We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Relaxing week-end” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George
Ranked #1 of 4 Cavendish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Relaxing week-end”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

6 of us stayed here for a week-end break, and we can truly recommend it as a base from which to enjoy the local area. The George has a great atmosphere with Bonnie as a hard working and charming hostess, and her young front of house team all eager to please and a credit to her. Lewis and his kitchen brigade serve amazing food, well cooked and beautifully presented, with a menu which should please any discerning diner. The restaurant is very busy so book in advance. The atmosphere was really welcoming and the bedrooms as good if not better than anywhere we have stayed. The team really deserve success and from we saw and received they will. The breakfasts, by the way, are delicious and freshly cooked to order and set you up for a walk in the Stour Valley! Thank you for an excellent week-end. Oh, and also enjoyed the Church bells, Cavendish is quite an idyllic village, however do visit Clare which is in walking distance.

Room Tip: Room 2, a twin, is huge, with character and overlooks the front, however not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bazjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie S, Owner at The George, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you for your kind review on your stay at The George. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Many Thanks,
Bonnie Steel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    38
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
75
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Ate in the restaurant.........

Fantastic snd faultless!

Totally recommend

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanW0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Clean, classy and cosy. Excellent comfortable accommodation for business or pleasure. Good food, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms 1 or 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We arrived on Thursday last and were impressed from the word go. Our room was lovely with quality bedding/furnishings (even down to the soap!) and fresh coffee in our rooms. With two friends we booked the bed and breakfast and evening meal option (for three nights) not realising then just what quality good food and service we would experience - every table was booked in the restaurant and we were not at all surprised once we had sampled the food . We dined from the a La Carte menu each evening and the consistent quality of the varied menu never faltered.

Bonnie and partner and her team will I am sure go from strength to strength - they are young, friendly, dynamic and obviously hardworking - they deserve to succeed. We will certainly re-visit Well done.
.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wesleycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The George, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The George and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in March. We arrived very late in the evening and were met with a very friendly welcome, which was much appreciated after a 4 hr drive.

Our newly refurbished room was delightful and the ensuite clean, modern and stylish.

The all inc breakfast was good quality and cooked perfectly - we enjoyed it outside in the garden with views of the church.
We were so happy with it that we returned for dinner the following evening - again great food and plesant friendly service. We would certainly reccommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie S, Owner at The George, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The George. Many Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
3.6 km away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
5.9 km away
The Bull
The Bull
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
11.3 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
6.0 km away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
7.0 km away
Pickwick House B&B
Pickwick House B&B
#1 of 4 in Clare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Property: The George
Address: The Green, Cavendish CO10 8BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Cavendish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cavendish
Price range (per night): $135 - $166
Hotel Class:4 star — The George 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you in this 16th-century restaurant with rooms. The George is situated on the edge of the village green in Cavendish, positioned in between the popular villages of Clare and Long Melford and just a short drive from the timeless village of Lavenham. Since October 2010, co-owners Lewis Bennet & Bonnie Steel have achieved their 2nd Rosette and four gold stars from the AA & Visit Britain tourist guides. The emphasis at The George is on the quality of food and customer service. The menus offer a wide range of dishes to suit all tastes and budgets. The menus change frequently and are guided by the seasons. We aim to use the highest quality, sustainably sourced ingredients and utilise our garden to grow seasonal items such as baby leaf, beetroot, edible flowers, tomatoes and herbs to use on the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Cavendish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing