We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Bug but a Scallop ”

Sarins Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 40 Restaurants in Port Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 9 - USD 55
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Sarin's Restaurant at the Port Lincoln Hotel offers a modern menu highlighting locally caught seafood, along with other fresh produce and culinary delights from Eyre Peninsula. Entree choices range from fresh Coffin Bay Oysters to our famous Tuna or Kingfish Rosettes (sashimi) through to vegetarian and gluten free options. Main course beef fillets, King George Whiting, Seafood Paella, vegetarian dishes and sides, make this the ideal location for a business or leisure dinner. Matched with fine desserts, excellent wine list and friendly staff - Sarin's Restaurant, or Sarin's casual dining area and outdoor seating is a must visit while in Port Lincoln.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

On our Honeymoon and thought we would share the Seafood Platter. Not being really hungry we only ordered the platter for one after deciding to order dessert after. The Menu said it came with a half Morton Bay Bug. When it arrived there was no bug but a scallop instead. The meal was very nice but not been warned the bug had now been substituted for one scallop. We ask the waiting staff about the half bug which she informed us about the substitution. We ordered desserts and when the same staff member was processing our order she was speaking to another waiting staff. They both turned around and looked directly at us then quickly turned around. One can only assume the conversation was not complimentary about us. Very disappointed we were not told about the bug/scallop swap and the way the staff dealt with the situation. And yes I do know her name but decided not to name and shame here.

Thank WNSpoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sondra S, Sales and Marketing Manager at Sarins Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear WNSpoon,

Thank you for your feedback.

I'm sorry your experience at Sarin's wasn't up to our usual high standard. From your feedback we have flagged that our Restaurant staff needed some further training concerning the importance of explaining which Seafood would be on the seasonal Seafood Platter each time it is ordered. As quality fresh Seafood is subject to the availability daily, the communication between the kitchen and restaurant staff is now been clarified.

We hope to welcome you back to Port Lincoln very soon.

Kind regards,
Port Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Loved the food, everything tastes so fresh. Service is excellent and engaging. Been to Sarins resturant a year ago and loved it then too. Steak is cooked to perfection and seafood is beautiful.
It’s nice to have a place in such a small town as classy to enjoy.. breakfast was great too. Will definitely be back.

Thank WineandDineMe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sondra S, Sales and Marketing Manager at Sarins Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear WineandDineMe2,

Thank you for sharing your review.

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your experience at Sarin's and we hope to see you back soon.

Best Wishes
Port Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Disappointing experience with very delayed and over priced food. The customer service staff were great but unfortunately couldn’t make up for the poor meals we received.. The seafood platter for two (at $110) was poorly prepared, and presented, and well over priced for what it included. I would recommend the Marina Hotel for better quality food at half the price.

Thank Madloch4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sondra S, Sales and Marketing Manager at Sarins Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Madloch4,

Thank you for sharing your review.

I sorry your experience at Sarin's wasn't up to our usual high standard, in particular the Seafood Platter, I will flag your feedback with the Restaurant Manager and with the Executive Chef.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best Wishes
Port Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Went there for my friend’s birthday dinner. Had the pork belly dish and it’s lovely. All my other friends also enjoyed their food (the seafood platter, whiting, paella)

Thank LevannaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sondra S, Sales and Marketing Manager at Sarins Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear LevannaK

Thank you for sharing your review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your friends birthday dinner at Sarin's.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best Wishes
Port Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Sarins Restaurant, During our stay at the Port Lincoln Hotel we dined every evening in Sarins. The food is first class, the arrangement comfortable, the view open and bright, service pleasant and efficient, add a great wine list of local wines and it spells ....... success. NOW add to that a Southern Rock Lobster Dinner and you have perfection. (see photos). Other evenings we had steak, chicken, seafood etc. and all meals were enjoyable, breakfasts we also enjoyed and it is not hard to realise if we were not delighted with everything we would not have dined at Sarins as often as we did............ 10/10

Thank whiskymal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sondra S, Sales and Marketing Manager at Sarins Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear whiskymal,

Thank you for sharing your review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed all of your experiences at Sarin's Restaurant and Bar.

We hope to see you back in Port Lincoln very soon.

Best Wishes
Port Lincoln Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sarins Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Port Lincoln, South Australia
Port Lincoln, South Australia
 
Port Lincoln, South Australia
 
Port Lincoln, South Australia
Port Lincoln, South Australia
 

Been to Sarins Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing