We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Welcoming

As a traveler staying in a hotel across the street, I was so grateful to have a church in which to... read more

Reviewed 20 August 2018
522travelers
,
Fairview, Tennessee
via mobile
Bigger than expected

Delightful gothic cathedral with all the special statues and artwork and lighting that exemplifies... read more

Reviewed 11 August 2018
Patrick D
,
Louisville, Kentucky
Read all 58 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Cleveland
from USD 26.00
More Info
from USD 65.00
More Info
from USD 58.00
More Info
from USD 42.00
More Info
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
38
13
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
13
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday mass across the street choir architecture diocese sandstone meditate pray statues holy treasure
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

As a traveler staying in a hotel across the street, I was so grateful to have a church in which to meditate on Sunday. I watched people coming and going in all different styles of dress. I knew we would be welcomed. The cathedral is beautiful, but even more beautiful was being with others in the unity of worship.

Thank 522travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

Delightful gothic cathedral with all the special statues and artwork and lighting that exemplifies the glory of God in the house of God. Friendly feel, and it opens up to a bigger inside than the front indicates.

Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Having a cathedral right in the heart of downtown is both convenient and uplifting. We always take any out-of-towners to see our cathedral.

Thank comfortnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Walked by this on our way down to the ballpark so we stopped in. Can't say we were impressed but if the weather is hot, it is cool to sit and reflect.

Thank Anonymous855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Worshiped here at the 8 am mass. There is no doubt the Holy Spirit is alive and well at St. Johns. The cathedral is just amazing.

Thank quay55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This is a really lovely church, and there is a regular 5:30 pm Mass. There's a parking lot right behind the church.

Thank Eleanor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Please visit this beautiful landmark that is also the main church of the diocese. The Liturgical staff, church staff and ushers make you feel most welcome. The 12:15 Sunday Mass is our favorite. If you live in the area you may want to make this your parish. If you are just visiting the Cleveland area stop in for daily/Sunday mass or just stop in to pray.

Thank Tims315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Popped into the Cathedral as we were walking by . Grateful the Door was unlocked . Stunned by the beautiful Christmas display . So calm and peaceful .

Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Absolutely stunning inside. Everything you would expect a cathedral to be. The staff were helpful with history and trivia. Don't miss this.

Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Was interested to see this cathedral built of sandstone as I had just seen at two Missions in San Antonio. This is not quite that old, built in 1852, an historical architectural treasure for Cleveland. Saw this on my way from visiting the Mather Mansion on Euclid Ave. of the former Millionaires Row (which I learned about from a previous visit to the Hay-McKinney Mansion at the Western Reserve Museum) out to see the mansions in Shaker Heights.

Thank Sightsee_Eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews