We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD VIEW with bad service, location & infrastructure.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chariot Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Puri
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The has a excellent view & a very quite surrounding. The food was excellent. Being a 4* Hotel the price was very less. The Pool was excellent.The worst part part of the Hotel is as following-
1> Very bad access road and very inconvenient location.
2> Hotel infrastructure was very poor. Improper A/C, wardrobe ,TV & BED.
3> As got my reservations through my vacation club they provided the worst rooms. They give better rooms to the direct customers only not club members or RCI members.

Room Tip: If you are not a Club member/RCI member don't go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enjoy_Holidays1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier S, General Manager at The Chariot Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Dear Madam,

Greetings from The Chariot Resort & Spa, Puri!

Thank you for sharing the honest and candid feedback to us. Please note, as a management policy, we provide rooms depending on the category of rooms booked and availability of the room. We do not encourage different treatment to the guests having certain membership or booking directly. However we apologies if you have faced any problem during your stay and hopeful to serve you in a better way in the future.
For any assistance, please feel free to get in touch with us.

Thanks & Regards,
Olivier Spears
(General Manager, The Chariot Resort & Spa, Puri)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 279 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

Pros:
- The hotel has a very nice view of the beach, it is clean and not crowded.
- The rooms are big and clean. We had a patio from which we could see the ocean.
- The days that we managed to order food from room service, it was good.

Cons:
- The housekeeping was very inefficient. We had to call up several times to get one issue fixed. - Same with room service. The water heater provided in our room was very dirty and it stinked. We asked the housekeeping to clean it but it didn't help. So we had to order tea in morning and evening through room service. More than once I got the response 'use the water heater in the room, we cant send tea now'. Also, when we tried to order dinner using room service menu, the response most of the times was 'go
downstairs and eat the buffet'. Also, most of the items were not available from the room service menu.- There is no internet/wi-fi in the rooms. The hotel website http://www.thechariotpuri.com/ says "The entire hotel is WI - FI enabled to ensure your proper convenience and keeping all your requirements in m
ind.". Also, the huge booklet provided in the rooms says the wifi is provided for all guest rooms. But the truth is its enabled only in the hotel lobby.- We had a very bad experience with the cab that the hotel organised for our chilka trip. The driver was 1 hour late, he decided which jetty we will use to get the boat, which package we are going to buy and then took us to a very dirty place to eat. We wanted to go for the bird watching tour but he said there won't be time and bought the 3 hour dolphin ride, the boat was so slow it took forever to just reach the dolphin point. By then we realized that the driver is taking advantage of the fact that we don't know the local language, so for lunch we insisted that he take us to the tourism panthnivas, but he said
thats closed and instead took us to a very dirty and unhygienic dhaba. Complaining to the hotel desk didn't help, they just passed on the complaints to the travel desk.- The access road to the hotel is very bad. I had read this in other reviews as well but I thought it wouldn't be an issue since we would be spending most of the time on the beach and won't need to go to th
e main city much. But given the food availibity issues, we ended up going out for food most of the times which was really difficult.

Overall, I would recommend this place to people if you want to spend all the time in the beach for vacation and not very particular about the food. We were travelling with my old Dad and he had some food co
ntraints, so he can't just eat buffet or whatever the room service decided to cook that day. Also, would advice people to be careful with the cabs arranged by the hotel if you don't speak the local language

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank srimoyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier S, General Manager at The Chariot Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Dear Ms. Srimoyee,

Greetings from The Chariot Resort & Spa, Puri!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for providing the candid and honest feedback to us. We are sorry to hear the problems which you faced. Our management has taken the feedback very seriously and will certainly probe into the matter. We are hopeful to resolve the issues at the earliest and serve you again in the near future.

Thanks & Regards,
Rupanwita Roy
Manager - marketing Commuications

(On behalf of Mr. Olivier Spears, General Manager, The Chariot Resort & Spa, Puri!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Have had three groups ranging from 50 - 150 pax in the month of Dec 2011. The quality of services seem to have improved by leaps & bounds. It's the result of systematic planning & execution by the team from Absolute Hospitality Services. All of the managers are well qualified and offer very high degree of professional services. The attitude, zeal and enthusiasm displayed to keep the guests happy is exemplary. There still remains some loose ends but that is because the project is on the verge of completion.
This is the property to be on the look out for when in Puri. No second thoughts.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmergingOrissa2156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier S, General Manager at The Chariot Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Chariot Resort & Spa, Puri!

At the outset, thank you for providing the honest and candid feedback to us. We are glad to know that you liked The Chariot Resort & Spa, Puri.

It would be our pleasure to surve you again in the near future.

Thanks & Regards,
Rupanwita Roy
Manager - marketing Communications

(On behalf of Mr. Olivier Spears, General Manager, The Chariot Resort & Spa, Puri)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The resort is situated some 3-4 kms away from the city center . The approach road is bumpy and has not need repaired since the tsunami hit India.Now for the resort Itself.The lobby is good and has a view of the pool and the beach from it.The deluxe rooms are good and spacious.They have sea view as well from the balcony.The room service is good and staff is friendly.The buffet breakfast is ok.But dining at the restaurant can be a pain full job as they need at least 30-45 mins for the food to be served after the order is placed.The resort has a private beach (supposedly).The pool is good and the garden is also nice.Overall it is value for money if you want to stay away from the Husserl bushel of the city.

Room Tip: Suite rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VinayLohia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier S, General Manager at The Chariot Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Dear Mr. Lohia,

Greetings from The Chariot Resort & Spa, Puri!

Thank you for sharing the honest and candid feedback with us. We are glad that you liked your stay. However, our management has taken the room service issue very seriously and is committed to resolve the matter at the earliest.

Hope to serve you again in the future.

Thanks & Regards,
Rupanwita Roy
Manager - Marketing Communications

(On behalf of Mr. Olivier Spears, General Manager, The Chariot Resort & Spa)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The resort is extremely good, it has a beauty of its own but if the location would have been more prior it would have been a great combination of luxury and ease, the market is very far so that's a big problem.The food expenses are comparitively quite high excluding the buffet charges.Food and service are two plus points but the minus point is that they do not facilitate the ACCOMODATION OF DRIVERS which is a problem for people visiting by car.
The bridge connecting the beach and the resort is quite risky.
Surely a great place to stay and all the staffs are very cooperative,special thanks to Mr.Chintan Shah for his cooperation which made our stay more comfortable.

Room Tip: I would say to exclude platinum suites to everyone because its not worth prefer to go for amor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeepanjanDas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier S, General Manager at The Chariot Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Dear Mr. Das,

Greetings from The Chariot Resort & Spa, Puri!

Thank you for providing the honest and candid feedback with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. However, the management has taken your feedback regarding the accomodation of drivers very seriously and will surely think about it.

Hope to serve you again in the future.

Thanks & Regards,
Rupanwita Roy
Manager - Marketing Communications

(On behalf of Mr. Olivier Spears, General Manager, The Chariot Resort & Spa)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puri hotels
2.2 km away
The Hans Coco Palms
The Hans Coco Palms
#6 of 84 in Puri
396 reviews
6.2 km away
Hotel Holiday Resort
6.2 km away
Pramod Convention & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Mayfair Heritage
Mayfair Heritage
#4 of 84 in Puri
445 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel East West
Hotel East West
#25 of 84 in Puri
68 reviews
0.4 km away
Sterling Puri
Sterling Puri
#10 of 84 in Puri
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chariot Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chariot Resort & Spa

Address: | Sipasarubali, Baliapanda, Puri 752001, India
Region: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Puri
Price Range: $87 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chariot Resort & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of the Bay of Bengal and surrounded by the peaceful serenity and backwater, Aveda Chariot Resort and Spa is a unique place where you find absolute bliss! Spanning across 3.5 acres, Aveda Chariot Resort & Spa has a total of 144 rooms including The Deluxe Suite, Platinum Suites, Executive Classic, Premium Room & Deluxe Rooms. The resort is well connected to Puri city centre (7 kms from the railway station and 3 kms from the main market) and is 65 kms away from the international airport located at Bhubaneswar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Chariot Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing