We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dales Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Two Lifeboats(Sheringham)
USD 147*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
YHA Sheringham(Sheringham)(Great Value!)
USD 52*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mount Lavinia(Sheringham)
USD 97*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 133*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holway House(Sheringham)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveller rating
273
161
75
44
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
273
161
75
44
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teasheringham parksuperior roomsconesnational trustcream teasunday lunchhotel groundsset menupatio doorsroast beeflovely settingdining roomfour poster beddirect accessthe north norfolk coastrelaxing weekend
Filter
Updating list...
472 - 477 of 565 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The Dales really needs to sharpen up its customer service! Our stay at this hotel could have been so much more enjoyable with a little more effort from the staff. We booked dinner bed and breakfast and on arrival we were offered 2 unsatisfactory times to have dinner - either 6pm or 9.15pm - when we asked if we could maybe have dinner at around 8pm the receptionist was abrupt and unhelpful and informed us that they were fully booked and that we should have asked for a time for dinner at the time of booking - ridiculous! - we were not even asked when we booked on the telephone. You would assume that a hotel offering dinner would be able to seat all of its guests at any time. However, the dinner was delicious and the dining room very pleasant. Our room was also very nice, once we had got used to the strong smell of drains! It's obviously an old building and the bathrooms do not have any ventilation. The worst experience which really spoilt our stay was the appalling breakfast. We were shown to an unmade table and were then promptly ignored for a very long time. There is no excuse for this, particularly as the dining room was not busy. We were eventually asked if we would like tea or coffee and toast and this then took another age before we received it. No-one offered us a menu or took our breakfast order. At least we were able to help ourselves to the buffet table which was nothing special, and the juice ran out several times. While we were not being served we noticed some staff cleaning other tables - shouldn't serving the guests be a priority??? Eventually we were asked for our order but then the food did not arrive for a VERY long time. When it did arrive it was slammed on the table with no apology, just the comment that 'all our breakfasts are freshly cooked to order' as if this excused the wait - unfortunately our breakfast looked and tasted as though it had been cooked at least an hour earlier - extremely disappointing! The whole breakfast took about 1 1/2 hours - absolutely unacceptable, especially for a 4 star hotel for which we paid good money. When we checked out the staff made no apology for our poor experience. In fact they did not even ask if we had enjoyed our stay. Again, terrible customer service! We have written to the owners of The Dales but - surprise surprise! - they are clearly as disinterested in looking after their guests as their staff are and have not even acknowledged our comments. We had hoped that The Dales would be a lovely place to visit again as it has an ideal location but unfortunately the staff and the appalling breakfast have let it down . We would not recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacqui s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Have had both morning coffee here and afternoon tea. Both of which were excellent value. I've paid more in little cafes in the area and here it's so much nicer. Beautiful old rooms or outside in the garden - either is lovely. Nice little touch is homemade biscuits with your coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank PennylaneEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed in the Pipistrelle Room, it was supposed to be a premier room, but it was very small.
No space for your luggage, the TV did not work properly and all the wires were hanging down loosely from the TV.
The extracxtor fan did not work in the bathroom which had no natural ventilation.
The wi-fi signal could not be obtained in this room either.

We chose off the two menus on Saturday night and was asked to pay £19.95 extra for a small rib eye steak from the 'al a carte' menu !
No one had explained that extra charges would be incurred if you choose from the menu, either verbally before ordering or in writing.
They did however remove this charge from the bill when I complained, so beware when staying for b,b & evening meal.
We had long waits both Friday and Saturday night for our meals as there as only one chef on duty although the restaurant was full.
Breakfast was also as bed, long waiting times for your food.
No complaints about the food or the hotel in general apart from the comments above, beautiful grounds, and the hotel backed on to the Sherringham national park with stunning views and walks.
We paid alot of money for a three night stay which is fine because the hotel is worth it, it was just spoiled by the unfortunate findings and events.

Room Tip: Check your room before accepting, check your tariff and do not be afraid to complain. Good hotel hotel, demand good service you pay for it !
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed on a 3 nights DB&B deal for the price of two which made the price much more realistic. We stayed in the four poster bed room which was very nice except for the hardness of the mattress - a topper would have solved the problem! The balcony overlooking the gardens was an added bonus. The food was always delicious - beautifully cooked & presented and all the staff were very attentive and helpful but also friendly giving a very warm & relaxed but professional atmosphere. A very good choice for a weekend of relaxation.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stemar51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We booked a 4 night stay at the Dales just before the Easter Holidays. We chose The Dales because they allow dogs to stay in some of the ground floor rooms. Our room was a superior double and looked out onto the wooded area at the back of the hotel. This was ideal as we could let our dog out directly from the room instead of having to walk through the hotel each time she needed to go out. A path through this area of the grounds leads directly to the Sheringham Hall Estate where you can enjoy long walks with your dog.

The room was furnished in a contemporary style with solid wood flooring, which is a good idea for rooms that allow dogs, and was clean and well layed out. The huge bed was very comfortable and the room was so quiet that we both enjoyed deep sleep.

Our dog does not like being left in hotels rooms and when we asked if dogs were allowed in the restaurant the receptionist informed us that they were not but that we could eat in the library (in which dogs were allowed). When we arrived for dinner we found a table had been set for us - we really enjoyed our 'private' dining room and also ate breakfast in the same room.

The food was generally of a very good standard. The only fault was an overcooked pigeon breast starter, but then I do like my game meat cooked pink. This was rectified immediately and I enjoyed the second attempt.

Overall we had a very relaxing stay at The Dales. All the staff were friendly, efficient and nothing was too much trouble - they really made such a difference and are a credit to the McKenzie Hotel Group that run this and two other hotels. We will definitely return.

Nearby is the wonderful North Norfolk coast and some very nice coastal towns - Wells next-the-sea is worth a visit. Also try lunch at Cookies at Salthouse - this is a quirky restaurant run by a family that have a crab and seafood shop. Great value and deliciously fresh.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms great for dog owners.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jahpritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews