We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Camp and Break your Earplugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
Ranked #38 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Family Camp and Break your Earplugs”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

This place is ideal for a large group or groups of families travelling together. If you are on a couples trip, I would avoid this place.
The beach/pool atmosphere, and large tables at their cafeteria style/buffet lunches and dinner are ideal for many people to meet and eat. The resort also seems to plan parties and events for anyone interested - dances/concerts etc. that you can sign up for. Couples in need of lounging and quiet should go elsewhere.
There seems to be a lot of unwritten rules for this place that if you don't follow, you actually get spoken to as if you were a child. For example, I asked for a fork after I used the salad bar at lunch. I was told that I had to "wait for my fork when the hostess comes around." Also, I wanted to drink soda out of a can. I was told that I was not allowed to drink out of the can, only a glass (seems to be a strange hotel policy that the waitress was afraid to break). At one point we lost our key - which was an actual metal key - and which was separated from the card key that activated the electricity in our room), and we got yelled at by the bellhop because they needed the key in order to give the room to the next guest. Also, there is a five euro deposit that you have to pay the front desk to use beach towels, and no where does it say in the hotel literature that this is the case. When I inquired down by the beach, I was rudely told that this was the policy. Again, unwritten rules that you figure out when you inconvenience the staff.
The rooms are clean and basic. Ours had a drop pool outside of our room that we shared with three other rooms (again, good for groups who know eachother, maybe not to share with people who may be nice but you don't know) The hallways have no rugs, and the families with young kids start waking up early and getting to breakfast. Everyone seems to slam their door. The housekeeper starts cleaning early (8 AM), and there was no sign to put on the door (we know a couple who made one), and the housekeeper came into our room twice (the other couple - four times!).
We also were placed in a room with no air conditioning for one night - which was miserable in August. So we missed a day in Crete sleeping in the new air conditioned room (wearing earplugs).
We only had breakfast, which was okay and had many options. But, don't get there late, you get no sympathy and they pack up quick!
I understand that it was mid August and the staff was exhausted, and I'm a pretty understanding traveller, but I am still trying to wrap my head around this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavlospratsinakis, Manager at Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 28 August 2010
Dear Tripadvisor member,
We like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and for posting a review as well.
We are sorry that we did not manage to make you happy, and we hope we can explain some things to you.
Our hotel is not just for families or groups, simply in August there are school holidays and it is normal that many of our guests, as well as in other hotels in August, are families. And ofcourse we can not forbit children to come.
You mention the big buffet tables in our restaurant. We are happy we can provide to our clients a big variety of greek and international dishes, and for this we need a lot of space, and our clients really apreciate that. We also have once a week a greek evening and a dancing evening in which our clients can participate. We believe it is a service apreciated by our guests.
In our diferent restaurants and bars we serve the refreshments in glasses. This is the correct way to serve drinks and not in cans. In our snack bar we also have cans but they are for take away.
About the fork you have asked after using the salad bar the waitress said that you may sit and we will bring it to the table with knife, etc.
We offer to our guests beach and pool towels with a deposit of 5 Euros, which they get back when they finish with the towels.
We offered to you a pool sharing room without extra charge believing we could make you happy, and if you did not like it you could let us know so we could offer to you a room without pool. I am sure we could make someone else happy with that, and you as well.
Our hotel is in a very quiet area, next to the beach and in walking distance to the town. The hotel itself is very quiet, maybe a bit less in August because of young people, but it is very quiet.
We serve breakfast till 10.00, the buffet remains open till 10.15. and I am sure our staff will take care of you if you come later.
It would be nice to discuss all this during your stay here, then we could find solutions and make you happy, but it is still nice that we have the chance to explain some things to you.
We wish you all the best.

Pavlos Pratsinakis
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    208
    71
    21
    18
See reviews for
115
247
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

My spouse and I stayed there for a week with half board. The food was o.k. but not more than that. They made you buy water bottels(which is a basic thing for a hotel to give) during the meals, even with half board.
The room - A.C. didn't work well (40 degrees C), the sheets felt like glass paper.

The Best thing was the location!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMaryy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavlosCrete, Manager at Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 24 July 2010
Dear Trip advisor member,
We thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and for posting a review about our hotel.
We like to thank you for your positive comment about our food and that you have fount the location very good as well.
Concerning your comment that we make our client buy water bottles, we do not try to sell water, simply the water from the tap is not good enough for our clients, so we can not serve it.
Our clients can buy water or other drinks in the restaurant if the wish so.
About the room A/C, it is our policy to solve problems as soon as possible by the time it is mentioned at the reception desk. If it can not be fixed soon we definately propose a room change.
We have renovated all the rooms the last 2 years, including linen as well, and we receive very nice comments from our clients concerning the accommodation.
We thank you and hope to see you again in our hotel.

Pavlos Pratsinakis
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
189 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. The location is fantastic at a very quiet part of the city, with a beach just across the road. (You pay for a seat and ambrella)
The staff are very freindly and the rooms are very clean, nice and roomy.
Enter time to the rooms is 2 pm, but they gave us the room with a smile at 10:30 am.
Our deal was half board. The food was not bad but very standard, with minor changes between each day. No water - you have to pay for a bottle.
We had a rental car and enjoyd every minute on this beutifull and freindly iclend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nitzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Got the Herssonissous Maris hotel after a short bargain with the Travel Agency . When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised by the location and hotel environment. Some of the rooms have small pools attached and some have larger ones. Also the beach is across the road - so it is very convenient for those that want to enjoy the sea and sun. The food was excellent and the bread ...just marvellous! We had a 3 night stay there , travellled Crete all around and enjoyed every minute. Should do it every year ...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AvivaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

I just returened today. The hotel very nice, very clean, the room big enogh, and nice furnished.
The food was excellent , buffet breakfast and dinner. it's a perfect place for a vacation!
the private pools are very cool! hoyrl close enough to the main streets.
Linen were changed every day. shiny white and clean.
Beach is one step from the hotel great view `!. enjoyed every minute
Miss ANGALIKI in reception was very kind and helpfull. Each request fullfill immidiately.
The hotel is situated approximately 10-15 minutes walk far away from the center of Hersonissos.
The hotel has two swimming pools and some of the apartments have their own small pools
For me, it was a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rikulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.4 km away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,749 reviews
1.6 km away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#9 of 171 in Hersonissos
551 reviews
0.3 km away
Hersonissos Village Hotel
Hersonissos Village Hotel
#52 of 171 in Hersonissos
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#61 of 171 in Hersonissos
590 reviews
0.7 km away
Infinity Blue Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.7 km away
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
#16 of 171 in Hersonissos
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites

Property: Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
Address: Limin Hersonissos, P.O. Box 38, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#38 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#40 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price range (per night): $78 - $317
Hotel Class:4 star — Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hersonissos Maris Hotel Chersonisos
Maris Hotel Hersonissos
Hersonissos Maris Hotel And Suites Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing