We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pleaseant change from faceless 'have a nice day' chain hotels” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broom Hall Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saham Toney
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleaseant change from faceless 'have a nice day' chain hotels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

Helpful friendly service from local staff. Room was very clean.
Decor and fittings were a bit old fashioned but in good condition. At least they are not wasting resources by refurbishing perfectly ok rooms with stylish modern stuff that is not very functional. Full length bath (there's a rarity in a hotel) but no shower - so check your room has one if that's important to you. The building is a bit creaky - but noise from other rooms no worse than in many modern hotels. Plenty of light to sit and work by. The layout was a bit cramped - but that is what you get with many hotels that are converted country houses. Modern chain hotels don't have that problem, but then they don't usually have delightful gardens to walk around and sit out in, and dining room windows you'll want to sit by. Food was good and reasonable priced. Breakfasts cooked to order. Would stay here again if working in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveWoodgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    40
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
50
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

The rooms are named after birds or flowers which is a bit weird. The room I had was on the 2nd floor with a roof window, I constantly banged my head on it when it was open. Bathroom, immaculately clean but very dated, poor, lumpy pillows and creaking floors kept me awake late and woke me early. No iron available for use in your room, there is an 'ironing station' fixed to the wall on the middle floor which certainly didnt appeal to me, I found this to be very hostel like. Breakfast was good, service a bit slow but with a smile. Evening meal was very good indeed and not too pricey for hotel standards. All staff were very pleasant. Aparently there is a pool but only found out about it after I had checked out. Could be spectacular but quite far from that at the moment.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidexplorersid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

rooms were good, although over cluttered with furniture. creaking floors and furniture were more akin to an old timbered pub?

Food was very hit and miss - a dry salty risotto made with basmati rice makes you doubt the chef's skills. Several other dishes were well made, but how can you tell which he can or can't cook properly? Waiting staff were very friendly, but lacked leadership or organisation - carefully wrote our pudding orders on a "map" of the table layout, then threw it away and kept running around asking who had ordered what .....

Breakfast was a mixed bag - some quality ingredients and lovely local fruit juices, but a lack of flexibility from the staff - don't bother asking the tea person for milk for your cereal as each seems to have their own mini role.

The indoor pool was popular with several of our group - salt water rather than smelly chlorine made it extra relaxing.

Overall, we'd visit again if in the area, but if the owners were present during our stay we never realised, as they didn't introduce themselves to the group at any time - bad PR. Reception staff were very welcoming and helpful throughout the entire stay.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HairyDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

We're locals and decided to try the restaurant as a possible venue for taking visitors for a nice meal. Maybe we picked a bad night (the manager was on honeymoon!) but the staff seemed totally disorganised, and food was not as described on the menu and only just passible. There was only one veg served - boiled red cabbage - which was inadequate and boring. The dessert was ok, but probably bought in and a small portion. We waited 1 1/4 hours for our 8 o'clock meal, so were glad when the bread rolls arrived. Why not offer nibbles if there is going to be a delay. The restaurant was only half full - we'd probably still be there waiting otherwise.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank countrygirl1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAMSHIRE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2008

My wife and I booked a 2 night stay at Broom Hall Country Hotel at the beginning of June. We boooked into the coach house area of the hotel-it was not what i would describe as a coach house first of all!! More a dog house. The main part of the hotel looked nice, and from the reviews i read people enjoy staying there, but the coach house is horrid. Paper thin walls where you can hear next doors bathroom!! and conversations. Grimy and dingy bathroom, tiny tv from the 70's, room in general looks old and rundown, and dont bring your cat because there is not enough room to swing it!! Breakfast was ok, not great, a little cold and do not get fried bread, aka burnt bread-both mornings! For 95 pounds, i would stay elsewhere, it was worth lesss than half we paid for it..

  • Liked — ACCESSIBLE INTERNET ACCESS
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING ELSE!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ashjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saham Toney
10.9 km away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
28.8 km away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
24.7 km away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
32.4 km away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
38.3 km away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broom Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broom Hall Country Hotel

Property: Broom Hall Country Hotel
Address: 98 Richmond Road, Saham Toney IP25 7EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Saham Toney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saham Toney
Price range (per night): $132 - $160
Hotel Class:3 star — Broom Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your Broom Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing