We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
great for kids

a hands on experience for children to discover and explore. great freindly staff whom are volunteers

Reviewed 15 October 2018
bigswansfan
,
Victor Harbor, Australia
Good for learning

Small, but fun. Introduced the whale lived in Australia, some southern right whale and sperm... read more

Reviewed 5 October 2018
visualben1992
,
Adelaide, Australia
Read all 135 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Victor Harbor
from USD 44.00
More Info
from USD 29.30
More Info
from USD 47.70
More Info
from USD 18.30
More Info
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
38
61
30
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
61
30
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marine life whaling history great place to learn school excursion whales and dolphins small museum great for kids sea creatures whale watching staff were very friendly young kids couple of hours south australia information centre horse drawn tram granite island exhibits
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Reasonably priced and loads of information about whales and dolphins, this is a great place to spend an hour or two. Interesting 3D video about whale watching but would probably benefit from more AVs with less reading!

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank yhi904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

Such a lovely centre to visit!

We were greeted by a really lovely man as we entered who informed us about what there was to look at and had a nice chat with us!

There is an upstairs section for kids, a general section for everyone to look at with lots of information on whaling, whales and marine life and a downstairs section too.

As a Sea Shepherd Volunteer in the Hobart chapter, I particularly loved the Steve Irwin ship display located downstairs. I spotted a few friends and familiar faces in the photos, videos and stories there and got to see a few more bits and pieces to do with Sea Shepherd.

Definitely, a place the whole family can visit and enjoy! Thanks once again!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank mmmishka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

I had some time to kill so thought I would have a wander through this local tourist attraction. Whilst it is aimed more at children I still found it interesting. Staff where happy & helpful. The history of Victor Harbor, information about marine life and local biodiversity combined with a few stories definitely made it a worthy visit.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank SassyCmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Even though we visited with young adult children on a day when it was very hot this place had enough to keep even them interested. Wish there was more of an aboriginal element as that was the best exhibit.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank anni63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Kind atmosphere. Staff eager to answer questions about the local Southern Right Whales and marine life. Lots of activities for kids. A down to earth little museum and centre for people interested in whales, whaling history and protection of whales.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Erika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews