We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Lake Erie getaway.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Lake Erie getaway.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had a great time at the Lodge, although it was very crowded as children had Monday off for President's Day so it took a long time to check in. Otherwise, everyone was wonderful. Our beds were perfect, not lumpy, not too firm. The rooms could use a little more artwork on the walls. Also, the room doors are so heavy that we heard slamming doors constantly -- not sure how to fix that. But a good time was definitely had, thanks!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiki0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    336
    89
    27
    19
See reviews for
344
575
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Royalton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The lodge has been improved since the last time we went there. It was very clean. Service was good. They have many packages which include breakfast. There are many wineries to visit that are close. They do have a wine bus, but book it early, it fills up fast. They offer cross country skiing and snow shoeing in the winter and bikes in the summer, indoor and outdoor pool. It is right on Lake Erie with a great view.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a balcony and view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

First of all, I must disclose that I am oringially from Geneva, OHio and am very partial to the area. However, being away for 20+ years I can be subjective.

Decided to get away for a nice quite weekend and the Lodge met all our needs. Comfort, beautiful rooms (436), great staff that went over and beyond to make sure you were comfortable and all your needs were met. Even though we spent the most of the days enjoying all the wineries located within minutes of the Lodge we were also welcomed back by the wonderful lobby area with huge fireplace and many areas to sit, relax and unwind.

I am looking forward to returning for another great weekend esacape...I did not experience any areas that need updated and have no complaints to offer.

This propery is a State Lodge and sits directly on Lake Erie just moments from Geneva-On-the-Lake and an assortment of wineries. The Lodge offers massages and also a Wine shuttle service. We did not indulge in these this trip but will upon our return,

Room Tip: Higher level (Room 436 offers side view of lake) Level three and two offer balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salesmom56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfield Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Lodge at Geneva was a beautiful hotel, the staff was fantastic. The room was very nice,and we loved sitting in the lobby by the huge fireplace and just relaxing.We got the sweetheart package, we got a nice bottle of wine,two keepsake glasses and a box of chocolates, and breakfast for two at the Horizons restaurant.We plan on going back for the wine shuttles in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stomper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Going mid-week, off season is becoming a yearly tradition. If you're looking for a quiet get-away and/or are interested in wineries, this area will not disappoint! First, the lodge was clean, cozy and quiet--it almost felt like we had our own private lodge. The front desk person said Mondays-Thursdays off season are really, really slow.

Our room was clean and reasonably priced (again, an off season advantage)--nothing fancy. We were pleasantly surprised this visit to find a Kuerig 1-cup coffee maker--with enough coffee to at least get us going in the morning. We also appreciated the added touch of Bath and Body Works soaps.

The weather was unseasonably warm this trip, so we were able to do quite a bit of walking outside -- nice trail near the hotel, plus walking into town was fun, too (too bad not much on the strip was open!).

That said, there are so many wineries open this time of year that we couldn't visit them all (I think we got in 9 or 10). What's great is there's no waiting and you can talk with the winery staff about the wines! Many also serve food (from cheese plates to full meals), which is nice--especially when a mid-day glass of wine and cheese/warm bread sounds good.

Another nice trip--we've already decided we'll be back next year.

Room Tip: If you're looking for quiet, stay away from the wing with the pool/fitness facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blitzen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
12.3 km away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
11.9 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
28.3 km away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.6 km away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
12.1 km away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
0.6 km away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Property: The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Address: 4888 N Broadway, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041-7755
Region: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price range (per night): $119 - $388
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Ohio's wine country, on the shores of Lake Erie; The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake offers a beautiful setting for tasteful getaways. The Lodge features a variety of packages and seasonal rates for all travel needs, from seasonal specials and Bed & Breakfast getaways for fun filled family vacations to the Wine Country package and Two Night Wine Excursion package for romantic escapes. You can even find green friendly meeting options! With a multitude of amenities including indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, Horizons Restaurant & Lounge with outdoor seating, meeting facilities for large events and on site activities including a wine shuttle to nearby wineries, bike rentals and massage services; The Lodge offers the perfect escape in Northeast Ohio. Local attractions include 20+ wineries, 17 covered bridges and Geneva-on-the-Lake's nostalgic entertainment strip as well as Geneva State Park's beach, marina and hiking trails for outdoor adventure. Visit The Lodge today for your great Ohio getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Hotel At Geneva State Park
At Geneva State Park Hotel
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing