We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Love This Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glidden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glidden House
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Rocky River, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We Love This Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We are Clevelanders who enjoy experiencing what Cleveland has to offer. We have stayed at the Glidden House twice now and have loved it both times. It's nestled in the heart of University Circle which offers so much culture and wonderful restaurants to enjoy all wihin walking distance.

This boutique hotel is absoutely lovely. It's rich in history and has a wonderful, old-world charm about it. The rooms are comfortable and extremely clean. The staff is exceptional as they are very helpful and quite honestly, couldn't be kinder! It is such a pleasure to have all these smiling faces greeting us throughout our visit!

One of our favorite things to do is after exploring what the area has to offer is to grab a nice dinner then head back to the Glidden House for a nightcap at the bar. Because this is not a large hotel chain where people are coming and going day and night which can make it feel crowded, you can actually sit at the bar or on a comfortable sofa or chair, enjoy a cocktail and conversation with other guests and the bartendar while enjoying the calm and quiet around you. It is the perfect way to end a lovely day before heading up to the room to enjoy a peaceful, comfortable night of steep! In the morning, you can enjoy a delicious breafast buffet that you can eat in the dining room or the privacy of your hotel room.

We are already looking forward to our next Cleveland Getaway at the Glidden House. We appreciate the hospitality and the beauty this hotel and its surroundings has to offer!

Angela B. (Rocky River, OH)

Room Tip: The suites are lovely and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    172
    42
    20
    16
See reviews for
136
254
33
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
OHIO
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

They get all the details right. They treated us right on another great anniversary visit.
Clean, prompt, polite service. Great location amid museums and beautiful architecture in the University District. This is a special place. We recommend the suites, but the king rooms are great, too. Complimentary breakfast is especially good...much more than a continental.

Room Tip: Recommend the original part of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leinie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband and I went to see the Cleveland Orchestra for our 20th anniversary and we choose to stay at the Glidden House. The property is beautiful and we were lucky enough to stay in one of the suites. The hotel is a tasteful combination of original old world charm with touches of Boutique Hotel. All the staff supplied us with wonderful guest service throughout our stay. You can have breakfast by the fire or in the garden room. Breakfast was average, could use a little work. All went above and beyond to make our stay special. We loved the University Circle area and because of it's convenience we could walk to Severance Hall , the museums, restaurants and Little Italy . Never had to get in the car once. Great Restaurants nearby , we ate at Sergios(next door) and L'Albatross (.5 block) , would recommend both. (Make sure to make reservations) Definately walk down to little italy to Presti's for cappucino and a pastry. Thank You Glidden House. You only celebrate your 20th once and we are glad we chose you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

The Glidden House has a certain rustic charm and is well located. But the rooms are small and have poor climate control (it's hard to get them to the right temperature) and the breakfast was probably the worst I have ever had at a hotel (or almost anywhere), which is saying something. I expected better. It's unclear if it's worth the premium.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funkyfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I reserved one suite and one room through their website. Although I received email confirmations for both rooms, the reservation for a room had been lost before we arrived. Luckily rooms were still available. When we got to the "Suite" we were disappointed to be in a regular room. We were moved upon complaining. The rooms were FREEZING! The thermostats had been set to 60 and it took a long time for the rooms to reach a comfortable temperature. We could easily hear our noisy neighbors through the paper-thin walls. On the positive side, the breakfast was lovely and the downstairs of the inn was fun to roam around.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank CZProvidence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
7.1 km away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
7.0 km away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
7.4 km away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
7.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
6.7 km away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House

Property: Glidden House
Address: 1901 Ford Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106-3923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price range (per night): $231 - $456
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer.The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Glidden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing