We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,232)
Filter reviews
1,233 results
Traveller rating
765
355
83
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
765
355
83
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews live counter jacuzzi villa indoor games hari ballal bullock cart ride f b manager magic show swimming pool village resort live music belur road superior cottage excellent experience local delicacies trees and plants the entire staff rooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 1,233 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Delayed review! I stayed 2 nights at Hoysala in Jan, I wanted something comfortable as a base to sightsee from, and it didn't disappoint. The resort is sprawling and efforts are made to keep gardens green in spite of this being a dry area. Rooms are good, the ceiling fan is powerful enough and air conditioning functional. I had the buffet in the evening, which was excellent, accompanied by live Indian classical music - some of the best I've heard - from a father and son duo.
On the negative side, bathrooms are 3* for an otherwise 4* property. Staff were a little clueless at times, resulting in waits but in the end, they came through just fine. Wifi only worked in the main area off reception - make sure you train a fan on you to keep the mosquitoes off!
I'd stay here again. It's the best available in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shila_De
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

I wish everything at this resort were as wonderful as its physical impression.

POSITIVES: The lovely, Kerala style reception building, the cordial greeting with flower leis and bindis outside, and hand towels and juice served to new arrivals in an attractive and quiet reading room with newspapers and tables, the impressive landscaped paths leading to the cabanas tucked here and there, opening to high ceilinged, quiet, large rooms, decorated with fresh flowers, and private screened porches. Very soothing environment. Very clean rooms. I also enjoyed a vigorous, hour long massage with pleasantly scented, warmed oil for R1100 (about $18). In general, I would say that construction and housekeeping are excellent.

ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT: Management would enhance the resort with some detailed attention to the following:
a) The dining room smelled strongly of insect repellant in the morning, just before breakfast. Not very appetizing, especially if management intends to move more toward organic/health eco-resort, as was told to us. The pathways smelled of it, too, throughout the day.
b) At check out, foreign guests were delayed because the machine for international credit cards did not work and the hotel had no alternative system, like PayPal. Since ALL the guests we saw were foreigners, a back up system would seem to be a logical and important implementation! We paid cash. Others were directed into town to an ATM machine. Hmmm.
c) The luncheon buffet was better than breakfast,( but lunch is extra and breakfast is included). Lunch: four dessert options, three salads, a fresh made fritter/bread station, and numerous options for Indian and western hot and cold, veg/non-veg dishes. The breakfast buffet was just OK, and inferior to three prior resorts. The omelet station forgot my (in person) order and when I sent a waiter over, got it wrong the first time, right the second time. Three fruits, two juices, fresh dosas, potatoes, tomatoes, cereals, yogurt are all options.
d) Coffee seems to be flavored with chickory, which may be fine, but Hassan is so close to famous and delicious coffee (plantations), why not feature what the region is famous for? Instead, the resort offered only fair coffee, (compared to four other recent hotel visits in Karnataka).
e) Service was variable. Some staffers were quiet, punctual, and professional. Others were loquacious and unctuous without actually offering any above- and- beyond services.
f) In our room (for a couple) we found two single beds pushed together, with separate linens. The mattresses were hard.

Concluding thoughts: Management has big plans. Some are in transition already, such as a new outdoor area being constructed. If the visionary can work with a detail oriented manager, I think this resort can live up to the beauty it already offers. In the meantime, I will think fondly of the beautiful decor and landscaping, and the fine massage.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank LK E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We visited on the way from Chikkamagaluru to Hassan for lunch. The place is beautiful with traditional architecture (earthen hut like), with greenery. You can find traditional pot maker, flute and ektara seller within the premises. Buffet lunch was excellent, though expensive. Good facilities for family and business trip.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nandinidholepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoysalavillage, Manager at Hoysala Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for Visiting Hoysala Village Resort Hassan.

We really appreciate your special comments and highlights of our beautiful Resort. We very much look forward to welcome you back to our resort in the very near future.

Warm Regards,
Team HVR


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

True to it's name, the resort takes you back to the time when Hoysala established his grand empire in this part of the country. Various little details like the naming of the properties after traditional Karnataka residential colonies, the artwork on various walls and meticulous work on sturdy wooden furniture adds a lot of character to this place.
One thing worth a mention is the ever-smiling management and the commendable Staff who made it a memorable stay. Though the property is not a huge one, the staff and the activities make sure that you're introduced to a mighty little world of traditional Hoysala Karnataka.
Very well-maintained, neat mattresses, sheets and restrooms, 24x7 hot water and a lot of nature around you. Nice place to spend with a large family group with comfortable places inside the room and outside alike for long hours of banter and games with your dear ones. On the other side, it's also offers space for a couple's getaway over a weekend.
The Food has a nice spread of traditional karnataka food mixed with North Indian and English food. At the live counter, It's Akki rotti, Raagi Rotti, Coconut chutney, Dosas, Idlis and vadas. On the buffet spread one can find North Indian gravies, rotis, naans and kilchas. The starters were fresh and crisp. I'm a hardcore vegetarian and the eggless cakes were neatly red-marked which helped me.
Overall, the food especially lunch after the long village walk and Belur temple visit was great.
the only minor thing I found amiss was the traditional Indian toiletries and shower gels - traditional pastes and powders, coconut oil and wooden combs, it would complete the already wholesome experience.
I happened to read the holy Bhagavad Gita in the room and the resort is a great place to read a book. We signed off well as a happy group of people with different perspectives.
- P.K. Sastry, Bangalore

Room Tip: Plan something around the resort by yourself - there's also a tribal village 10km away, go for it,
Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank PradeepS1589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoysalavillage, Manager at Hoysala Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valued time to share your review. We enjoy serving our Guests and are happy to hear of your overall satisfaction. Our team much appreciates your encouraging remarks. We also have taken your suggestion regarding the traditional Indian toiletries & will work on it.

It was our pleasure having you stay at our resort. Looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm Regards,
Team HVR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

True to its word, Hoysala Village Eco friendly resort is exactly what it proclaims. Beautiful landscape, the variety of trees shrubs plants never ceases to amaze you. Service quality from each and everyone of the staff is impeccable and praiseworthy! Food is also good with a wide spread but would have preferred more of local cuisine (veg and non veg both).
Cottages suites and rooms are lovely with an invigorating fragrance of lemon grass. Must visit for anyone who's looking to relax amidst nature and unwind!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank MeghanaP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoysalavillage, Manager at Hoysala Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to know that our accommodation, Food and services were up-to your expectation.

We the team at the Hoysala Village resort, value our guests and work towards providing the best services at all times to ensure a warm, comfortable and memorable stay at the hotel. Thank you for appreciating us through your wonderful feedback.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Team HVR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews