We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, will do for a night or two”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North
Ranked #113 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Ohio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fine, will do for a night or two”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We live about an hour and half away from Columbus, but when we want to stay overnight we generally stay here as it is close to the best restaurant in town: Otani. The condition of the rooms vary greatly, some or immaculate, some a bit worn. But for the price, it is serviceable and just right for a night or two.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alykaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawthorncolumbusgm, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear alykaye,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hawthorn Suites Columbus - North. We are glad that you are a loyal customer with us. We are constantly updating as much as possible to improve our facilities for our guests. We hope to see you on your next visit to the Columbus area!

Thank You

Sarah Owens - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    215
    272
    234
    275
See reviews for
468
188
71
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I have stayed at this property many times.

Each room has its own set of problems it seems. Pretty run down but has the apartment style rooms so if you enjoy a bigger room, this place is for you.

Close to shopping and many attractions.

This stay I had no issues to note. Nice hot breakfast as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prettipinkprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawthorncolumbusgm, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear PrettiPinkPrincess68,

Thank you for your posting from your recent stay with us at the Hawthorn Suites Columsbus - North. We are glad to hear that you stay with us frequently. Please be sure to make us aware if you have any issues with your rooms, as we will insure that they are taken care of. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Thank You

Sarah Owens - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here on Valentine's Day. We were greeted with friendly staff and they even upgraded us to the 2 bedroom suite. It was amazing. It was very cleaned and had no problems. We did have the breakfast in the morning and it was very good. It had a nice variety of items and hot food also. We will be coming back here the next time we decide to take another outing in the Columbus area. Thank u for a amazing time away.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenn72k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawthorncolumbusgm, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Jenn72K,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hawthorn Suites Columbus - North. We are so happy to hear that we could help in making your Valentine's Day a memorable one. We hope to see you on your next visit to Columbus.

Thank You
Sarah Owens - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Hotel room was very huge, very spacious.. Employees were very friendly and helpful... Value for money.. A whole kitchen not kitchenette with plates.. i def shall return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawthorncolumbusgm, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Jay S.,

Thank you for your posting about your recent stay at the Hawthorn Suites Columbus - North. We are glad to hear that you will be returning and become a loyal customer. If you aren't already a member, Wyndham Rewards may benefit you to sign up. It is our rewards program for all Wyndham brand hotels and you can collet points on each stay at one of our properties towards free stays or gift cards to many different merchants. Thank you again for your comments we look forward to seeing you when you return to Columbus!!!

Sarah Owens - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On The Road
Level Contributor
152 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I have reviewed a good number of properties, and the moment I unlocked the door to my room, I said to myself - How in the world am I going to review this property?

The property is a little hard to find - you can see it from the interstate, but it's down a side road, so my GPS put me on Zumstein Dr - but it didn't take me TO the property, I found it after assuming that it was further down the road.

Upon arriving, looking at the outside of the hotel I asked - What did I get myself in to?

The property is an old Residence Inn by Marriott - it was Marriott's first concept for an extended stay property. It almost feels like a timeshare resort when you pull up. The welcome I received from another guest was the first indicator that this would be an overall odd experience - "Can I have a cigarette, buddy?" - Uhhhh - yeah, I don't smoke.

Very tiny lobby some basic food and drink items available for purchase in the shop in the lobby.
Along with some personal care items locked with a chain in a glass case.

The young lady that checked me in was very busy - but she was very polite and checked me in very quickly, explained how to navigate the property - and I was on my way.

The hotel is built like an apartment complex - there are 1st and 2nd floor rooms, no elevators to 2nd floor rooms. So, if it rains or snows - you're walking from the parking area in the rain or snow.

All around the resort you can see why Marriott would have sold the property - it is in rough shape. The steps up to my room on the 2nd floor were crumbling - and the wood landings were less than well maintained (peeling paint, over-sprayed blue spray paint outside the door)
Some of the sidewalks were crumbling, and the building exteriors weren't very fresh in appearance.

I had reserved a Queen Bed Studio room - I was upgraded to a suite - 2 br - 2 ba - kitchen, fireplace, and living room. As soon as I walked in I was hit with cooking odors (fried onions) - not a pleasant smell!

The upstairs bedroom is loft-style, with a double bed (it looked like a double anyway) - and the master bedroom had a king bed. Since it was just me, I slept in the master bedroom, and the bed was very comfortable. The chair and sofa in the living room were very well used and broken down. The seat back of the chair was almost completely collapsed, and the arms were very stained and dirty looking. The sofa was VERY uncomfortable, very sagged in the center.

Overall - was the resort clean? Reasonably. I say reasonably because the surfaces, bathrooms, linens (except for a cigarette burn on the bed runner), carpets, draperies, and walls were all clean. Were they spotless? No, but they had been cleaned - and the carpets and window coverings are all fairly recent replacements.

Overall the units are dated and in need of maintenance - the secondary lock on my door was broken.

The area seems very prone to vehicle break-ins, and they make sure to collect your vehicle information at check in. The hotel is near the end of a dead end access rd.

At one time this property was amazing, you can tell that it was cutting edge in the extended stay business when it was built. It is still a nice property.

Would I suggest this property to someone else? It totally depends on what you are looking for. If you are OK with a great value priced hotel that is a little rough around the edges - then by all means, this property offers an excellent value!
If you are a very picky hotel guest and totally freak out when something isn't as clean as it would be in your own home... then this property would not be a good match for you.
If you are looking for a temporary long term corporate rental on a limited budget, this property provides a great price and plenty of space for the price paid.

The accommodations are clean, comfortable, and livable. However, don't expect the same type of accommodations that you would find at a Homewood Suites or a Candlewood Suites.

I only stayed for one night for an overnight through traveling through the area - but it met my needs, was very easy on the budget, and they did upgrade me to a huge suite! I can't lie, I wanted to go buy a couple fire logs and enjoy the fireplace - it was snowing during my stay.

The free wi-fi worked well, there is free breakfast but I didn't take the time to stop into the gatehouse for breakfast.

If you aren't incredibly picky when it comes to hotels, give this property a shot - as I rated, it is an average property - nothing stellar.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank admit_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawthorncolumbusgm, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Admit_it,

Thank you for your detailed review of the Hawthorn Suites Columbus - North. We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience with other travelers. We hope to see you on your next visit to the Columbus area.

Thank You

Sarah Owens - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#80 of 143 in Columbus
309 reviews
18.7 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus West
0.2 km away
Extended Stay America - Columbus - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbus/rickenbacker
3.6 km away
Ramada Columbus Polaris
Ramada Columbus Polaris
#63 of 143 in Columbus
812 reviews
19.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Suites
BEST WESTERN Suites
#22 of 143 in Columbus
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North
Address: 6191 Zumstein Drive, Columbus, OH 43229 (Formerly Residence Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Price range (per night): $96 - $131
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North hotel is conveniently located off I-71 with easy access to I-270. Our pet-friendly hotel is near Magic Mountain Fun Center and provides all the amenities of home. We are perfect for a weekend getaway or an extended stay. Wake up each morning to our free hot breakfast while reading a free USA Today. Look up nearby attractions with free WiFi, and enjoy a refreshing swim in our heated outdoor pool. Each spacious suite comes equipped with a full kitchen and sofa bed. We also have a convenience store, onsite laundry facilities, and accessible suites. Our hotel is just four miles from miniature golf, go-karts, and arcade games at Magic Mountain Fun Center. We are just eight miles from Ohio State University, where you can tour the campus or catch an exciting OSU football game. Spend the day at Columbus Zoo and Aquarium, just minutes away. The Columbus Museum of Art and German Village are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Columbus, Zumstein Dr Hotel Columbus
Hawthorn Suites Columbus
Columbus Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Columbus North Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing