a bit more. It is a lovely little cottage full of character. We had an issue on arriving at the cottage where, the key box was not working properly. I contacted Keith and he had this sorted in a matter of minutes.
You get a bit of a chill in the morning but I think this is because we were only using the heating on a timer (we had an unfortunate week for weather), once on the heating is very good and we used this to dry our rain drenched clothes.
I thought parking was going to be an issue but every night I was able to park opposite the cottage on the main road.
All in all we had a nice stay and would recommend the cottage.
Thanks

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Many thanks for the kind words about our little cottage we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Liz and Keith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Disappoin...
Ewhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
“Overrated cottage and poor service from Tripadvisor”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We travelled as two pensioners and two grandchildren aged 11 and 13. Just because the cottage has a sofa bed in the living room does not make it suitable for 4 people as advertised. The entry to the property is highly restrictive for people with a poor footing which is not mentioned in the advert. We had difficulty in contacting the owner and the procedure through Tripadvisor is complicated. There is nowhere to part a car except on yellow lines. There is no eating//dining area in the cottage so it is all meals on laps. The bath has only a hand held shower in the bath which makes it difficult to wash. The toilet and bathroom are off the kitchen so if anyone is occupying the sofa bet it is awkward to get to these facilities at night especially where a teenage girl is concerned. There are too many nick-nacks about the place that further restrict space. They only provided 2 sets of towels for 4 people I know the cottage is old and space is restricted but your advertising showld be a lot clearer. Overall we were disappointed and went home a day early as we did not want to suffer restriction any more.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing