We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
153
18
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
153
18
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews michelin star tasting menu homemade biscuits nespresso coffee machine sweetbreads michelin restaurant english breakfast attention to detail look forward to our next visit for sunday lunch birthday treat following morning an overnight stay rooms are lovely well worth a visit wonderful hosts stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Kevin and Jacki were lovely. We felt so welcome staying here and it's such an intimate place. The rooms were bright, clean, modern and spacious. I wasn't expecting a Michelin starred chef to take our bags to our room and I think this says a lot about how understated this place is. Having only room for about a dozen covers, the ambience of the restaurant has a very special and romantic vibe. And the there's the food. Oh the food! Just wonderful. Kevin also served us so to cook it and serve it is quite something. I have no doubt we will be back. It's an absolute gem which should not be missed.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank F593UVadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

Dear Sirs,

Our family came here as a special occasion meal.
We often eat out as a family as we like to consider ourselves foodies but rarely treat ourselves to this level of standard!
Everything was outstanding. Our waitress (fair hair) was charming, attentive, professional and friendly. She made us feel at ease as often this type of establishment with such a high reputation can be ""snooty"".
Our dishes were all spectacular and you should be very proud of what you have achieved.
Will most certainly return, will just have to think of a reason so that my wife will allow us!
Regards,
Wilson and family

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank hallwilson64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

The food is very good, (well, it is Michelin starred), the rooms charming and the owners are an exceptionally pleasant couple who have time for their guests in this cosy establishment. We booked dinner, bed & breakfast to celebrate an anniversary and had a lovely time. The only drawback? Having to pay! The Neptune is inevitably pricey and it is debatable whether it offers the best value for money around, but when you are enjoying a special treat, who's counting.....

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Stayed for one night as a birthday treat. The room was good with some nice touches - fresh milk for the coffee maker and homemade biscuits.

We had the set menu - we were unsure of the sweetbreads but thought we'd go with the flow - they were the best part of the meal.

The breakfast was very good.

In a nice way I'd describe this as a Michelin star B&B. We will return

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our short break, the hosts are outstanding and nothing is a problem. I loved the tea! All the food eaten was fantastic, of particular note were the cheese board and Breakfast, both the best I had had. We enjoyed it so much we went back on the Sunday for lunch with daughter. Will definitely visit again.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ivan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews