We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swimming with the Sea Lions at Port Lincoln”

Adventure Bay Charters
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 215.88*
and up
Great White Shark Cruise with Optional Cage Dive and Aqua Sub from Port Lincoln
Ranked #2 of 11 Tours in Port Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Adventure Bay Charters is a multi award winning tourism business that offers some of South Australia’s best water based wildlife encounters. Featuring the Australian Sea lions, the Great White Shark, and the world’s first shark “Aqua Sub”, a glass underwater viewing area where you can view sharks while staying completely dry. All encounters are MUST DO experiences when visiting Australia and the Eyre Peninsula. Adventure Bay Charters is the fastest growing and most awarded tourism operator in Port Lincoln and was awarded into the Hall of Fame for Best Adventure tour in 2012 and Major tourist attraction in 2014. Hall of fame recognizes three consecutive years in each category for being the best operator in each category and is an outstanding contribution to South Australian tourism. Adventure Bay Charters was also named Best Tourist Attraction in South Australia for 2015. A family owned and operated business with strong ties and close relationships with customers and the community; Adventure Bay Charters is at the forefront of great tourism experiences in Australia. What are you waiting for? Let the Adventure Bay Crew take you on the ride of a lifetime!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Swimming with the Sea Lions at Port Lincoln”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We did the swim with the sea lions as a family (2 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 12).

The experience was awesome and lots of fun, it was a great opportunity to get up close with the sea lions in their own enviornment. The tour operators were great, with lots of local knowledge of the area and during the trip back we toured some of the islands and had an opportunity to view more sea lions, dolphins, etc.

For a family of four, it is a fairly expensive option however I expect overheads are quite high. Travel out to the sea lions takes 1.5 hours and the same back, so if you have young children I would suggest taking something for them to do on the boat.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    49
    9
    5
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kerobokan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
298 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great family trip”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

After a minor stuff up with a booked private charter ended up being the only group on the boat (which was 21 of us, so still pretty full). The regular guide was away but the replacements knew their stuff. Boat was great but could have had a bit more ventilation - hard to decide on whether to get a bit wet or to cool down the seasickness sufferers. Swim was great, everyone enjoyed it. We could have done with a bit more bait.

Good - the trip to and from the site, the boat, the platform, the experience.

Not so good - several bags were put in what was thought to be a dry spot but got wet due to spray entering the boat via the plastic windows. Also noted that a young crew member might have lacked the required experience and had to be pulled up a couple of times for doing some (possibly) risky actions.

On the whole however a wonderful afternoon, the video on the way out is very informative and the sushi/sashimi was a highlight.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank TanjungBaraDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“loved the experience”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Me and my wife did all three experiences with Adventure Bay (Swim with tuna, swim with seals, and sharkcage diving). We were very impressed with both the professionalism and the warmth of the crew. They made sure everyone on the charter had enough time to enjoy all the experiences. We liked the fact that AdventureBay is sensitive on the tours being eco friendly. The information leaflets were well documented and fun to read and Matt and his crew was more than keen to share their personal experiences and knowledge on sea life and fishery in Port Lincoln. Sharkcage diving must have been the most exciting and thrilling amongst all but swimming with tuna (those fish pass with amazing speed next to you and yet they never touch you!) was also a good adrenalin rush. Swimming with seals was good fun (those cute creatures definitely up for play).
So overall we recommend Adventure Bay charters, we found them good value for money too. Sezil&Hakan

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NEVER MISS THIS OPPORTUNITY”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I have done many amazing things in my life but swimming with the Great White Sharks would have to be up there with the Best. Watching these incredible creatures of the ocean cruising within metres of the cage was truly amazing. The lack of berley brings the Sharks up to the cage in a no aggressive mood and Matt has really come up with something special with his music as attraction. The trip out there was a little lumpy but all was forgotten as I entered the water. The Crew were very attentive and could not have done more to make my experience one to remember. If you are every given the opportunity to do this,Never, Never pass it up.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sheryl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumby Bay, Australia
1 review
“Amazing Family Fun”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We took our 10 and 7 year old children swimming with the tuna an excellent adventure for us all.
Crew was friendly and helpful.
A entertaining day for all.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank tractor1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adventure Bay Charters also viewed

 
Port Lincoln, South Australia
Port Lincoln, South Australia
 

Been to Adventure Bay Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing