We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barefoot Scuba Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havelock Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barefoot Scuba Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed in Barefoot Scuba Resort recently for 2 days from 14th-16th July. Stayed in one of the duplex non-AC cottages and it was absolutely brilliant experience. Just 40 mtr from the sea. Excellent facility, very cordial staff members. Really enjoyed our stay there... Just one suggestion, they should add few more items to the food menu and get a bar license at the earliest. Then it'll be the perfect place :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kallol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    125
    29
    3
    4
See reviews for
79
149
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We booked this under the ill advise of it being a sister resort to the other barefoot location on the island .  We were truly disappointed when we Arrived and asked for a transfer.  This was not possible without losing your money and paying again.  Not quite what being a sister resort should be.

Let me be clear before I continue, the scuba centre was FANTASTIC! Again separate to the accommodation, but really good service for both a diver and none diver.  The trips get booked so do consider booking ahead!

Now the accommodation, there are shacks,  ac tents, 1 x1 floor cottage and 2 storey cottages.
We booked the tents, which were not ac they were 2 standing fans cooling the bed, the tent had gaps the whole way around the floor and was not secured down.  Having stayed in ac tents in Kerala they had a wall unit and were sealed!  This was a shock,! We asked for a cottage, which they advertise as cottages( no difference between 1 and 2 storey but a price gap) and were told they were available, presuming this was 500i nr more then the tent 
, asked for the upgrade, until they footed us with 2500inr bill per night, which we refused ontop of the 1900 per night we were already paying. As there is 1 cottage at the 2400 per night the rest are 4000inr plus.
The service was terrible, no smile, an issue to get extra bedding or towels ( which were dirty when we arrived!) and the security did nothing about the ongoing party a tent next door to us had for 4 nights!
A party of 10 booked 4 shacks and 1 tent and had their own party in the tent every night! It resorted to a serious compliant and threat to get the resort to do anything. When you have a 5 am dive the next morning, and your in a resort that caters to divers, you dont expect parties until 4am from none divers And the resort to do nothing!
The restaurant was horrible, greasy, unfriendly, hardly anything advertised inthe menu, unclean, and a german couple who had the prawns the same night we dined there was ill.
Never ate there again, even for breakfast.
Now, I enjoy nature, I enjoy  comfort, I enjoy the view of an amazing scenery,  a great dive, I you do too:  book the other Bare foot resort.  We ate there for 2 nights Nd were so happy with the service, people, food, location.

Barefoot scuba is not cheap, it's not a resort but it was certainly cheap and unfriendly in service for the cost we paid.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnamarieore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

A big thanks to barefoot first of all. You expect many things to go wrong during a trip like this but surprisingly, not a single thing did as far as barefoot was concerned. We were a group of 10 guys. We stayed at the A-frame huts, scuba dived, kayaked, snorkelled. Barefoot also took care of our transfers. And these things were the ones went superbly throughout the trip. A great dive team, a great place (if you can afford to spend some money, take the bigger huts, A-frame huts are amazing value for money, yes, but it's no joke staying in them) and two nice cars to take you around. And let me not forget the brilliant hospitality. We were sad we didn't spend more time at havelock actually. I can write pages, but the crux of the matter is, barefoot is a great establishment and we'd love to go back to them if we can. Oh and i'm giving 4/5 stars because 4.5 is not available here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madhav_PM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

My partner and I had a wonderful few days staying in one of the deluxe tents - think colonial chic - though we were not aware of them from their website, only from calling them. But when we arrived, we were overwhelmed by the relaxing nature of the place, nestled quietly amongst the lush wilderness. It really was a treat staying there, the staff were lovely, food and cocktails good, and of course a wee dip with Rajan, their resident and gentile elephant, early in the morning were some of the wonderful memories we enjoyed.

If ever We were to go back, we would certainly not hesitate to return to stay there.

Note: over the Sept - Feb period, the resort does book up quickly and prices hike in cahoots with demand, so book in advance.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClementineSz-Gy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
130 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed in the duplex cottage for four days...that was the best accommodation I have ever had on my travels. With the green waters just about 50 m far and a brilliant early sunrise over them, the views are truly marvelous here. Duplex cottages have the best location of the resort and the balcony is perfect to relax after diving.
Although this resort is quite far(~8kms) from the famed Radhanagar Beach, but personally I found beach number 3 to be equally good. The dive crew here is probably the best with multilingual dive instructors from all over the world. I was taken for all my dives in the small motor fitted dinghy boats, whereas other dive shops had the modern boats. I believe the reason for that could be that Barefoot takes us in smaller groups but even when we had a group of 10 divers, we went in the same small boat!!!! :-) But I would still recommend Barefoot over other dive shops in Havelock.
Only thing that I wouldn't recommend at Barefoot Scuba Resort is its restaurant which is pathetic in most of its dishes. We used to walk to the nearby Full Moon Cafe at DiveIndia to have awesome Indian Cuisine.

Room Tip: Duplex Cottages are the rooms with the best view but they are also the costliest. If you are a budge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sachindixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock Island
49.8 km away
SeaShell, Havelock
SeaShell, Havelock
#4 of 12 in Havelock Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
49.8 km away
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Havelock Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
48.9 km away
Munjoh Ocean Resort
Munjoh Ocean Resort
#3 of 12 in Havelock Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
SeaShell, Port Blair
SeaShell, Port Blair
#1 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
15.5 km away
Sea Princess Beach Resort
Sea Princess Beach Resort
#16 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
49.8 km away
Havelock Island Beach Resort
Havelock Island Beach Resort
#2 of 15 in Havelock Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Scuba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Scuba Resort

Property: Barefoot Scuba Resort
Address: Beach No 3, Havelock Island 744211, India
Region: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > Havelock Island
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Havelock Island
Price range (per night): $2 - $109
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Scuba Resort is the only 5 star PADI Istructor Development Dive Resort in the Andamans.With 4 types of rooms to suit budgets ranging from 3 Euros per day to 50 Euros per day,this resort has always been renowned as a melting pot of Havelock where you get to interact with a wide variety of fellow divers & travellers.Also famous for Cafe Del Mar the oldest and best known restaurant at Beach No.3. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing