We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday”
Review of Royal Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Belvedere
Ranked #39 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We have just come back from a week here and had a lovely time.
.The food was excellent even for our 6 year old son,The rooms were basic but spotless,The entertainment was fabulous.The animation team work so hard. ...Yes the majority were Germans but they were all polite enough.It was lovely and the staff are great.And in a beautiful location...We didnt want to come home....
Those that had written bad reviews...Are you sure you stayed in the same place?

Room Tip: Book a family room with a sea view...Its worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 190cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    305
    153
    42
    33
See reviews for
425
184
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Just returned from a week at the Royal Belvedere, we had read the reviews but as always went with an open mind.

Travelled with a 3 year old and we were overall impressed with this hotel.

The restaurant had fab views over the hotel grounds and out to the sea, not mentioned in any reviews we had previously read, but worth a mention. The food was good, plenty of choice, it was busy in the restaurant, however we did eat early due to having a toddler with us.

The ground were very neat and tidy and hotel communial areas were also spotless. We had a family room and requested a sea view and a lower level room which is exactly what we got. The rooms were cleaned daily and bedding changed every other day - again no complaints.

The evening entertainment was provided by the hotel, rather than our operator, Thomas Cook, we really enjoyed the shows and our son really enjoyed the mini disco. Yes, the shows were not professional, it was aferall the reps producing and taking part in them, however we really enjoyed them.

We had a great weeks holiday, the hotels guests were a mix of English, German, Russian and Belguim familiies which to us is part of being aboard.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank igglepiggleLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I think that dependent on a couple of things determines on whether you have a great holiday or not. The first is the price. If you have managed to grab a weeks all-inclusive for between £350 and £450 you haven't got much to be worried about. Secondly, I feel it also depends on room allocation. If your lucky enough to get a room like ours with a nice sea view in a cool location you'll be laughing (ours was room 9003). Otherwise you could end up in one thats not so great (but in all fairness thats like every hotel i've ever come accross). We dropped people off to their hotels that were the same price on teletext and were very pleased we ended up in the one we did.

Hotel itself:
The Royal is almost attached to it's sister the Imperial and feels like one hotel complex. The Imperial is much newer than the Royal but that said the Royal is a reasonably good looking hotel in her own right. The hotels, grounds and pools are very clean and well maintained. I think it's around 5 or six pools you can opt for although we used the one at the bottom of the Royal as it was easy to get beds and close to our room. You have to pay for cushions for the loungers (which weren't that clean) so we bought some lilos which turned out to be a great idea. NB: Both these hotels are based on a hill and although it was not a problem for us and offered us great views, it did leave us looking at each other and promising ourselves to cut the cigarettes down.

Rooms:
Can only really speak for my own, but it was cleaned very well each day and towels and sheets were never an issue. I had 2 singe beds and a double bed which led onto the balcony and gave a great view of the sea. Everything worked well including hairdrier, shower and air-conditioning. Have fridges but no kettles.

Food and drink:
Used both the imperial and Royal to eat and drink as it really does seem like they are the same hotel. Some of the food was a bit weired (even by Russian and German Standards) but you could always find something to eat, Soups were good, fresh bread, large salad selections, rice, vegetables, meats, fish, fresh fruit desserts, the usual chips etc etc were available daily and as i've said you could always find something to eat, although I guess 2 weeks of it and it could all prove a touch samey samey. Alcohol is what it is... local greek brew. Don't expect branded drinks regardless of what colour your wrist bands is or what your brouchure told you. general rule of Thumb, 5-6 euros bottle of stella, 5-6 euros Gordons/J&B/Bacardi. Before you all start crying, if you drink enough of theirs and have a few raki's it does the trick.

Overview:
Nice hotel, good location, pleasant staff, worth the £400 we paid. Had no problem with other guests regardless of nationallity. nice place to relax....promise!

Important:
One thing I will say guys and that is.. Find out who your flying with! We were told Monarch or Thompson when I booked it originally but ended up with some awful airline called SKY WINGS. This lot make Ryan Air look like embassadors of the sky. Their planes are woeful and they relentlessly delayed by many hours if not days. I really cant express how bad these clowns are or how bad their planes are, but please believe me when I say they suck!

Room Tip: If you have mobillity problems ask for a room in the hotel. if not my room was perfectly ok. rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank RicardoBlue11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

What can I say? No in-room internet (on a working vacation -- so I'm out in the lobby where the only internet available is slow), terrible food at a buffet only, and a clump of food surrounded by ants directly outside my hotel room (which has a broken handle on the sliding glass door and linoleum pieces missing from the cheap furniture). Truly a horrible experience. The hotel staff is not helpful--and in fact the woman at the front desk is quite rude--to add insult to injury. Surely there must be better choices in the area. I would strongly suggest steering clear of this on.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Another_travelgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belvederehotels, General Manager at Royal Belvedere, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear Christine,
First I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay.
I feel sad for not managing to satisfy your wishes during your stay. Even though I personally offered you my office for your working needs, even though I called the hotel where the conference was held to help you find another room, unsuccessfully as they didn't have internet connection in the rooms, I believe I tried my best to let you pleased.
I wish you all the best and good luck in your life.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Imperial hotel is superb but the royal was not 4 star. I would give it a low 3. Food was ok but facilities were a big let down and watch out if have children cos they dont cater very well for them. A drain got blocked and poo was everywhere by the childrens pool where little children were walking, it was everywhere and they didnt clean it up. None of the pools were cleaned while we were there for 2 weeks. Crete was lovely and there are so msny beautiful hotels there but the royal belverdere is not one of them.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dimic1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.1 km away
Imperial Belvedere
Imperial Belvedere
#41 of 171 in Hersonissos
700 reviews
0.4 km away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#23 of 171 in Hersonissos
677 reviews
0.9 km away
smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Arminda Hotel and SPA
Arminda Hotel and SPA
#25 of 171 in Hersonissos
478 reviews
0.6 km away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
995 reviews
1.3 km away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Belvedere

Property: Royal Belvedere
Address: Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#47 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price range (per night): $121 - $445
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Belvedere enjoys a hill-top location at Hersonissos. Surrounded by lemon, olive and palm trees, the modern and airy rooms at Royal Belvedere are fully equipped featuring 21'' TV with satellite channels, in-room safe and mini fridge. The 7 swimming pools, the 3 tennis courts, the beach volley court, the mini golf and the gym provide many opportunities for sport and recreation. Royal Belvedere's multi-lingual animation team is ready with entertainment shows and sporting activities for all the family. It is a 4* premier property having 330 rooms in the Main Building and the Bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Expedia APAC, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Royal Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Belvedere Hotel Chersonisos
Royal Belvedere Hersonissos
Royal Belvedere Hotel Hersonissos
Royal Belvedere Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing