We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rangoli Retreat
Nearby Hotels
USD 125*
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Radha Cottage(Matheran)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
21
58
39
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
58
39
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmatheran railway stationmajor plus pointbudget hotelroom servicemain roadincluding foodtoy traintourist pointschildren playfood servedmarket areaindoor gameslunch and dinnerpav bhajioppdudhiveg
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Matheran, a place near mumbai was our choice to take a break from hectic city life. Food of the hotel is outstanding, with good variery. Staff of the hotel is not well trained. Rooms of the hotel are in very bad condition. Only saving grace of the hotel is the Food. Other amneties are also normal. Over all not good experiance with the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank YogeshVarade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Matheran, a place near mumbai was our choice to take a break from hectic city life. To be very frank place is really nice but hotels and food is not sub standard which i feel has a reason since transportation is a mess and no vehicles allowed. I feel its a pain for all the hotels to maintain their properties. I don't know whom to blame.

We visited this hotel during off season and expected the hotel to give us a huge discount. One reading the reviews on tripadvisior we decided to got to this hotel. The first reason was it was a tiring journey to take toy train and reach all the way to top.

The hotel is placed bang opposite railway station. We reached the hotel reception and asked for the room the manager was expressionless did not even bother to smile even after paying him the advance. The manager was not ready to discount anything but on requesting number of times he discounted 100 Rs per day! The hotel rooms were just 15% occupied being weekday and off season as well.

I checked couple of rooms all the rooms had damp walls and were stinking, I managed to find a rooms which was best suitable. Since we reached at 12 noon there was no hot water to taps. I requested to provide it with bucket. But manager was adamant and simply denied on doing so !! Look how much they care!

Hotel doesn't have any view from the rooms. Rooms are just worth spending night. The walls of the rooms were stained. Bathrooms were worst and desperately need renovation.

Food in the hotel is good and has a restaurant manager who really cares for all the visitors. This was the best thing that we liked in hotel. He was very friendly and was concerned what the visitors didnt like if the food was left uneaten. The feedback was taken right away. I like that! Although fried items were repeated cooked in the same oil is what we realized . But they had good home made food with many variety.

Specifically, in the evening the DJ noise was heard through out the hotel till 10PM. It was the worst thing that happened. I don't understand why cant the disco be sound proof !!
Avoid this place if you are here for peaceful evening.

Over all a bad experience. Please find another hotel.

Room Tip: Try getting the room which gives you front view
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anup_p171283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

First the Positive-
1. Food and this includes Breakfast,lunch ,Dinner was excellent in teste ,and variety

2.Hotel is very conviniently situated,just opposite Matheran Railway Station and In main Market place

Improvement and Suggetions

1.Bathrooms are very small and Not clean.Increasing size of already exsisiting bathroom may not be in your hand but keeping it very very clean is certainly in your hand
2.Bed tea is required for most Customers for Motions in Morning.Its not a Part of package and i witnessed a quareel of a customer with hotel staff on this issue.Increase room rent by Rs 100 and give Bed tea Free.Families will Bless you.Atleast dont treat it as revenue generator and if you want to do that much bbetter way is increasing room rent by Rs 100 to Rs 200 and then offerin g Bed Tea free to customers.Atleast please dont quarrel with customer over such a small thing and respect Customer as it will ensure a repeat visit.Is cup of tea is that difficult if its ensuring satisfied customer
3.Swimming Pool is not very clean and one gets discouraged ,when one witness its present condition
4.I could see Cockroches in my bed.Please do pesticiding absolutely regularly.What is the impression any family will have of your hotel ,when they witness cockroches on beds

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHRIRT39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

I along with my wife and kid had two nights stay in this Hotel .The service was really good (especially the food) The pure veg.food(Break fast,lunch and dinner) was very tasty and was served like home. staff was cooperative and good.

Overall satisfying experience however feel that the rates can be offered still on better side.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank SHIRISH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I booked this hotel almost a week prior to my departure.
Rangoli retreat has excellent strategic location, bang in front of the railway station.
The Rooms are ok but watch out for cockroaches which might bother for faint hearted ones during showers........
The Food is very good & excellent service is what I got at the hotel.
Overall good place to be in!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrVibhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews