We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food in a very nice trapper's atmosphere”
Review of Kroa

Kroa
Ranked #6 of 17 Restaurants in Longyearbyen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 33 - USD 130
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Svalbards most relaxed and historical restaurant, for celabraiting a birthday, romantic dinner or for a glass together with the local citizens. Our menu are focused on seasonal ingredients and our chefs and waiters work hard to serve you the best as they can. Our opening hours are 11:30-02:00 every day. You will find us right in the center of town, just a few minutes walk from most hotels in Longyearbyen.
Reviewed 8 April 2018

I ate at Kroa about 4 times and it was a really enjoyable experience. Moose burger, home made burger, catfish and the very delicious fondant (probably not home made, but still very good).

Only the price is a litte high for what it basically serves...

and minke whale... please... those times are in the past...!!! take it off the menu!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Blaz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kroa, Manager at Kroa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for your review.

Glad to hear that you had four meals at Kroa and that you tried so many different dishes.
Our chocolate fondant is a favourite dessert for many guests and it is home made. We make about 180-200 fondants a week.

Welcome back to Kroa!

Zandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Kroa is a great place to eat. very friendly, good food, I like the local beer. They have some dishes specific to this part of the world like minke whale and moose burger.

There are a range of dishes at different price points including pizza.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jane475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kroa, Manager at Kroa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for kind words!

Welcome back when you visit Longyearbyen next time.

Best regards,
Zandra


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Amazing food, great service & a cosy atmosphere... Much needed for when the weather turns bad. The prices are high, but if you are on holiday & want some authentic food then this is the place to go.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rusty1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kroa, Manager at Kroa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for taking your time to write an review.

We are glad you liked our food, service and atmosphere.
Hope to see you back here at Kroa soon.

Best reagards,
Zandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Very nice but busy touristy place. The char starter was very nice, we did try the whale as well, however as I read on it, it's not what Norwegians eat, rather an attraction for tourists. The moose burger was ok, would say there wasn't enough seasoning. Large portions too. Overall nice place to eat with friendly staff. Would recommend to book a table in advance.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 8munros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kroa, Manager at Kroa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for writing an review after visiting Kroa.
Whale steak and our smoked minky whale is very popular. Norwegians do eat whale and in fact there are more norwegians ordering those dishes than other nationalities.
Im glad you tried our whale, I think its really tasty.

Hope to see you back in Kroa!

Best regards,
Zandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Tried this place twice.
Best pizza we have tasted. Best Nachos we have tasted. Large portions as well.

Cozy place, staff all very nice and prices moderate.

Easy top 3 in Longyearbyen.

Thank Apeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kroa also viewed

Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 

Been to Kroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing