We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
Wonderful views, Chianti and Prada on your doorstep
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wonderful views, Chianti and Prada on your doorstep
Sun-loungers, shaded sitting area and dining table below the chestnut tree. Your huge terrace! The sitting room has everything you could need. TV, DVDs, books, guides, music ... everything
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Wonderful views, Chianti and Prada on your doorstep
Sun-loungers, shaded sitting area and dining table below the chestnut tree. Your huge terrace!
The sitting room has everything you could need. TV, DVDs, books, guides, music ... everything
The indoor dining room - it's there if you need it but you'll spend all your time on the terrace
The kitchen is superbly equipped. For instance coffee lovers will find Gaggia, moka & French press!
This is the 'cantinetta' of organic local wines for sale at 4-5 euro a bottle
This is the welcome pack for every guest. It's a full fridge!!
The bedroom is air conditioned
The bathroom has a large bath tub and a shower
The view from the terrace as the sun sets
A glass or two of wine as the sun goes down
The village shop at Moncioni
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Moncioni, Montevarchi, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrsFinger
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Simply wonderful”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at Podere La Rota. It was everything we hoped for and more. The house is authentically Tuscan but spacious and excellently equipped. We especially loved the sun terrace that looks out over a valley of olive groves and woodland. We spent most evenings watching the sunset over the valley drinking local Chianti (stocked in the house to purchase for next to nothing). The photos just couldn't do it justice. The owners looked after us brilliantly (and discreetly). The welcome fresh food package was to die for and kicked us off as we carried on. There is lots to do and explore nearby and Siena and Florence are less than hour away. It was clear from the "house book" that lives in the house and is added to by guests that lots of people make Podere La Rota a regular destination. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning sun terrace
Liked least: Rugged driveway!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strawberr...
Chorley
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Blissfully relaxing”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Podere la rota is ideally situated in the triangle of Florence, Sienna & Arezzo and so makes a great base to explore from. There is a wealth of information from past guests in a file kept within the property with great suggestions for eating out and touring around.

The welcome pack gave us a ready made lunch with cold meats and bread for a couple of days, and the cakes Ally brought round on the morning after our arrival fattened us up no end! We were also taken to a lovely restaurant (la Buca di Ipo ) in Montevarchi for pizza one evening by Bob & Ally, which we returned to later during our stay.
A word of caution; don't do as we did and call in at the big coop in Montevarchi to stock up on arrival if it's a Saturday-pure hell. If the welcome pack isn't enough to keep you going for a couple of days then there are other smaller supermarkets open on Sundays as well as the local shop in Moncioni (5 minute walk).

I was slightly apprehensive at the mention of a dog, Livia, prior to our arrival, having had unwelcome experiences with dogs in the past, however I needn't have worried. She's not at all in your face, but likes to sit outside keeping guard and chasing off the wild boars that feed off the land. (Unfortunately we never got to see any, but did see a couple of deer one morning). If you head out for a walk, Livia will join you and I welcomed her company whilst out jogging.

The cottage itself if incredibly well stocked with all the cooking utensils you could wish for, including olive oil produced on site and house wine for sale in the kitchen. My husband enjoyed his morning coffee so much, that he now wants to buy himself a machine like the one in the cottage! There is quite a selection of dvd's, a drawer full of games and an iPod docking station. The property is detached, bar a small connecting tunnel, so there's no worries about being disturbed.

The weather was fairly mild at the end of October when we stayed there, so we had many a cosy night in the lounge in front of the log burning stove, sipping Chianti! I would recommend taking your slippers though as the floors are mainly tiled.

The lack of noisy neighbours from other holiday guests, the blackout shutters in the bedroom and the views from the terrace makes for the most idyllic and restful holiday you could wish for, and we have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

We wish we back there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albev34
Bp Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A hidden gem.”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How lucky were we to find this gem, this was our first rural and cultural holiday instead of our usual Spanish beach holiday and we were wondering how it would go, we needn't have worried, owners Bob and Ally make sure you have everything needed to have a brilliant stay at this stunning, peaceful and rustic paradise.
From an amazing and lavish welcome pack to racks of home produced wine, trays of sunday cakes to loads of great advice its plain that here we have a couple that don't take your money and run but really really want you to enjoy La Rota as much as they do, just top quality service.
The well appointed and cosy house itself was great, nestled among olive groves and allsorts of other fruit trees on a wooded hillside from which we spent many fantastic days on the ample terrace admiring the views across the valley and the wildlife around La Rota helped by our canine friend Livia who usually informed us of any visitors.
The location was really everything to wish for, very secluded off a dirt road along from from a hilltop hamlet up in the Chianti countryside surrounded by countless vineyards, olive groves and orchards and so so quiet, yet making day trips to Florence and the other attractions very easy.
we look forwards to returning as many others do, the full guest books bears testament to that.
10 / 10.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and tranquility.
Liked least: Mosquitos
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg N
Oceanside, California
1 review
“The Perfect Place, The Perfect Vacation”
Reviewed 18 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This was simply the best vacation we have ever been on. Not that a trip to Italy doesn't come with high expectations, but the quality of the accomodations at Podere la Rota combined with the proximity to so many destination spots in central Italy made this a series of memories that my wife and I will never forget. We truly fell in love with this little slice of paradise.

The cottage itself sits on the property of Bob and Ally who run Summer Leases. They were there to greet us, show us around and get us acclimated to the area. They also have a beautiful dog Livia that also comes to visit each morning and evening.Bob and Ally are truly wonderful people. I had read this repeatedly on other reviews and am very happy to share the same. We had one of those moments (flat tire in Siena) and Ally helped us find a tire repair shop in Montevarchi and translated for us to get the tire repaired. That sort of treatment doesn't happen at many places you pay much more money to stay at. Not to mention the wonderful food and treats that were waiting for us once we arrived. The house has everything that you need (including a blues/jazz cd collection that should be played during the entire stay). We listened to music, reviewed photos from the days events, and drank large quantities of the local wine from the fully stocked wine rack. Cheap and delicious. The views from the porch of the surrounding villages and olive groves are spectacular. I would wake up early to see the deer walking across the lawn. Incredible. And at night, we would walk into the little village of Moncioni for a couple of beers at the little bar and listen to the locals speak Italian.

The only thing I wish we would have done differently is actually spend more time at the cottage relaxing and taking it easy. Instead we opted to see as much of the countryside as possible. We were able to quickly get to Florence (via train from Montevarchi -- highly recommended), Cortona, Pisa, Rome, Sienna and pretty much every little town in between within a couple of hours. Would recommend bringing a GPS and brushing up on driving a stick shift, otherwise it is fairly easy to navigate.

I guess the only bad part about the trip was having to leave. The beauty of Italy and the pace of life is not easy to put away once you get back to the States. Guess that is why there is a Vespa sitting in my garage now. Can't wait to get back to the little town of Moncioni and our favorite little cottage- Podere la Rota. Do yourself a favor and check this place out, can't recommend it highly enough. Cheers!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bob and Ally (the owners) were very lovely people who rent out an amazing cottage that is perfectly equipped for a week long stay in Tuscany.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bullet17
Florence, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing Cottage”
Reviewed 2 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012
3
people found this review helpful

This year in late spring, we made our fifth visit to Podere La Rota and without question, it is the most wonderful place we’ve ever stayed in Italy. The cottage is near the charming little village of Moncioni, nestled in the hills of Chianti. It’s a lovely property with kitchen, dining, and living room downstairs, large bedroom and bath on the upper floor. Vicki always says that the huge bathroom is the best in Italy - a large window over the tub looks out at the beautiful Chianti mountains. All the rooms are spacious and well appointed with comfortable furniture and beautiful art. We do a great deal of cooking and the kitchen is perfect for two people with an excellent gas stove, refrigerator, and plenty of pots, pans, cooking utensils, and a washing machine. There’s also a wine rack in the kitchen and guests can purchase Podere La Rota’s special bottling of organic Chianti at a bargain price to enjoy during their stay.

Perhaps the most outstanding feature of the cottage is the large terrace, which overlooks the olive orchard below and has a mesmerizing view of wooded hills and distant villages. At one end of the terrace a large chestnut tree shades a table and chairs, where we eat most of our meals. There are also lounges, wicker chairs, and a smaller table that is perfect for cocktails or a glass of Chianti. Aside from frequent naps and time on the Internet (the cottage has wireless Internet), the kitchen and the terrace are where we spend most of our time, cooking with local ingredients, reading, writing, painting, and sketching. It is the quintessential place to relax.

Bob and Ally, who own Podere La Rota and live adjacent to the cottage, are model hosts. Every detail is taken care of, from the welcome platter of delicious meats, cheeses, and local tomatoes, to advice on local restaurants, shops, and destinations nearby. Originally from England, they have lived in Italy for more than twenty-five years and their business of renting houses and villas throughout Tuscany and Umbria has given them an intimate knowledge of the region. There are few questions they can’t answer and they go out of their way to be both helpful and unobtrusive.

Podere La Rota serves as an excellent base for exploring the Chianti region and beyond. The major wine towns of the region are all within an hour’s drive, offering wine tasting, excellent restaurants, and beautiful views. Siena can be reached in less than an hour by car and Florence is just a thirty-minute train ride from Montevarchi, fifteen minutes away. Further afield are many must-see Tuscan and Umbrian hill towns - Cortona, Orvieto, Perugia, and Arezzo - all filled with stunning art and beautiful architecture.

We’ve become very fond of nearby Montevarchi, which has some lovely shopping, restaurants, and an year-round enclosed farmers' market which features produce, meat, grains, and other products from nearby farms. A little farther down the road is San Giovanni Val d'Arno, a lovely little town with a great Saturday market and an excellent art museum, the Museo della Basilica di Santa Maria delle Grazie, which has a stunning Annunciation painted by Fra Angelico in 1435.

The cottage is an easy drive or train ride from Rome. For most of our visits we have spent a few days in the Eternal City then picked up our rental car at the main train station and made the three-hour drive to Moncioni, stopping for lunch at one of the many hill towns that dot the landscape adjacent to the A1 expressway. Last year, however, we flew directly into Florence where we spent the night before picking up our rental car. Once we reach Montevarchi, we usually stop at the Ipercoop for provisions before driving up the mountain to the cottage. It’s a huge store by Italian standards, filled with food, wine, and household items. As always, upon reaching the top of the drive leading down to the cottage, we smile and realize we’ve returned home to a small piece of heaven.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, location, ambiance
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing