We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage on the edge of the Norfolk Broads”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Station Cottage

Front of property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of property
Back of property looking up track to Norwich Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Front of property
Back of property looking up track to Norwich
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Acle, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PIPPIN11
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage on the edge of the Norfolk Broads”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Beautifully converted cottage on a "real" railway station on the Norwich to Gt Yarmouth Wherry line. Owners live next door in the ex-Station Master's house. Very conveniently located for the Broads and the Norfolk coast. Very well furnished and spotlessly clean. Lovely welcome pack of goodies including a scrumptious sponge cake. Fresh flowers also. Pets welcome. Plenty of trains for the enthusiast! Modern TVS in lounge and bedrooms and a vital Wi-Fi link with good speed.
Minor downside was lack of a washing machine, but no problem for a week's stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The trains!! but I am still a trainspotter!!
Liked least: No problems really.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely review- I am sorry you missed the washing machine I'm afraid I omitted to tell you on arrival that I am more than happy to wash and dry laundry for my guests - it didn't help that I was unable to greet you personally as taking son to Uni that day and completely forgot on my return- hope it didn't spoil your stay too much
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BionicWoman28
Reviewed 24 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind words- sorry I missed saying goodbye on Saturday- hopefully we can welcome you again
Deborah and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jean W
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay.”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Had a lovely week. Beautiful spacious comfy cottage. Really well equipped. Lovely touches flowers, welcome pack, slippers and gowns. Enjoyed traveling on the train to Norwich and Reedham. We took our little dog. It's a nice walk into village. Scooters cafe does lovely food and is dog friendly. Reedham ferry and the ship also do great food ,as does the Bridge inn at Acle. The weather wasn't too great so we didn't venture into Yarmouth or Lowerstoft, both of which are easily accessible by train. In all a great base for a break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: uniqueness
Liked least: if I have to say something lack of bath.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Thank you for your review, glad you and Poppy enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christoph...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“excelant stay”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I found the owner very helpful and friendly.
The cottage itself was both warm and exceptionally clean and quite spacious. It had everything you would need. I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and the only concern i had was the sound of the trains.This turned out to be a unnecessary concern as we did not hear them

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2016
Thank you very much for your review, it is much appreciated that you took the time to do it, there is no other way for guests to feel confident when they book online. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMick_1...
Walton-on-the-naze
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can not fault this gem of a cottage in Acle”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Fantastic Holiday had by all in a superb luxury dog friendly cottage, packed full of everything you could possibly need for a great stay, It was our dogs first holiday and he too found it relaxing and home from home and a superb lookout point for him to watch passerbys and trains, we love how its situated close to shops, walks, fantastic pubs, footpaths and not forgetting transport, so you can train hop anywhere on the wherry lines. Definately will be back had a superb time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very comfortable and plush furnishings
Liked least: it didnt have a bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your review it is lovely to get feedback and think that we are providing somewhere people can have a relaxing break- look forward to welcoming you again
Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing