We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, warm and friendly B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harrison House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 19 Columbus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
northern NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming, warm and friendly B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We recently returned to Harrison House Bed and Breakfast in Columbus Ohio, to the warm welcome of owner Lynn Varney. Not only is the house a gorgeous Victorian (on the national register), but Lynn is exceedingly gracious and helpful. She had great suggestions for things to see and do in the area and I never felt awkward showing up in her kitchen to ask a question. In contrast to houses where I felt afraid to touch anything, she created a very comfortable and home-like atmosphere. And the other reviewers' comments about the breakfasts are all true.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwayslatenorthernNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrisonhouseohio, Owner at Harrison House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
I always enjoy return visits by guests...time to catch up on past events...enjoy a cup of tea or glass of wine together...looking forward to your next visit...warmest regards, Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    16
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
40
64
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Lynn is genetically engineered to run a B&B. Warm, welcoming, funny, engaging, but not intrusive. The location is terrfic, the place is very well kept.

But the reason I'll go back is the bacon. Wow. great bacon. Waking to coffee and bacon is the ultimate luxury.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrisonhouseohio, Owner at Harrison House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
hahahaha! Bob I KNOW you loved the bacon and I enjoyed having you and your lovely wife as guests! Hope to see you again after I have gone for my 25,000mile automaton tuneup! Hugs to you both, Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Lynn, the owner, is a wonderful hostess and you can tell she loves her work. She created a breakfast left you completely satisfied, fruit is tasty and fresh cooked eggs and meaty bacon. I recommend this BnB if you are staying in Columbus. It's clean, comfortable and I felt completely at home while there.

The house has a great history, is centrally located near the university with a few bars and restaurants within walking distance too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrisonhouseohio, Owner at Harrison House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Awesome meeting you and chatting...looking forward to a future visit. Thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Recently stayed at the b&b when visiting Columbus for a conference. Nice location, very close to downtown and all the nice restaurants. The stay was very comfortable and the room was very spacious. The breakfast was great. Lynn made all the breakfast herself and made sure all the dietary requirements were met. She also gave great suggestions for restaurants. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanotechusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrisonhouseohio, Owner at Harrison House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Harrison House is a relaxing place to stay for business...glad that you found us! Thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

The house is beautiful, the room was comfortable, breakfast was outstanding (so were Lynn's cookies!) and Lynn is warm and friendly and funny.
I'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.9 km away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#3 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.1 km away
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
1.7 km away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#8 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
2.1 km away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#5 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrison House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrison House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Harrison House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 313 W 5th Ave, Columbus, OH 43201-3111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price range (per night): $173 - $226
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the comfort of Harrison House Bed & Breakfast, your “home away from home” during your visit to Columbus, Ohio. Whether on business or vacation, you'll arrive as a guest and leave as our friend! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harrison House Hotel Columbus
Harrison House b&b
Harrison House Bed & Breakfast Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing