We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat in or take away”

The Fresh Fish Place - Factory Direct Seafood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 9 - USD 18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Multi award winning seafood centre - factory direct fresh seafood retail outlet, fish & chips, behind the scene tours and seafood cooking classes.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great meal here, you can also get all your seafood supplies to take home. Great staff really friendly

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Departure40804461291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2018

As a local I eat at this diner very often but it always gives me great pleasure to take friends visiting from out of town here for lunch. They always love it and often say the best fish & chips they've eaten anywhere, I'm always glad to hear that. So well done to Craig, Sandy and all the staff, keep it coming.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pfar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Tahn conducted our tour. Enthusiastic and informative. He also engaged well with our small group.Learnt a lot about our fishing industry in 45 mins. Lucky to be there when a fisherman deposited his catch. Lunch was really fresh fish, but dissapointed that our 'fish of the day' included in the 'tour & lunch' option was flake.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank AdelaideUnited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freshfishplace, Owner at The Fresh Fish Place - Factory Direct Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

So glad that you enjoyed the informative tour. Thanh is smiling right now! Not sure as to why you were disappointed when the fish of the day is local caught Gummy Shark. UNFORTUNATELY in most fish and chip shops this or more commonly known as 'Flake' and any sort of shark (including imported) comes under this banner. Our locally caught Gummy Shark is perhaps the most popular dish on our menu. I trust that you tasted the difference. This is not just any 'flake'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Best fish and chips! Sooo fresh and super quick service. Plus added bonus of doing a little shopping for quirky little gifts while you wait.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank dcluderay68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freshfishplace, Owner at The Fresh Fish Place - Factory Direct Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Thank you for your review. Our staff, food producers and fishermen appreciate that you enjoyed your time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018

A little out of the way but well worth the small trip - a good selection of fresh fish that they cook either battered, crumbed or grilled - none are pre-prepared. You pick the piece of fish (about six varieties to choose from the day we were there) and they batter it in front of you - thin crispy and delicious.
Highly recommneded

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank schoies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freshfishplace, Manager at The Fresh Fish Place - Factory Direct Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Thank you for your review. The "thin crispy batter" is made with local flour from the Cummins Milling Co. We love to cook our seafood the best way (simple) for you. No fancy sauces needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fresh Fish Place - Factory Direct Seafood also viewed

Port Lincoln, South Australia
Port Lincoln, South Australia
 
Port Lincoln, South Australia
Port Lincoln, South Australia
 
Port Lincoln, South Australia
Port Lincoln, South Australia
 

Been to The Fresh Fish Place - Factory Direct Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing