We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
36
7
1
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
7
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiche coffee cake fresh fruit red eagle romantic getaway lake erie this past weekend within walking distance wineries winery privacy checkin loft comfort
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My husband and I went on an anniversary trip overnight. We stayed in the Annie Harper Room, and had a wonderful time! This room was totally affordable and the care that was taken was fantastic! The room was ultra clean, and the breakfast in the morning was outstanding! Because the Annie Harper Room does not have an eating area inside their room, you eat in the common area. I loved it that no one ate with us. We had the whole common area to ourselves! Waiting for us first thing in the morning was homemade quiche, and beautiful homemade pastries like scones and blueberry streusel, along with bagels, fresh fruit in parfait glasses, orange juice for each room, cereal, coffee, and tea. The owner also let us know that there was popcorn that we could pop if we wanted a snack at night!

When we arrived, there was a sign on the door that said to go next door to register. This is the owners' home. We arrived, and the owner was very kind and full of information. She checked us in and gave us our keys. You get two keys, one is the front door and one is your room key. The front door is locked, so it is secure. There are only 3 rooms in the Polly Harper which is nice too. When we walked in, it felt so welcoming and inviting. There is soft classical music playing when you walk in, and soft lights are on at all hours in the common areas.

I just can't say enough about the care that the owners take to make this a great stay. Please don't pay attention to any negative reviews on here. It was a fantastic stay and I have not one complaint. Clean, Friendly, Plenty of Fresh Homemade Food, and tons of care have gone into making The Polly Harbor a wonderful place to stay!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marchellabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The rooms and setting of this B&B are simply lovely! The Inn sits right on a beautiful vineyard on a country road. It is peaceful, quiet, and very cozy! Another great feature is that it is literally a 30 second drive down the road to the BEST winery in Ohio, South River Winery! The Inn keeper does not serve breakfast in the morning, rather, they leave a variety of food out on a tray and in the refrigerator labeled with your name. You just help yourself to pastries, fruit, cereal and quiche, which you warm in the microwave. The upstairs guest rooms are both very spacious and tastefully decorated with country charm! The location of this B&B is truly special with the surrounding vineyards.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Beautiful, unique inn: absolutely spotless, well appointed, extremely quiet with LOTS of privacy and in a wonderful setting conveniently located to all of the wineries. One negative: breakfast was delicious and ample, but they had a very unusual set up for serving-it was pick up your own in the kitchen and take it to your room (and heat up your own quiche). We also had only one coffee filter in our room: since we made coffee the night before this was an issue in the morning as we could not find extras anywhere. We hated to call the innkeeper for such a simple, but to us, irritating oversight. The in room jacuzzi was very nice, and the water pressure and temperature fabulous. Room temperature was also easy to regulate; towels and linens vey soft and bed very comfortable. We were surrounded by grapevines and beautiful flowers.

Room tip: I don't think you could pick a bad room in this inn!
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyonabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The Polly Harper Inn could not be any more perfect for visiting the area wineries. The innkeepers are very cordial and unobtrusive. The rooms are immaculate. The breakfast is wonderful. Breakfast is left downstairs in the morning by the innkeepers (they live on property in a separate house). We had quiche, fresh fruit parfaits, bagels and various sweet rolls. You can eat in the common area or take it up to your room. We will definitely stay here again AND recommend to our friends!

Date of stay: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TinaP71688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Polly Harper Inn on the first night of our 20th anniversary getaway! What a beautiful place! Sue greeted us when we arrived and showed us to our room..The Polly Harper Room was divine! Spacious, remarkably decorated, it was just perfect for our celebration! The gas fireplace in the room was lovely for the chilly, rainy night and the whirlpool tub was beautiful. The eating area off the bedroom was perfect for our meals (we stayed in!). The 27 step staircase to the top of the Polly Harper tower was lovely at night. The lighting (candles in each window, nightlights along the stairs and lights in the trees on the property) is a wonderful touch. We happened to have the entire house to ourselves. Breakfast was delicious...quiche that we just popped in the microwave, fruit, scones, bagels, pecan rolls, coffee, juice. We took ours back to our room to enjoy at our private table overlooking the grape vineyards. As others have stated, if you are looking for interaction with the owners or other guests, probably not the palce for you....but that is NOT what we were looking for and we were not disappointed in the least! We will most certainly be back.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews