We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay at Dales Country House Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dales Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay at Dales Country House Hotel”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I were looking for somewhere we could get to - and spend a night and day to get fresh air, a gentle walk, good food, wine and service.

Check in was simple - the staff courteous. Our room was very comfortable. Wonderful scenes from the windows. Room had all we needed - kettle, TV, free wifi..!

Dinner at the restaurant was excellent. We were out celebrating a birthday and I mentioned this discretely to the staff when at the bar. The kindly decorated the Table and met my request for a candle in the pudding!

We are vegetarian. The starters and main course were both excellent as was the cheescake at the end! All the other people dining around us were making positive noises over their meals - so I assume they were having a good time.

Lovely people taking care of us. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs over looking the garden with the out door chess set
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shailendra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    146
    64
    39
    9
See reviews for
64
312
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The Dales really needs to sharpen up its customer service! Our stay at this hotel could have been so much more enjoyable with a little more effort from the staff. We booked dinner bed and breakfast and on arrival we were offered 2 unsatisfactory times to have dinner - either 6pm or 9.15pm - when we asked if we could maybe have dinner at around 8pm the receptionist was abrupt and unhelpful and informed us that they were fully booked and that we should have asked for a time for dinner at the time of booking - ridiculous! - we were not even asked when we booked on the telephone. You would assume that a hotel offering dinner would be able to seat all of its guests at any time. However, the dinner was delicious and the dining room very pleasant. Our room was also very nice, once we had got used to the strong smell of drains! It's obviously an old building and the bathrooms do not have any ventilation. The worst experience which really spoilt our stay was the appalling breakfast. We were shown to an unmade table and were then promptly ignored for a very long time. There is no excuse for this, particularly as the dining room was not busy. We were eventually asked if we would like tea or coffee and toast and this then took another age before we received it. No-one offered us a menu or took our breakfast order. At least we were able to help ourselves to the buffet table which was nothing special, and the juice ran out several times. While we were not being served we noticed some staff cleaning other tables - shouldn't serving the guests be a priority??? Eventually we were asked for our order but then the food did not arrive for a VERY long time. When it did arrive it was slammed on the table with no apology, just the comment that 'all our breakfasts are freshly cooked to order' as if this excused the wait - unfortunately our breakfast looked and tasted as though it had been cooked at least an hour earlier - extremely disappointing! The whole breakfast took about 1 1/2 hours - absolutely unacceptable, especially for a 4 star hotel for which we paid good money. When we checked out the staff made no apology for our poor experience. In fact they did not even ask if we had enjoyed our stay. Again, terrible customer service! We have written to the owners of The Dales but - surprise surprise! - they are clearly as disinterested in looking after their guests as their staff are and have not even acknowledged our comments. We had hoped that The Dales would be a lovely place to visit again as it has an ideal location but unfortunately the staff and the appalling breakfast have let it down . We would not recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqui s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Have had both morning coffee here and afternoon tea. Both of which were excellent value. I've paid more in little cafes in the area and here it's so much nicer. Beautiful old rooms or outside in the garden - either is lovely. Nice little touch is homemade biscuits with your coffee.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennylaneEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed in the Pipistrelle Room, it was supposed to be a premier room, but it was very small.
No space for your luggage, the TV did not work properly and all the wires were hanging down loosely from the TV.
The extracxtor fan did not work in the bathroom which had no natural ventilation.
The wi-fi signal could not be obtained in this room either.

We chose off the two menus on Saturday night and was asked to pay £19.95 extra for a small rib eye steak from the 'al a carte' menu !
No one had explained that extra charges would be incurred if you choose from the menu, either verbally before ordering or in writing.
They did however remove this charge from the bill when I complained, so beware when staying for b,b & evening meal.
We had long waits both Friday and Saturday night for our meals as there as only one chef on duty although the restaurant was full.
Breakfast was also as bed, long waiting times for your food.
No complaints about the food or the hotel in general apart from the comments above, beautiful grounds, and the hotel backed on to the Sherringham national park with stunning views and walks.
We paid alot of money for a three night stay which is fine because the hotel is worth it, it was just spoiled by the unfortunate findings and events.

Room Tip: Check your room before accepting, check your tariff and do not be afraid to complain. Good hotel ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed on a 3 nights DB&B deal for the price of two which made the price much more realistic. We stayed in the four poster bed room which was very nice except for the hardness of the mattress - a topper would have solved the problem! The balcony overlooking the gardens was an added bonus. The food was always delicious - beautifully cooked & presented and all the staff were very attentive and helpful but also friendly giving a very warm & relaxed but professional atmosphere. A very good choice for a weekend of relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stemar51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
4.4 km away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
8.7 km away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
10.9 km away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
17.9 km away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
30.9 km away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dales Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dales Country House Hotel

Property: The Dales Country House Hotel
Address: The Dales Lodge Hill, Sheringham NR26 8TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Price range (per night): $191 - $332
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dales Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in national Trust parkland, you will find a quintessentially English grade II listed country house. Discover luxurious bedrooms, original fireplaces, mullioned windows and a fine oak staircase. Add to this, innovative English cuisine and a wealth of those little extras that make all the difference, and truly you have found a place where you can relax! You can also enjoy free, wireless internet broadband access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Otel and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dales Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dales Country Hotel
Dales Country Hotel
The Dales Country House Hotel Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing