We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday at Richie Rich”
Review of Adamo The Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adamo The Resort
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday at Richie Rich”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Matheran is definitely a unique Hill Station for nature lovers; & somewhat adventurous. Adamo/Richie Rich Resort can be rated as an ideal resort, if one is looking for a luxurious stay. food is nice & delicious. cleanliness of the room and the resort can be rated as 9 out of 10. Location of the resort is an advantage as its located in heart of matheran.

Room Tip: Regent Deluxe is a good room for couples and Duplex villa the best choice for family accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samir83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    135
    40
    8
    15
See reviews for
146
101
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Rule # 1- Hot water is only available between 8 & 10 am. No option. Rule#2 - breakfast-lunch-dinner all are gujrati style@sweet. Book only room-prefer to eat in outside restaurants. Rule#3-Drinking water is not complementary. Get your own water bottles from market as hotel charges double rate. Rule#4-Room quality is not worth the price paid comparing any hotel within India. No option - all hotels in Matheran are of same quality. Rule#5- Book & pay your Money (through whichever mode -cash/cc/debit) at booking place example-Mumbai. If you pay in matheran via CC - 5% charged extra. Rule#6- Swiming pool water is not cleaned regularly. Dusty & hazzy water. Chlorine content was absent.

Room Tip: No Tip. Rooms are bigger in size
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sajit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

There were monkey urinating in the green pool, fungus on the walls, damp bedsheets, broken TV, inoperative intercom, and BED BUGS. And the front desk asked why we checked out a day early. This hotel is a joke!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Matheran is definitely a unique Hill Station for nature lovers; & somewhat adventurous. Adamo/Richie Rich Resort can be rated as just the above average resort, if one is looking for a luxurious stay. We had faced a booking problem over there; as our advance booking was not conveyed at the hotel, food is nice delicious gujrati lunch, & dinner is also good. Infrastructure is moderate & so are the rates too, Service is Good. Monkeys are very much over here & keeps you always alert, as if one is not aware then they may even enter the room if the door is kept open. Mobile Network is also problematic as it is not available in many networks.
Sightseeing by Horse is adventurous & costly too. You need to check out the pricing before finalizing for the horse ride. They have declared it as Eco Friendly Zone but the implementation is not done properly as at many sightseeing places; garbage & plastic waste is just lying. On the contrary, even it is ruining the progress of the centre as transportation facility is not easily available so progress is also stagnant. The present system is also very costly. Partial withdrawal is required very much and it is the need of the hour, to keep with the pace.

Apart from all these, the sightseeing is definitely worth sparing the time, but you need an adventurous mood. One should spare a minimum two days clear stay for complete fun. Center is somewhat smaller as it should be otherwise. And as the other stations, it can leave a long lasting memory for the passionate people.

Room Tip: Higher category of Rooms are suggested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArvindKotak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We went to Matheran on 31st August and came back on September 1st. I have this habit of doing a lot of research on the hotels of the place before I go. So as usual I checked out all the official websites of the top ten hotels in matheran (top ten according to Tripadvisor Reviews - very useful) and found the pictures and reviews of richie rich as per my like cause i prefer staying in newly constructed hotels. But the moment we saw the facade of richie rich we were a little horrified - it was crumbling but then we tried to put on a brave face and entered the hotel cause we had already done the booking and paid half the amount. But I tell you from the Reception onwards the hotel is well made and well-kept vis a vis the other hotels of matheran. The resort is beautifully done and maintained. But ofcourse the best attraction was our hotel room. We stayed at Regent Deluxe which is newly made and its glamourous enough and the bathroom is not only spanking clean but new and attractive too. Cause Cleanliness & Newness of the bathroom is my first criterion in reviewing a hotel. An old bathroom how-much-ever its kept clean, cannot look very clean. The decor of the restaurant is very good as well and the vegetarian thali/buffet they serve is delicious. Yes the service is quite slow, you have to keep on pestering the bell boys. but when we asked for a nail-cutter they did provide us with one. The Games room hasnt been cleaned for years. But for sure, Riche rich is the best hotel in Matheran cause husband and I checked out Usha Ascot and Byke out of curiosity as we were told a lot about these hotels. Usha Ascot has superb exteriors and reception and large rooms but looks-wise rooms are okie as they are not newly made.And Byke was a complete disappointment, the standard room of byke is awful and the resort is not well-kept at all. Moreover it had a good name and reputation once upon a time but now its crumbling. There were hardly any tourists there unlike Richie Rich which was full.

Room Tip: We stayed at Regent Deluxe which is superb but as soon as you enter check out whether TV/phone are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MeghaBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.8 km away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.1 km away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
281 reviews
16.3 km away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#223 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
15.9 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
27.1 km away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamo The Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamo The Resort

Property: Adamo The Resort
Address: MG Road, Matheran 410102, India (Formerly Richie Rich Resorts)
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price range (per night): $72 - $363
Hotel Class:3 star — Adamo The Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Adamo The Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richie Rich Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing