We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs help but OK (on 1st floor).” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Needs help but OK (on 1st floor).”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

The other reviews are pretty accurate. This is an older hotel and shows signs of significant wear. Price + indoor pool is only selling point. Stayed on the 1st floor to avoid smoke smell, that said, our room still had a mild stale vs smoke smell. Fixtures all pretty beat up- sink and tub cracked, cushions stained, pull out sofa mattress had completely fallen apart. Walls thin. Staff seemed as tired as the furnishing, but nice.
But this had the only indoor pool (also shabby) in the $ range & thus the kids love it. Sheets and towel were fine.
Red roof needs to seriously consider if they want their brand to be associated with this below average quality or buck up for a serious facelift.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TundraDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    88
    59
    44
    24
See reviews for
109
49
24
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I stayed here one night on a business trip to Lorain. The hotel was clean, inexpensive and convenient to my destination. That is all I can say on the positive side. Service at the desk was workmanlike. Elevator was sloooow. The room I stayed in looked a bit lived in. Paint on the walls looked tired. Furniture had been taken out so there was a significant open area where a sofa should have been. TV was an older CRT model with only fair quality. The bed was OK but the pillows were a bit overfilled and not comfortable. The bathroom counter space was very modest. Water pressure in the showers was very low for hot water. The breakfast was not very good. Coffee was lukewarm and not tasty. Selection of other foods was spare.

I would consider this place if price is your main decision point. But with a half-dozen other places right in the same area, you might want to consider an alternative.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boston_T_Party
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Elyria hotels

Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

When I first entered the hotel, I noticed the TripAdvisor "Recommended" sticker, pasted on the front door! And I must say that this is one of the best properties in Elyria.

I've stayed in this hotel before, and I was pleasantly surprised at all the nice upgrades that were added. The Fitness Room has a small Flat-Screen TV, and some nice, new exercise equipment. The Lobby has a new computer, for guests to use, with a new monitor mounted on the wall. And the hotel has a beautiful new glass elevator.

Overall, the Lobby decor is very colorful, modern, and quite stunning. I also liked the room upgrades--new shower/bath tub, new blue carpet, new work station, and new blue desk lamp. The closet is small, however, I liked the new luggage nook/seat at the bottom of it.

They should have upgraded the TV, the cable system, the Comforters, and linens. The TV is a bit outdated, but the picture was clear. And there were not a lot of Cable Channels to surf through. Also, the Comforters and linens are old.

After being in our room, for over an hour, we noticed that the heat was not working properly. So we called the Front Desk. Someone came to check out the Heater/AC, and told us to switch rooms (to the one next door). Needless to say, that was very inconvient. Our new room was nice, except for the unsturdy toilet seat.

I enjoyed my stay, for the most part, but I was very disappointed with the Breakfast Buffet. There were no waffles or yogurt. The coffee and the orange juice were watery, and horrible. We had to wait a long time for the Hostess to bring out hot water for tea. And there were no "standard" hot food breakfast items on the buffet--such as oatmeal, meat, and scrambled eggs.

The Breakfast was served near the Swimming Pool area, and the buffet only contained hard boiled eggs, orange juice, milk, cheap donuts, bagels, apples, oranges, coffee, corn flakes, and sugar coated cereal.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClevelandCavalette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

The entire place reeks of cigarette smoke, even the lobby. We were supposedly on a smoke free floor but someone lit up on the other side of the wall and it seemed like I was smoking in bed. Even the bathroom stunk of smoke; must have been the vent. I called the front desk at one point to ask if our room was smoke free and supposedly the head house keeper was going to check out the source of the smoke. Nothing happened. Breakfast was pretty terrible - artificially flavored strawberry muffins (although a hard boiled egg is pretty indestructible) and there was only a very thread bare blanket on the beds, and faintly stained sheets. The hotel is located right across a major highway from a mall, but you can't cross the road and walk there because it's fenced off! Oh, and there's a sex-toy store right next door to the hotel. I would give this place a pass.

Room Tip: don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I reserved a room online and the room we were in was a smoking and a king bed. The room I reserved online was to have a king with sleeper sofa and will take the hit on reserving a smoking room....I hate it when I make mistakes. However, we had our confirmation printed off and it was clear that I had reserved a king with a sleeper. The staff member said their online system gave her the wrong information. After a few minutes of waiting as she checked another available room, we were able to move into a 2 double bed room, and thankfully, non-smoking. The entire 2nd floor must be a smoking floor.

The room certainly has a minimalist theme and the desk lamp was missing a bulb (no, I didn't report, didn't use it). Free internet was nice with easy and fast connection. Bathroom was very tiny, worn, but on appearances was clean. Small work area and TV were in room, along with a small chair with no side table.

Breakfast was free and included muffins (including English), bagels, donuts and 3 types of cereals. A few pieces of fruit were available, but did not look appealing. The two toasters that were available were creating a jam up at the breakfast area and did not work all that well. The muffins, toast, and bagels come out of a refrigerator, so they were cold, hard, and not tasty. Cereal was okay - rice crispies, fruit loops, and corn flakes.

The hotel is conveniently located off the interstate and I walked over the overpass and walked around a rather large mall parking lot for exercise.

As frequently happens, you get what you pay for and rarely more.

Room Tip: Avoid 2nd floor if a non-smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FernePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elyria
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#3 of 11 in Elyria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elyria
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cleveland/Sheffield
16.1 km away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Westlake
8.0 km away
Days Inn Amherst
Days Inn Amherst
#1 of 2 in Amherst
3.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria

Property: Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria
Address: 621 Midway Blvd, Elyria, OH 44035-2443
Region: United States > Ohio > Elyria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Price range (per night): $74 - $99
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in Northern Ohio between Ohio Turnpike I-80 and Ohio I-90. We are located between Geauga Lake and Cedar Point Amuzement Park. We are 25 minutes from downtown Cleveland which is home to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, Quicken Loans Arena (home to the Cleveland Cavaliers), Progressive Field (home to the Cleveland Indians). Cleveland is also home to the Horseshoe Casino and the Cleveland Aquarium. We are also only 15 minutes from Oberlin College. While at our exit there are many sit-down style restaurants, shopping mall and movie theater. Hotel offers: indoor swimming pool, fitness room and continental breakfast. Hotel also has WiFi, 24-hr coffee station and a computer for guests use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn And Suites Cleveland - Elyria
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria Hotel Elyria
Red Roof Inn Elyria
Elyria Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing