We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really quite magical!”
Review of Iskeroon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caherdaniel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Iskeroon
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Recently returned from a trip exploring Cork & Kerry. We stayed for 3 nights at Iskeroon - which worked well with our combination of hotels and B & B's. This was by far the most relaxing place we stayed at. Make sure you take enough food so that you do not need to go shopping again - we were happy to not venture too far for our entire stay at this beautiful place. The quality of the furnishings/bedding/bathroom were exceptional at this price - much better than many places charging far more. Our room had a lovely wooden decked terrace with a wonderful view down to the sea. This would be a good place to indulge in painting/reading/dreaming. Bring your binocular's and go birdwatching. Walk along the cliff paths through banks of wild flowers to nearby Derrynane House and beach (excellent tea room at the house). You do need a reasonable level of fitness to navigate the paths (and suitable footwear) but we are so glad we chose to stay at Iskeroon.

Room Tip: We loved our room with the sea view but did not see the alternatives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jubeeTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

We came across Iskeroon by chance when Googling places to stay in Ireland. If you want a place to relax and 'get away from it all', this is it! We stayed in the upstairs studio with the sea view - perfect! The scenery is stunning. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and furnished to a high standard with lovely fabrics and art work.We stayed for a week which is probably a bit longer than some guests and we cooked every evening. The kitchen is equipped with all the basics and we had no problem managing. We flew into Kerry airport and did a big supermarket shop on our way. This is a good idea as there are no very local shops and it gives you time to enjoy the local area and relax without having to think about shopping. The only thing we really needed was fresh bread which David very kindly baked for us. What service! We were a bit anxious about the last bit of the drive to Iskeroon having read the reviews on TA and the lane down is narrow but there are no sheer drops either side of the road and we managed with no problem. Local people are very good at reversing if you meet them and look a bit nervous! In spite of unprecedented level of recent rain, we managed quite a lot of walking. You do need decent waterproof footwear. The local beach at Derrynane is spectacular - reminded us of long sandy beaches along the Great Ocean Road in Australia. If it is really wet you can walk up the lane towards the main road and then follow various tracks to the left - drier underfoot and more spectacular views. There are maps and guides in the apartment but if you are a really serious walker an OS map of the area might be helpful. David and Geraldine are extremely welcoming and kind. They also have an amazing DVD collection you can borrow from if you fancy settling down to a film. Its difficult for a place to live up to the reviews that Iskeroon gets but this does!

Room Tip: Only one room has a sea view. get it if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allison6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

we stayed in the self-catering studio for a week - it was very peaceful and we had a wonderful time exploring the area. The studio is well-equipped and extremely comfortable and our hosts were very friendly and helpful, booking us a trip to Skellig (well worth it). Well-worth a visit - an excellent base from which to explore Kerry.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EMoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Iskeroon is in a fabouous location just off the ring of Kerry. It is a steep drive down from the main road but the directions we had from the owners were good and it was easy to find and certainly worth the trip. Our room was really lovely, tastefully decorated, spacious and spotless. When planning our trip to Kerry our aim was to get away from everything and Iskeroon is the perfect place for this with beautiful scenery and lovely walks to the nearby beaches. Breakfast was nice with good quality ingredients. I like the idea of veering away from the "full irish breakfast" and having breakfast on your own rather than in breakfast room but I think that if you are staying for a few days items should be replenished (without having to ask) and varied a little but this was only a very small thing as you really come to Iskeroon for the location and the tranquility and it takes your breath away!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samjula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

My husband and I were fortunate enough to get a reservation for 2 nights at Iskeroon this May. We were greeted by wonderful Geraldine who provided us with farm fresh eggs from her beautiful hens. The property is located above the ocean in a gorgeous and rugged part of the Ring of Kerry. There are walking trails to nearby beaches and parks. We stayed in the mountain room (upstairs apartment) which was darling and had everything we needed. The only downsides were the queen sized bed and one particularly stormy night when the rain was very loud on the rooftop. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rkozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caherdaniel hotels
0.6 km away
No photo provided
An Gleantain
#6 of 6 in Caherdaniel
6 reviews
2.2 km away
Wave Crest Caravan & Camping Park
0 km away
The Olde Forge
The Olde Forge
#2 of 5 in Caherdaniel
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iskeroon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iskeroon

Address: Caherdaniel | Derrynane Beg, Caherdaniel V23 XK03, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Caherdaniel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Caherdaniel
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iskeroon's two suites and studio apartment offer superb accommodation in an unbeatable location, set in 4 acres of sub-tropical gardens which lead down to a private pier and the crystal clear waters of Derrynane Harbour. Derrynane and the nearby village of Caherdaniel are rightly regarded as the prettiest and most special parts of the Ring of Kerry. Iskeroon is within walking distance of a superb Blue Flag beach, Derrynane National Park and the harbour from which a boat leaves for the Skellig Islands, as well as a great pub. Iskeroon offers a superb base from which to explore the Iveragh, Beara and Dingle Peninsulas, Valentia Island and the magnificent National Park in Killarney."You can 'do' the Ring of Kerry a thousand times and Iskeroon will never reveal itself. Iskeroon's worldly brand of adorableness and utterly secluded seafront location ensure that it never wants for business. It's the kind of place where people have standing reservations for the same room for the same dates year after year. An hour from Kenmare, in what connoisseurs of the Ring consider the prettiest pocket of the Iveragh Peninsula....The Irish are exceptionally well traveled in their own country, and everyone I talked to who knew Iskeroon said it has the best views their land has to offer....Iskeroon is a romantic, elemental wind-tossed place that makes it easy to fall in love." Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing