We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
great for kids

a hands on experience for children to discover and explore. great freindly staff whom are volunteers

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
bigswansfan
,
Victor Harbor, Australia
Good for learning

Small, but fun. Introduced the whale lived in Australia, some southern right whale and sperm... read more

Reviewed 5 October 2018
visualben1992
,
Adelaide, Australia
Read all 136 reviews
  
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
39
59
30
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
59
30
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marine life great place to learn school excursion whales and dolphins whaling history small museum sea creatures whale watching great for kids couple of hours young kids information centre horse drawn tram granite island exhibits shepherd display
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

a hands on experience for children to discover and explore. great freindly staff whom are volunteers

Thank bigswansfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAWCentre, Tourism support Officer at South Australia Whale Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the review bigswansfan! Indeed, we couldn't get by without our fantastic volunteers. Great to hear the kids had a fun time. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was a little disappointed with the whale centre. The displays looked tired and rather dated. It was an interesting half hour, but it could have been so much more.

Thank denzil53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAWCentre, Tourism support Officer at South Australia Whale Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your review densil53. Sorry for your disappointment with the centre. We do our best to keep the information up to date and our exhibits interesting. With funding constraints it's difficult to continuously change the displays. We are currently in the process of updating our kids zone, with a new 'submarine cubby' and all over paint job. The cubby was built and installed by our wonderful volunteers. We welcome any ideas / suggestions for the centre you may have as we hope to provide an interesting, fun and educational space for all. Just email whalecentre@victor.sa.gov.au .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

Small, but fun. Introduced the whale lived in Australia, some southern right whale and sperm whalebone, killer whale teeth and whaling history in Australia. Meanwhile, have 3D movie about southern right whale and a special showroom for sea shepherd.

Thank visualben1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAWCentre, Tourism Support Officer at South Australia Whale Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thanks so much for your review bisualben1992. We do our best to fill the space we have with as much fun, entertaining and educational content as we can. Thanks for visiting us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

This little museum is chock full of exhibits and interactive activities, great for kids too.
The exhibition is set over 3 floors with a wide range of sea creatures to a 3D video on whales.
We learnt so much, it's a must see!

Thank Shardon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAWCentre, Tourism Support Officer at South Australia Whale Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Thanks so much for the review Shardon. So pleased you enjoyed your visit and learned a lot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Our visit really exceeded our expectations and it provided a great indoor activity for our young kids on a cold and wet day.

Thank bandb2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAWCentre, Tourism Support Officer at South Australia Whale Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Thanks so much for the review bandb2004. So pleased you enjoyed your visit - we are indeed a great escape from the rain :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Small museum with a very reasonable entry price. Few interesting facts, and full size skeleton of a whale.

Thank AusBoyBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAWCentre, Tourism Support Officer at South Australia Whale Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Thank you for the review. We hope you got to learn a few new things and enjoyed the displays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

We got tickets as part of a bundle with the horse team ride. Wouldn’t have purposely made the visit (glad we didn’t). The museum is small and the exhibits are just ok. Lots of posters and illustrations.... more so than real exhibits. There is a skeleton of a whale (or part of anyway).

Thank garylG7641RF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAWCentre, Tourism Support Officer at South Australia Whale Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Thanks for the review Gary. We are a small museum, we do our best to fill it with interesting information about whales and marine life as well as have entertaining exhibits for kids. We hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

This is a small museum located right in the harbor near the horse drawn tram station, worth visiting while in the area. It is a smallish and modest museum but there are important and interesting information about whales for the most part.

Thank BeachStone2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAWCentre, Tourism Support Officer at South Australia Whale Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Thank you for the review beachstone2c. Yes we are a smaller museum, we do try our best to include as much whaling, whale and marine life information as we can. We hope you enjoyed the centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately we visited at the same time as a school excursion so missed out on being able to see the top level (still charged the same entry price though) but we found it most interesting, even if it was very quick to get through.

1  Thank Mattandmandy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAWCentre, Tourism Support Officer at South Australia Whale Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Hi Mattandmandy75, thank you for your review. I apologise you missed out on viewing the Education room. We do host schools to educate children about whales, marine life and conservation. The room is usually only closed to the public for 1.5 hours and customers are welcome to view the room after the class has ended - up until we close at 5pm, although I understand this may not be suitable for all visitors. The room is just a small section of the centre which is why we don't change the entry fee. If you would like to come back another time please call the centre 08 8551 0750 and we can arrange a complimentary pass.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

When we entered in the South Australia Whale Centre , we found out that there were several classes from a school exploring the Whale Center. It was a raucous.

There were lots of shells, crabs, miniature boats, mouths of fish...

The focus was mostly on whales. How they were harpooned and how they made money from them.

There were many skeletons of whales and dolphins.

It is quite interesting that this building is a historical content. It used to be a railing goods shed in the 1800s.

I liked that museum. I learned a few things from here.

It was worthwhile!

Thank Robby G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAWCentre, Tourism Support Officer at South Australia Whale Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Thanks heaps for the review Robby, we're so pleases you learned some things and liked the historical element of the building. We are indeed heritage listed. I do apologise for the noise levels. It can get rowdy in here when we host school groups. I hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews