We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
39
68
46
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
68
46
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large garden great hotel to stay restaurant staff the main road front desk staff buffet breakfast food quality is good stayed for nights belur halebid stay option bangalore mangalore comfortable stay deluxe room parking space special thanks ashok ambience
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We opted for this hotel despite all the low ratings on the internet, as we did not have much choice due to last minute decision to go. But believe me, we were pleasantly surprised with our stay at Ashhoka at Hassan (24-27 Dec-2016). We never had any kind of issues reported in the internet. Probably the management has taken right steps to win back their customers and they have done excellently well.
Food was very good including breakfast. Their buffet was extremely competitively priced. For us Bangaloreans, such pricing seems to be from history!!! The staff was extremely welcoming and cordial, particularly towards children and senior members of the family. They did not mind going an extra mile for the comfort of guests. Room service and housekeeping was just excellent. What I missed most was the Bar. We were told that their license was cancelled. Hopefully this situation too will improve :-). Also the facility needs a little bit of maintenance.

Room Tip: Best rooms are the ones looking towards the lawn.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ManojS2484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
no1location, General Manager at The Ashhok Hassan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2017

Dear Mr. Manoj

Greetings of the day!!!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback, It means a lot to us!

We feel extremely satisfied to learn that you were happy with our services during your stay, appreciate your effort of communicating it back to us.

Please visit us again and enjoy “The Ashhok’s Hospitality”.

Looking forward of welcoming you again.

Warn Regards

Satyendra Narayan Sharma
General Manager
9886323996

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

This place is outdated and staff too. The bathrooms are worst. The staff is too lazy and lack basic courtesy. Food is horrible and served cold. They need to change the cook. I booked studio room but was offered standard first. Toilet has no buckets and were dirty. Also the towels and bed sheets are zillion of years old. Was very very disappointed.

Room Tip: Please check toilets before selecting the room.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank brijeshs236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
no1location, General Manager at The Ashhok Hassan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Dear Mr. Brijesh

Greetings of the day!!!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback, It means a lot to us!

We understand that you have highlighted certain areas to be focused more for delivering better experience to the guests.

We sincerely appreciate your effort of communicating it back to us and would like to assure you of taking the necessary steps to make it more guests friendly.

Please visit us again to experience the “improvements” and enjoy “The Ashhok’s Hospitality”.

Looking forward of welcoming you again.

Warm Regards

Satyendra Narayan Sharma
General Manager
9886323996

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

A calm beautiful place with lots of greenery with a small beautiful swimming pool. This was my first visit and i was not expecting much facilities from the Hotel, however it was a pleasant surprise to see a big Gym with all facilities. The best part of the Gym was the massage chair and the view from the GYM with more than 100 Bats hanging on the trees. The only shortcoming was that it is a very old hotel and inspite of best maintenance by the staff, certain descrepancies are visible, especially in the washroom. Overall, a value for money place.

Room Tip: On the back side where the view is full of greenery
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandeep306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
no1location, General Manager at The Ashhok Hassan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2016

Dear Mr. Sandeep

Greetings of the day!!!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback, It means a lot to us!

We feel extremely satisfied to learn that you were happy with our services during your stay, appreciate your effort of communicating it back to us.

Please visit us again and enjoy “The Ashhok’s Hospitality”.

Looking forward of welcoming you again.

Warn Regards

Satyendra Narayan Sharma
General Manager
9886323996

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We have been fairly regular in visiting The Ashhok Hassan since last few months for their buffet lunches and dinners. Initially what was an interesting experience, combined with nice ambiance has of late turned uninviting mostly due to callous behavior of the restaurant staff.

We noticed some of this during our past visit but put it away as a slight that happens when you have a large turnout. There were delays in service, staff was distracted and sometimes not bothered. Come to think of it, on retrospect, the high volume or even the point that it was a weekend shouldn't have mattered, as hospitality industry or should I say good restaurants, thrive on making their customers happy be it a weekday or heavy duty weekends.

The last straw was this weekend when we were denied a table even though there were visibly empty tables. I guess, us mentioning that we were there for the buffet brought out the response. Considering we have been fairly regular, say once in a 10 days, in visiting their restaurant, denying a table, or not even having the courtesy to see if they could do something about it speaks volume about how much they care about loyal, regular customers. This experience has made us reconsider ever having recommended this place to friends and family.

On a good chance that we might not visit them again, this review is to let the hotel management,which I am guessing is trying to make a fresh start, know that if you wish to build a loyal base of customers, especially with people of the town, you need to make some effort and not send regular customers with that much of an offhand approach.

If you feel that the people are being undercharged for the buffet and that you need not bother about them much, you could increase the prices and I am sure people would be happy to pay. At least don't turn them away like the way we were told to

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Shweta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
no1location, General Manager at The Ashhok Hassan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Dear Mrs. Shweta

Greetings of the day!!!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback, It means a lot to us!

We understand that you have highlighted certain areas to be focused more for delivering better experience to the guests.

We sincerely appreciate your effort of communicating it back to us and would like to assure you of taking the necessary steps to make it more guests friendly.

Please visit us again to experience the “improvements” and enjoy “The Ashhok’s Hospitality”.

Looking forward of welcoming you again.

Warm Regards

Satyendra Narayan Sharma
General Manager
9886323996

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

This was my third stay at Ashhok Hassan this year. I am still wondering the reason behind the second 'h' in it's name. It was nostalgic, even after multiple stays. Full of Flora, as usual. But continue to miss the Fauna these days except some butterflies, which were part of childhood memories. Wonder where all the Animals are relocated to.
Wonderful service from well trained staff considering the fact that it is a small town hotel. Serious reservations about inroom amenities as in the recent past. Will revisit only if confirmed that the guest rooms are completely revamped. Must confess that being born in the vicinity might have added a couple of stars in my rating.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Shashidhar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
no1location, General Manager at The Ashhok Hassan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Dear Mr. Shashidhar S

Greetings of the day!!!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback, It means a lot to us!

We feel extremely satisfied to learn that you were happy with our services during your stay, appreciate your effort of communicating it back to us and promising you of allocating the best room from the lot.

In terms of renovation, it is happening in phase manner and before going ahead with major makeover we'll be adding another 25 rooms by poolside.

Please visit us again and enjoy “The Ashhok’s Hospitality”.

Looking forward of welcoming you again.

Warn Regards

Satyendra Narayan Sharma
General Manager
9886323996
gm@hassanashok.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews