We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty beyon belief.”
Review of Iskeroon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caherdaniel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

The studio apartment was just beautiful, all mod cons and equipped to a very high standard .
You will want for nothing here.
It was -2 outside but we were so warm inside.
We took a moonlight walk to the harbour and beach.
The gardens are totally stunning and being sub tropical there is an amazing selection of flora and fauna.
If you are looking for a real get away from it all holiday then this is the place.
The owners are just amazing and nothing is too much trouble.
Honestly, my description cannot even scratch the surface
I can't describe beauty of looking out at the Skellig islands , walking along Derrynane beach , the breathtaking views , watching the moon rise over the mountains.
My advice is to visit and see for yourself.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank clinton_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

3 - 7 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Great location right on the shore. Room very stylish and comfortable. A little exposed to other visitors unless you keep curtains drawn. Convenient to Bunavalla harbour for heading out to Skellig Michael but weather landed our boat up at the another harbour. Lots of great places to eat nearby or self cater. And great walks all around. Highly recommend this place as a base.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

A beautiful, cozy coastal apartment overlooking the ocean was the perfect mid-point spot for our two week trip to Ireland. We had intended to visit the Skelligs but sadly the weather did not permit it. Except for the crew filming the Star Wars movie who found their own way to the islands, the ferries were not running. But no matter, we explored the area instead. We had one day of absolutely torrential rain so we stayed in with our books, some tea and appreciated the stormy beauty of the sea from the warmth and comfort of our home away from home.

Tastefully decorated with great art, a small collection of books including local history, a very comfortable bed, a small but well equipped kitchen and a private deck with ocean views. The bathroom was beautiful and included a warming towel rack and plenty of hooks to hang things.

A large garden led to trails in either direction with beaches to explore. Our hosts gave us some excellent recommendations for meals out and trail maps, and as animal lovers we appreciated the visits from Cookie the cat and Daisy the dog. The hens were laying so we also enjoyed fresh eggs! Another reviewer described it as like living in a painting and that is so true. This place was a find and we highly recommend this romantic spot.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SkyboxTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

We spent a week at Iskeroon and had a great time exploring the Kerry Peninsula, from one end to the other. Although the weather wasn't quite ready for a run to Skellig Michael we certainly visited the museum and around Valentia Island for sightseeing. Great gardens are easily within a short drive from Iskeroon and the garden, easily walkable, of the Derrynane House is not to be missed along with the tiny bar at the Keating House nearby. The beaches around Iskeroon are beautiful with the majesty of the full ocean in display. Our stay was a joy, from the chickens and fresh eggs, to the delightful manner David and Geraldine treated us. We'd love to return in the future. We celebrated out 10th wedding anniversary while there and what more beautiful place could you ever ask for.

Room Tip: If you're staying longer than a day or two get the suite with it's full kitchen, lots of sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndyNAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Staying at Iskeroon is like living in a painting. The surrounding views of islands, pristine beaches and towering mountains have to be seen to be believed and feature on many postcards of the area. We stayed in the larger downstairs apartment which is beautifully decorated and designed with love and attention to detail. Add to this the friendly welcome from Geraldine and David and their animals. Plus the Kerry hiking Way passing by and leading to one of Ireland's historic houses. Then there are the boat trips leaving for the world heritage Skellig Islands from the bottom of the garden. Is it any wonder that we have fallen in love with Iskeroon so much so that we have already booked to return in 2015. An absolute delight.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ytrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Iskeroon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iskeroon

Address: Caherdaniel | Derrynane Beg, Caherdaniel V23 XK03, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Caherdaniel
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Caherdaniel
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iskeroon's two suites and studio apartment offer superb accommodation in an unbeatable location, set in 4 acres of sub-tropical gardens which lead down to a private pier and the crystal clear waters of Derrynane Harbour. Derrynane and the nearby village of Caherdaniel are rightly regarded as the prettiest and most special parts of the Ring of Kerry. Iskeroon is within walking distance of a superb Blue Flag beach, Derrynane National Park and the harbour from which a boat leaves for the Skellig Islands, as well as a great pub. Iskeroon offers a superb base from which to explore the Iveragh, Beara and Dingle Peninsulas, Valentia Island and the magnificent National Park in Killarney."You can 'do' the Ring of Kerry a thousand times and Iskeroon will never reveal itself. Iskeroon's worldly brand of adorableness and utterly secluded seafront location ensure that it never wants for business. It's the kind of place where people have standing reservations for the same room for the same dates year after year. An hour from Kenmare, in what connoisseurs of the Ring consider the prettiest pocket of the Iveragh Peninsula....The Irish are exceptionally well traveled in their own country, and everyone I talked to who knew Iskeroon said it has the best views their land has to offer....Iskeroon is a romantic, elemental wind-tossed place that makes it easy to fall in love." Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing